fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
⬆︎ Don't forget to activate the subtitles ⬆︎

PAM Meets Turkana: Music is Power

PAM Meets South Sudanese DJ and producer Turkana for Le Guess Who? 2021. A member of Ugandan label Nyege Nyege and Anti-Mass collective founder, Anita Kevin aka Turkana uses her music to empower herself and the women in her life.

Born in 1997, Anita Kevin is a South Sudanese DJ who grew up in a refugee camp in Kakuma, in the Turkana region of Kenya. Her name is an homage to that region and a way to reinterpret her hardship and wield power to the name with her explosive DJ sets and hyper-creative music. “It’s a celebration of myself, and an extension of the women in my life,” she explains. Introduced to DJing via a workshop organized by Femme Electronic, through the initiative of the Ugandan DJ Rachael, Turkana quickly mastered the decks. In fact, Turkana purchased her first set-up from Kampala based DJ Catu Diosis, with whom she now forms the 4manysisters crew. 

Later Turkana would meet the Nyege Nyege crew from the Kampala parties before attending their infamous festival that hosts East Africa’s most exciting underground electronic talent. From there, she was encouraged to continue mixing, producing and refining her craft, quickly making her mark at CTM festival in Berlin, a “Streaming from isolation” set for Boiler Room and of course, the Nyege Nyege Festival. Turkana also joined the PAM Club team last June with a hard-hitting mix.

Here, PAM meets with the exciting young DJ and producer during her European tour, stopping off in Utrecht, Netherlands to showcase her talent at the eclectic Le Guess Who? Festival. Her and the Nyege team were given carte blanche at the BASIS club, a long dark corridor perfect for heavy bass and late nights. On the lineup was Authentically Plastic, Menzi, De Schuurman and DJ Marcelle with Turkana closing out the festivities with a packed dance floor covered in masks and shouting from the four corners of the club. 

Describing her intense sets, Turkana explains her motivation “to bring the power and to extend it to other people”. Whether this manifests through fashion, her other passion, or the visceral sounds of experimental techno and African cadences, each moment of the set is a whirlwind of energy. A no-limits set that collides perfectly with her mantra: “There’s no limitations to achieving. You can change your life if you want to.” 

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
⬆︎ N'oubliez pas d'activer les sous-titres ⬆︎

PAM Meets Turkana : la musique synonyme de pouvoir

PAM est parti à la rencontre de la productrice et DJ sud-soudanaise Turkana à l’occasion du Guess Who? 2021. Membre du label ougandais Nyege Nyege et fondatrice du collectif Anti-Mass, Anita Kevin, alias Turkana, évoque le pouvoir émancipateur que la musique a sur elle et sur les femmes de sa vie.

Née en 1997, Anita Kevin est une DJ originaire du Sud du Soudan ayant grandi dans un camp de réfugiés à Kakuma, dans la région de Turkana au Kenya. Ce nom de scène, donné en référence à cette région, est un moyen pour l’artiste de se réapproprier les épreuves traversées. Un pouvoir assumé qu’elle retransmet dans ses DJ sets explosifs et sa musique hyper-créative. “C’est une célébration de qui je suis, et par extension, des femmes de ma vie”, explique-t-elle. C’est à l’occasion d’un atelier organisé par Femme Electronic, à l’initiative de l’Ougandaise DJ Rachael, que Turkana découvre le mixage et apprend rapidement à maîtriser l’art des platines. C’est d’ailleurs auprès de la DJ de Kampala Catu Diosis que Turkana acquiert ses premières platines et avec qui, elle forme le crew 4manysisters.

C’est plus tard que Turkana fait la rencontre du crew Nyege Nyege lors de soirées tenues à Kampala. Elle prend ensuite part au fameux festival du collectif qui accueille les artistes les plus prometteurs de la scène électro underground de l’Afrique de l’Est. On l’encourage alors à continuer à mixer, produire et perfectionner son art. Turkana impose rapidement sa marque au festival CTM à Berlin avec le set “Streaming from isolation” en partenariat avec la Boiler Room et, bien évidemment, le festival Nyege Nyege.

Aujourd’hui, PAM rencontre cette DJ et productrice, de passage à Utrecht aux Pays-Bas à l’occasion de sa tournée en Europe pour Le Guess Who? Festival. Elle et l’équipe Nyege Nyege avaient reçu carte blanche au BASIS club, un long corridor qui se prête parfaitement aux soirées tardives et aux sons musclés. Au programme, on retrouvait Authentically Plastic, Menzi, De Schuurman, DJ Marcelle et Turkana qui clôturait les festivités avec une salle pleine à craquer, une piste de danse jonchée de masques et une foule en délire.

Pour décrire ses sets intenses, Turkana exprime une volonté “de ramener sur scène une puissance pour la retransmettre au public”. Que ce soit à travers la mode, ses autres passions, et les sons viscéraux de la techno expérimentale et des cadences africaines, chaque instant de ses sets traduisent une énergie bouillonnante. Un set décomplexé qui rejoint entièrement son crédo: “Il n’y a pas de limites à ce qu’on est capable d’accomplir. Tu peux changer de vie si tu le souhaites.”

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé