→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

BJF mixes baile funk and maloya on his single "Baloya"

The Parisian BJF announces the release of his second EP Uprooted, four tracks that promise to put everyone in agreement on the dancefloors of the world. PAM invites you to listen to a premiere of the first single “Baloya”.

BJF is the man behind the unstoppable “Tu Tu Tu”, which we previewed on PAM earlier this year, as part of the CxC vol.2 compilation. An active member of the collective, label and media Couvre x Chefs, BJF has become an essential craftsman of the global bass scene made in France, multiplying appearances on major labels such as XXIII or Egregore. The Parisian DJ and producer also likes to transform rap and pop classics into Afro-club bangers, like his edits of Rema, Jorja Smith, Skepta or more recently the hit “Fade Up” of Zeg P. It is in this 100% club dynamic that he exposed his influences behind the decks of the PAM Club, where we discovered his ability to surprise at every turn in a hybrid and percussive set, reflecting his productions.  

Uprooted is his second official EP which echoes this explosive musical personality. Here, this beat surgeon dismembers the best of grime, kuduro, dembow, baile funk and UK funky to gather the best of each genre on four new tracks, including “Baloya”, a tribute to maloya that he exposes below. No pity for the clubbers!

The track ‘Baloya’ is a very personal tribute to maloya, the traditional music of Reunion Island where my parents come from. But there is always this infusion of Brazilian funk samples that I can never resist, hence the title. The mixture is rather natural because there are many similarities between the Brazilian and Reunionese music created by the African slaves, in terms of dances, instruments, rhythmics… But if you think that it is neither maloya, nor Brazilian music, you are quite right. The synth melody and the 808 bass take us to another register! My goal is always to mix different styles that speak to me and come up with a collage.

Follow BJF on Instagram and the collective Couvre x Chefs here.

The EP will be available on November 18th, pre-order here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

fbpx → Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

BJF mêle baile funk et maloya sur son single « Baloya »

Le Parisien BJF annonce la sortie de son second EP Uprooted, quatre titres qui promettent de mettre tout le monde d’accord sur les dancefloors du monde. PAM vous invite à découvrir le single « Baloya » en avant-première.

BJF est l’homme qui se cache derrière l’imparable « Tu Tu Tu », qu’on vous présentait en avant-première sur PAM plus tôt cette année, dans le cadre de la compilation CxC vol.2. Membre actif du collectif, label et média Couvre x Chefs, BJF est devenu un artisan essentiel de la scène global bass made in France, multipliant les apparitions sur des labels incontournables comme XXIII ou Egregore. Le DJ et producteur parisien aime aussi transformer des classiques rap et pop en bangers afro-club, à l’image de ses edits de Rema, Jorja Smith, Skepta ou plus récemment le hit « Fade Up » de Zeg P. C’est dans cette dynamique 100% club qu’il nous exposait ses influences derrière les platines du PAM Club, où l’on découvrait son aptitude à surprendre à chaque virage dans un set hybride et percussif, reflet de ses productions.  

Uprooted est donc son second EP officiel qui fait évidemment écho à cette personnalité musicale explosive. Ici, ce chirurgien du beat désosse le meilleur du grime, kuduro, dembow, baile funk ou UK funky pour rassembler le meilleur de chaque genre sur quatre nouveaux titres, dont « Baloya », hommage au maloya qu’il nous expose ci-dessous. Pas de pitié pour les clubbers !

« Le morceau Baloya est un hommage très personnel au maloya, musique traditionnelle de l’île de la Réunion dont mes parents sont originaires. Mais il y a toujours cette infusion de samples de funk brésilienne à laquelle je ne résiste jamais, d’où le titre. Le mélange est plutôt naturel d’ailleurs car il y a beaucoup de similitudes entre les musiques brésilienne et réunionnaise créées par les esclaves africains, au niveau des danses, des instruments, des rythmiques… Mais si vous trouvez que ce n’est ni du maloya, ni de la musique brésilienne, vous avez tout à fait raison. La mélodie au synthé et les basses 808 nous emmènent encore dans un autre registre ! Mon but est toujours de mélanger différents styles qui me parlent et d’en sortir un collage. »

Suivez BJF sur Instagram et le collectif Couvre x Chefs ici.

L’EP sera disponible le 18 novembre, précommandez-le ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé