fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
PAM Club: Kyf!’s inner journey
Photo ©Scène Aux Champs

PAM Club: Kyf!'s inner journey

The Kyf! project is an augmented show that explores the African continent and its instruments. It’s three actors invite us to listen to their PAM Club, a reflection on their memories and influences.

The Kyf! project is an interactive audiovisual show led by a trio of artists who experiment with video and lights, with African musicians at the center, playing their traditional instruments. A few weeks ago PAM invited you to discover its launch with Penpensiwa by Ghanaian KyeKyeKu, the first video of a series of 8 collaborations around the cultures of the continent.

In the center, we find the visual artist and video maker Youri Fernandez. The multidisciplinary artist puts his imagination to work for the two founding musicians of the project, provoking collisions between different fields of expression. Composer and producer, Kevin Bucquet is also the bassist of the group Ah! Kwantou, led by KyeKyeKu, representative of the modern highlife scene mentioned above. His various travels and his years spent in Berlin have fleshed out the sensibility of this Conservatory student, who then opened up to hip-hop and neo-soul. Finally, Fred Faure is a composer, producer, drummer and percussionist who has studied traditional African music since he was 12 years old with musicians and dancers from prestigious national ballets (Congo, Benin, Guinea, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Senegal). He is also close to many African formations, and his playing is inspired by the different rhythms and music heard on the road. He tells us a few words about this three-headed set, born from their hybrid thoughts that connect the repetitive character of African rhythms and the sound of Berlin clubs.

I chose songs and artists that evoke a good memories for me, with whom I have a history. My darling, who is Ivorian, helped me discover Bebi Philip in Abidjan; when we came back from rehearsal with Ah! Kwantou, we discovered Made Kuti on France Inter and his modern and very open afrobeat. Ambolley, one of the Highlife’s “tontons” is one of the fruits of our meetings with Kevin, like an old father we would have liked to have in common… Ah! Kwantou was born from this meeting and from the one with Kyekyeku.

Pan African Music · PAM Club : KYF !

Tracklist :
1. Tshegue – Muanapoto
2. Made Kuti – Free Your Mind
3. Onipa – Hey No I Say
4. Bebi Philip – Mamalôkô
5. Guedra Guedra – 40 Feet
6. Madlib – Kanika
7. Ah! Kwantou – Dance To Save Your Soul
8. Blay Ambolley – Simi Rapp
9. KOKOKO! – L.O.V.E.
10. Ibaaku – Djula Dance
11. Dorian Concept – E13
12. KYF! – Mandala (Live)

Find more info about Kyf! here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
PAM Club : le voyage intérieur de KYF !
Photo ©Scène Aux Champs

PAM Club : le voyage intérieur de KYF !

Le projet Kyf ! est spectacle augmenté qui explore le continent africain et ses instruments. Ses trois protagonistes nous invitent à écouter leur PAM Club, reflet de leurs souvenirs et influences.

Le projet Kyf ! est spectacle audiovisuel interactif mené par un trio d’artistes qui expérimentent autour de la vidéo et des lumières, avec au centre, des musiciens africains munis de leur instrument traditionnel. Il y a quelques semaines PAM vous invitait à découvrir son lancement à travers le Penpensiwa du ghanéen KyeKyeKu, première vidéo d’une série de 8 qui concrétise une envie de collaborer autour des cultures du continent.

Au centre, nous retrouvons l’artiste plasticien et vidéaste Youri Fernandez. L’artiste pluridisciplinaire met son imagination à la disposition des deux musiciens fondateurs du projet, en provoquant comme à son habitude des collisions entre différents domaines d’expression. Compositeur et producteur, Kevin Bucquet est également le bassiste du groupe Ah ! Kwantou, mené par KyeKyeKu, représentant de la scène highlife moderne cité plus haut. Ses différents voyages et ses années passées à Berlin ont étoffé la sensibilité de cet élève du Conservatoire, qui s’est alors ouvert au hip-hop ou à la neo-soul. Enfin, Fred Faure est un compositeur, producteur, batteur et percussionniste qui étudie depuis ses 12 ans la musique traditionnelle africaine auprès de musiciens et danseurs de prestigieux ballets nationaux (Congo, Bénin, Guinée, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Sénégal). Lui aussi proche de nombreuses formations africaines, son jeu s’inspire des différents rythmes et musiques entendus sur la route. Ce dernier nous lâche quelques mots au sujet de ce set à trois têtes, né de leurs pensées hybrides qui connectent le caractère répétitif des rythmes africains et le son des clubs berlinois.

« J’ai choisi des morceaux et des artistes qui évoquent en moi un bon souvenir, avec lesquels j’ai une histoire. Ma chérie qui est ivoirienne m’a fait découvrir Bebi Philip à Abidjan ; au retour de répétition avec Ah! Kwantou, on a découvert Made Kuti sur France Inter et son afrobeat moderne et très ouvert. Ambolley, un des tontons du Highlife est un des symboles de notre rencontre avec Kevin, comme un vieux-père qu’on aurait aimé avoir en commun… Ah ! Kwantou est né de cette rencontre et de celle avec Kyekyeku. »

Pan African Music · PAM Club : KYF !

Tracklist :
1. Tshegue – Muanapoto
2. Made Kuti – Free Your Mind
3. Onipa – Hey No I Say
4. Bebi Philip – Mamalôkô
5. Guedra Guedra – 40 Feet
6. Madlib – Kanika
7. Ah! Kwantou – Dance To Save Your Soul
8. Blay Ambolley – Simi Rapp
9. KOKOKO! – L.O.V.E.
10. Ibaaku – Djula Dance
11. Dorian Concept – E13
12. KYF! – Mandala (Live)

Plus d’infos sur Kyf! ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé