fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2024 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Steel Pulse are back with first new album in 15 years

Listen to first single “Cry Cry Blood”.

Manchester Reggae band Steel Pulse annonce their first album in 15 years. Mass Manipulation will be out on May 17th via Rootfire Cooperative/Wiseman Doctrine. Listen to lead single “Cry Cry Blood” below.

Steel Pulse formed in Birmingham, England in 1975. Their debut record Handsworth Revolution arrived three years later. Over the course of the next three decades, the band released over a dozen live and studio albums, culminating with 2004’s African Holocaust LP.

Mass Manipulation marks their first new music since that release. The LP was written and arranged by lead vocalist David Hinds and co-produced by bandmates Sidney Mills and David Elecciri. Of the album’s themes, Hinds said in a press release: “We cannot abandon the future that our ancestors have struggled for.” Steel Pulse will kick off a tour ahead of the new record this month.


Mass Manipulation‘s tracklist:
01 Rize
02 Zem Dem
03 Stop You Coming and Come
04 Thank the Rebels
05 Justice in Jena
06 Human Trafficking
07 Cry Cry Blood
08 Don’t Shoot
09 Trinkets and Beads?
10 No Satan Side
11 Natty
12 Mass Manipulation
13 World Gone Mad
14 Black and White Oppressors
15 The Final Call
16 Higher Love (Rasta Love)
17 Nations of the World

Read next: We spoke with Neo-reggae emerging artist Rho