fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2024 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

PAM Club: Le Motel, happy birthday Maloca

Present more than ever on the global scene since the launch of his label Maloca, Brussels’ Le Motel lends himself to the PAM Club exercise with a medley of his influences.

Graphic designer by trade, Fabien Leclercq can not only be counted on to drop bass bombs all over the world, but also produce the most hype Belgian rappers like Roméo Elvis, Zwanguere Guy, Témé Tan or his friends YellowStraps. In the shadow of the national success of these artists, this field recording lover released an album where Central African pygmies, Caribbean communities, Vanuatu from Oceania and jungle sounds melt into an introspective bass musicin back in 2015. Just two years ago, Le Motel launched its label reaching out to the global scene by shining a light on artists such as Dengue Dengue Dengue, Omaar, Farsight, Howie Lee and recently South African gqom pioneer Griffit Vigo. Besides knowing the recipe to produce club calibrated tracks – take a listen to his tracks “Durban” or “Ashes” – the Brussels beatmaker is also a good DJ. A visit to our PAM Club sounded like an obvious choice.

“The mix contains recent collaborations with Pierre Kwenders, Ziller Bass, FlexFab, unreleased solo track and several tracks from my label Maloca. It goes through a lot of genres, different bpm, between reggaeton, gamelan, gqom, cumbia, breaks, bass… It’s a bit of a summary of the styles that have inspired me recently, always with this hybrid side that oscillates between several styles.

Pan African Music · PAM Club : Le Motel

Tracklist :

1. Kelman Duran, Sangre Nueva, DJ Python & Florentino – Hurt
2. Nicolas Gaunin – Rongo        
3. Fauxe – Trust       
4. RAMZi – Coeur Cassé         
5. Uwalmassa – Untitled 02           
6. FlexFab x Ziller Bas x Le Motel – TSAPI      
7. Griffit Vigo – Superman         
8. Pierre Kwenders x Le Motel – On va décider  
9. Sylvere – Carnival 
10. Le Motel – Cuica                 
11. Kumbia Beats – La Marimba de Manco Capac             
12. Shackleton – Tin Foil Sky            
13. DJ N.K. – Quebra Ossos             
14. Rey Sapienz & The Congo Techno Ensemble – Eza Makambo
15. SCALPING – Empty Cascade (Azu Tiwaline Remix)

Follow Le Motel on Instagram, Facebook and Soundcloud!

Photo : Thomas Nolf