→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Femme Tech: Desiree’s uplifting debut EP

Bae Electronica announces the release of Femme Tech, the debut EP of South African DJ and activist Desiree.

Having recently emerged from the South African house community around 2019, the Johannesburg-based artist embarked on a first European tour in 2021. She has now announced the release of a debut EP entitled Femme Tech with the label Bae Electronica owned by Zimbabwean singer Jackie Queens, who launched her company to showcase the talent of other black women house musicians. 

A purpose Desiree shares with Queens as she herself co-founded a women led electronic music movement called Boys Club to mitigate women’s lack of representation in this scene. Desiree also started to champion the cause of intersex people, feeling a need to raise awareness, having recently come out as an intersex woman herself on Twitter.

Her two-track EP is part of the same commitment to defend the cause of the marginalised. Through the slinky, powerful basslines of “Femme”, Desiree wanted to convey the strength and power of femininity. A single described as “deep, pulsating rolling slice of late-night house music that’s laced with an uplifting arpeggio.”

The second track “Psilocybin”, named after the molecule responsible for the psychedelic virtue of a certain fungus, is equally uplifting. “Rising, hopeful, strident and positive, this is a reflection of Desiree’s relationship with music and how she uses it to rise above all of life’s challenges and see things from a different perspective”. Ultimately, the two tracks that make up the EP are perfectly suited for the dancefloor and should rejoice house enthusiasts.

Listen to “FEMME” in our afro + club playlist.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Femme Tech : le premier EP exaltant de Desiree

Bae Electronica annonce la sortie de Femme Tech, le premier EP de la DJ et activiste sud-africaine Desiree.

Évoluant dans la scène house sud-africaine en 2019, l’artiste basée à Johannesburg a entamé sa première tournée européenne en 2021. Elle dévoile aujourd’hui son premier EP intitulé Femme Tech avec le label Bae Electronica de la chanteuse zimbabwéenne Jackie Queens, dont le but était de faire connaître la house produite par d’autres femmes noires.

Un objectif que Desiree partage avec Queens, puisqu’elle a elle-même co-fondé un collectif de musique électronique dirigé par des femmes, appelé Boys Club, afin de pallier le manque de représentation des femmes sur cette scène. Desiree défend également la cause des personnes intersexuées, ayant elle-même récemment fait savoir son appartenance à cette communauté sur Twitter.

Son EP de deux titres s’inscrit dans cette même volonté de défendre la cause des personnes marginalisées. À travers les basse puissantes de « Femme », Desiree a voulu transmettre la force et le pouvoir de la féminité. Un single de house décrit comme étant à la fois « puissant, profond, vibrant, et entraînant : tout à fait adapté aux longues fêtes nocturnes ».

Le deuxième morceau « Psilocybin », dont le titre fait référence à la molécule responsable de l’effet psychotrope de certains champignons, est tout aussi exaltant. « Ascendant, plein d’espoir, strident et optimiste, il reflète la relation que Desiree entretient avec la musique dont elle se sert pour relativiser ses problèmes ». Avant tout, les deux titres qui composent l’EP sont pleinement adaptés au dancefloor et devraient réjouir les amateurs de house.

Écoutez « FEMME » dans notre playlist afro + club.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé