Silver Vibrations, Roy Ayers’ mythical post-disco album finally reissued

Californian legendary musician’s major album is given a new lease of life by BBE Music label, to be released on March 22nd.

With almost 60 works released during half a century, californian soulman has worked with Jazz’s big references before turning to R’n’B, Funk, Soul and Disco, supported by his band Ubiquity, with whom he record several cult albums, among which 1976’s class Everybody Loves The Sunshine.

His music has had a major impact on Hip-Hop’s world, having been sampled by famous personalities of the likes of Dr. Dre, A Tribe Called Quest, Mary J Blige, 2Pac, Erykah Badu and DJ Rashad. Okayplayer’s In Hip-hop and beyond series has done a focus playlist about him – stream it here.

Always looking for new experimentations, the vobraphone virtuoso collaborate with Fela Kuti in 1980 on the track “2000 Blacks Got To Be Free” featured on Music of Many Colours. This collaboration has had a notable influence on Silver Vibrations, recorded during a period where Ayers deepened his researches on Afrobeat’s rhythms and textures. At this time, he had just left Polydor in 1982 and had not joined Columbia yet, until 1984.

Originally released in the UK only on Uno Melodic Records, Silver Vibrations contains four unique cuts all of its own, plus extended takes of three songs, including the definitive version of iconic song “Chicago”. The rarity of the original pressing has led to eye-watering second-hand prices on re-selling sites.

‘Silver Vibrations’ was perhaps the last album to retain the sound of Ayers’ organic signature of the latter ’70s. The mysterious vibe and cosmic ruminations of “Chicago”, the unedited version of which is exclusive to this L.P., or the funky up- tempo “Good, Good Music” confirm this album is an essential. Title track “Silver Vibrations” was only ever released in the U.K.. Both “Lots Of Love” and “Keep On Movin’” hark back to previous times and are a pleasant listen without being at all taxing. The wistful “D.C. City”, a close companion of Ubiquity’s original recording of “The Third Eye” is, in many ways, quintessentially Roy Ayers.

Pressed on heavyweight vinyl with original artwork and new sleeve notes written by Sean P., the reissue will be out on BBE Music on March 22nd, perpetuating BBE Music’s long and fertile partnership with the vibraphone legend and godfather of neo-soul.

Pre-order Silver Vibrations on Bandcamp.

Tracklisting :

  1. Chicago
  2. Lots Of Love
  3. Keep On Movin’
  4. Silver Vibrations
  5. Smiling With Your Eyes
  6. D.C. City
  7. Good Good Music
Read Next: Falz released Fela sampled album, Moral Instruction