→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Nyege Nyege Festival 2022: bigger and badder than ever

After a two-years hiatus the unstoppable Nyege Nyege Festival is back in Uganda with a whole new location with 7 stages, 300 artists and sure to be one of the world’s most innovative electronic events. PAM will be in attendance to cover the madness on the ground daily across our site and all social networks. Stay tuned!

How time flies… Just a month after the end of the Nyege Nyege Festival in Paris the unhinged crew is already warming up for East Africa’s biggest festival. Last July was only a taste of what’s coming in Uganda next September, an immersive dive into the Nyege Nyege universe. For this 2022 edition, they have decided to relocate the festival grounds to a more idyllic location. This year’s festivities will take place between the 15th and the 18th of September on the Nile’s shores, near Itanda Falls, in the heart of Busoga region, a few kilometres from Jinja town in Uganda.

In its infancy, the Nyege Nyege festival began as Boutiq Electronique parties thrown at the late-night Tilapia club by Derek Debru and Arlen Dilsizian back in 2013. It later went on to become a full-blown festival with its first iteration hosted in 2015 at an abandoned resort in Jinja. It focused on reconciling African genres with electronic music, instilling a constant need for innovation with Nyege Nyege’s trademark, “uncontrollable urge to dance”. Despite some backlash from the surrounding community for the collective’s unabashed support of the LGBTQ+ community, the 2019 edition was a definite success and that’s why it’s been especially excruciating to wait for the festival’s next instalment.

The only relief was Nyege Nyege’s boisterous presence in the electro scene, always introducing new exciting sounds and promising artists (Kabeaushé, MC Yallah, Ecko Bazz in Music for the Eagles) with an eagerness to keep the momentum strong, participating in several events with stages at Glastonbury, Primavera, Roskilde, Dour, at the Garage Noord in Amsterdam and in Paris last July. Over 200 shows showcasing the extent of the Nyege Nyege craze that will culminate during this year’s reunion. The urge to dance couldn’t be stronger.

Fans’ patience seems, indeed, to have been rewarded. Beyond the dreamy location, for its 7th edition, Nyege Nyege has seen fit to prepare for a line-up of humongous proportions with over 300 artists programmed. The crew that came to see us in Paris will of course be there. It includes Turkana, R3ign Drops, Flo, Otim Alpha, Quest?onmarq, Flo, Hibotep, DJ Diaki, De Schuurman, , among others. Nyege Nyege’s commitment to discovering the next big thing will manifest itself with the presence of recently introduced artists, such as Chrisman, DJ Travella, YUNIS and DJ Skothane, all present on the compilation L’Esprit de Nyege 2020. Watch out for Kenyan rapper Boutross, also present on the album, and Ghanaian-Nigerian diva Adomaa as well!

Buy your ticket and reserve your accommodation.

Find more information head directly to the festival’s website.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 4 semaines

Le Nyege Nyege Festival 2022 voit les choses en grand

Après deux ans de pause, le festival Nyege Nyege est de retour en Ouganda, relocalisé dans un emplacement de choix pour profiter pleinement de l’évènement le plus innovant du monde des musiques électroniques.

Comme le temps passe… Un mois à peine après la fin du Nyege Nyege Festival à Paris, la team déchaînée se prépare pour le plus grand festival d’Afrique de l’Est. Juillet dernier n’était qu’un avant-goût de ce qui nous attend en Ouganda en septembre prochain, une plongée immersive dans l’univers débridé du Nyege Nyege. Pour son édition 2022, le festival Nyege Nyege inaugure sa nouvelle maison. Cette année, les festivités auront lieu du 15 au 18 septembre sur les rives du Nil, au bord des puissantes chutes d’Itanda, au cœur de la région de Busoga, à quelques kilomètres de la ville de Jinja. 

À ses premiers balbutiements, le festival Nyege Nyege n’en était pas un. En 2013, il ne s’agissait que de simples soirées Boutiq Electronique organisées au club Tilapia par Derek Debru et Arlen Dilsizian. Derrière cette volonté de concilier les genres musicaux africains à la musique électronique se cache un effort constant de renouvellement, marque de fabrique de Nyege Nyege, pour donner à son public « l’envie incontrôlable de danser ». Malgré quelques difficultés en 2019 avec le gouvernement ougandais pour le soutien non dissimulé du collectif à la communauté LGBTQ+, la dernière édition du festival fut un franc succès. C’est la raison pour laquelle cette attente de deux ans, imposée par la crise sanitaire, fut particulièrement pénible.

Le seul réconfort : la bouillonnante présence du Nyege Nyege sur la scène des musiques électroniques. Un collectif constamment à la recherche de nouveaux sons excitants et d’artistes prometteurs (Kabeaushé, MC Yallah, Ecko Bazz dans Music for the Eagles) à découvrir, répondant systématiquement à l’appel des événements organisés à Glastonbury (UK), Primavera (ES), Roskilde (DK), Dour (BE), au Garage Noord à Amsterdam et à Paris en juillet dernier. Plus de 200 spectacles témoignant de l’ampleur de l’engouement pour le Nyege Nyege qui devrait atteindre son paroxysme lors des retrouvailles en septembre. L’envie de danser démange.

La patience des fans sera, cependant, très probablement récompensée. Au-delà du cadre idyllique offert pour cette septième édition du festival, les organisateurs ont jugé bon de préparer un line-up aux proportions épiques avec plus de 300 artistes programmés. Le crew qui est venu nous voir à Paris sera bien sûr de la partie. On retrouvera notamment Turkana, R3ign Drops, Flo, Otim Alpha, Quest?onmarq, Hibotep, DJ Diaki, De Schuurman, , etc. Les derniers artistes à avoir rejoint les rangs du collectif seront également présents. On pense notamment à Chrisman, DJ Travella, YUNIS et DJ Skothane, tous présents sur la compilation L’Esprit de Nyege 2020. À ne manquer pas également le rappeur kényan Boutross, également présent sur l’album, et la diva ghanéenne-nigériane Adomaa !

Achetez vos billets et réservez votre logement.

Retrouver plus de détails sur le site du festival.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé