→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
The Maghreban & Omar - Waiting (Official Video)
1 month ago

The Maghreban unveils neon music video featuring Omar

The Maghreban connects with his melancholic self in Connection, from his upcoming sophomore album released under a new moniker. Watch the psychedelic visuals of new single “Waiting” out now.

In a past life, he was Dr Zygote, member of the hip-hop band, Strange U. Ayman Rostom now goes by the name of The Maghreban. Son of Egyptian and Saudi immigrants, the British artist’s name pays tribute to his roots and musical influences. After the release of 01deas back in 2018, his first full-length album under his new moniker, the Maghreban now announces his second LP Connections. This new direction taken with 01deas allowed the musician to deepdive into a new kind of British house embellished by sounds inspired by the African continent. Today, he unveils the music video for “Waiting” — directed by FakeSmile, a danceable vocal house track featuring Omar Lyefook. We get glimpses of the singer’s features through the interferences of screens mounted on an acidic industrial background, full of neon green and florescent pink.

In Connection, The Maghreban, who started working on it as soon as 01deas came out, explains, “there are Middle Eastern, jazz and techno influences in some of the songs”. However, some ideas seem to have arisen from within. “The vocal melody came to me in a dream.” Born from his subconscious, he remains humble, “I still worry that it’s from someone else’s tune and that I haven’t figured out who yet”. The Maghreban also attempted to infuse this deeply personal project with a hint of melancholy, “to make stuff that was a little more emotive”, as he says. “I was seeking and becoming more comfortable with connection whilst making it, rather than keeping myself to myself, like I have done in the past. But the flipside of that was a deeper awareness of grief and sorrow, which is why some of the tracks have an air of sadness.”

On this new album he’s not alone as Ayman also develops connections with other musicians. The Saudi-born Egyptian singer and activist Abdullah Miniawy lended his Sufism imbued voice to the single “Anzilliéé”. “Abdullah Miniawy has melancholy in his voice, and it complimented the track I gave him.” The saxophonist Idris Rahman, helped the Maghreban “flesh out the eastern jazz element” that can be heard throughout “Black Seed Oil” and “Celebratory Relapse”. The two had already worked together on Steve Reid’s “Lions Of Judah”. “I told him I like Tubby Hayes”, Rostom recalls. Lastly, the Nairobi-based Nah Eeto also participated in recording “Got Your Number”. “Nah Eeto is an incredible rapper who brought a lot of energy to the front of the album and inspired me to experiment with my production in new ways.”, he explains.

Connection out July 22nd.

Listen to “Waiting” in our afro + club playlist.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
The Maghreban & Omar - Waiting (Official Video)
Il y a 1 mois

The Maghreban dévoile un clip acidulé en collaboration avec Omar

Le Britannique partage un visuel psychédélique pour « Waiting », nouveau single de pure house music extrait de son prochain album Connection.

Avant, il était Dr Zygote, membre du groupe de hip-hop Strange U. Ayman Rostom se présente désormais sous le nom de The Maghreban. Fils d’immigrés égyptiens et saoudiens, l’artiste britannique assume son héritage et partage ses influences musicales à travers ses productions. Après la sortie, sous son nouveau nom de scène, de 01deas en 2018, son premier album, The Maghreban s’apprête à sortir Connection. La nouvelle direction prise par le musicien avec 01deas lui permet ainsi de poursuivre son travail sur une nouvelle version de house britannique agrémentée de sons inspirés par le continent africain. Il dévoile aujourd’hui en exclusivité sur PAM le clip du single « Waiting » en collaboration avec le chanteur Omar, et réalisé par FakeSmile. On y devine les traits du chanteur à travers les interférences des écrans installés sur fond industriel et acide où convergent vert néon et rose fluo.

Dans Connection, un album sur lequel il travaille depuis la sortie de 01deas, l’artiste explique : « il y a des influences orientales, jazz et techno dans certains titres ». L’inspiration derrière ce projet aurait surgit de son subsconscient comme Ayman Rostom le raconte : « La mélodie du chant m’est venue dans un rêve ». Il reconnait cependant humblement : « J’ai toujours peur que ce soit la mélodie de quelqu’un d’autre mais je ne sais pas de qui ». Par ailleurs, The Maghreban a tenté d’insuffler à ce projet personnel un soupçon de mélancolie : « pour faire des trucs un peu plus émouvants », justifie-t-il. « J’ai cherché et suis devenu plus à l’aise avec Connection au fur et et à mesure de sa réalisation. Je suis sortie de cette réserve qui m’est coutumière. En contrepartie, l’oeuvre est plus emprunte de chagrin et de douleur et c’est la raison pour laquelle certains des morceaux ont un air de tristesse ».

Ce nouvel album n’est pas seulement le fruit de son seul travail, il est aussi celui du chanteur et activiste égyptien d’origine saoudienne Abdullah Miniawy qui a prêté sa voix aux embardées soufies au single « Anzilliéé ». « Abdullah Miniawy a de la mélancolie dans la voix, très adaptée au morceau que je lui ai donné ». Le saxophoniste Idris Rahman, a, quant à lui, aidé The Maghreban à « étoffer l’aspect jazz oriental » que l’on peut entendre dans « Black Seed Oi » et « Celebratory Relapse ». Ils avaient déjà travaillé ensemble sur « Lions Of Judah ». « Je lui ai dit que j’aimais Tubby Hayes », se souvient Ayman Rostom. La Kenyane Nah Eeto a participé à l’enregistrement de « Got Your Number ». « Nah Eeto est une rappeuse incroyable qui a apporté beaucoup d’énergie à l’album et qui m’a poussé à essayer de nouvelles choses au niveau de la production », explique-t-il.

Connection sort le 22 juillet via Zoot.

Écoutez « Waiting » dans notre playlist afro + club.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé