→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

5 albums to discover this week

This week, three shades of gqom, female reggae vocalists take their rightful place, sweet Nigerian beats, the new thing coming from Kenya and reggae meets hip-hop.

The Gqom Trilogy LP

DJ Skothan x DJ Scriby x DJ MaRiiO

Born in the early 2010’s in Durban, gqom is still pretty young but its future seems bright. On The Gqom Trilogy LP, DJ Skothan, DJ Scriby and DJ MaRiiO showcase an impressive range. The project is built in three chapters. In the first one, DJ Scriby bends South Africa’s borders with US trap and UK grime influences.  In the second chapter, the trio’s youngest recruit DJ MaRiiO explores unique placements and sounds. And to end, veteran DJ Skothan goes for a more scattered and even more aggressive gqom finale. 

Listen here.

Dub No Frontiers

Adrian Sherwood

Reggae has often been a male dominated scene. A situation British producer Adrian Sherwood and artist Kerieva McCormick sought to remedy by creating a platform to showcase the talents of some great female dub artists. “Many of the singers said they felt the dub/reggae arena was a male preserve and a little intimidating even, so we decided to invite artists to perform a song of their choice, all in non-English on our rhythm tracks.” Nigerian musician Temi Oyedele is featured on the single “I Dupe (Thanks Giving)”. The Lagos-based singer, songwriter and guitarist interpreted this song in Yoruba. Also on the album, Tunisian artist Neyssatou who gives her own interpretation of Bob Marley’s ‘War’ sung in Arabic. 

Listen here.

Palmwine Music 3

Show Dem Camp

The prolific Nigerian duo Show Dem Camp deliver the third part of their Palmwine Music collection. On this volume: Tay Iwar on the sensual “Appolo”, Oxlade on the romantic “Mine Alone”, Tems, Lojay, Victony, WurlD, Boj, and many more. This edition gathers Naija’s finest on Tec and Ghost’s signature sound: sweet alternative beats with highlife and hip-hop accents. One of the last tracks, “OldFlame” sung by Nesta and Ladipoe sums up the project’s theme. A nice playlist of love songs, from love at first sight (“Head Over Heels”) to regretful breakups (“OldFlame”). Voice actress and radio speaker Folu Storms gives this 17-track project some well appreciated comic breaks and interludes.

Listen here.

COLOR MAN

Nu Fvnk

Rapper, producer and DJ in the East African Wave collective, Nu Fvnk is part of Nairobi’s new scene. Just like his models Pharrell Williams and Tyler The Creator, he aims to be multidisciplinary and does it all: mixing, styling, creative directing, … A range of talents as wide as COLOR MAN’s nuances. Nu Fvnk is exploring genres and possibilities: a bit of house, a touch of jazz and a lot of “lo-fi”, California-inspired hip-hop. But the project is still anchored in the rapper’s Kenyan roots, with titles like “Nairobi Attitude” and “Gangvernment”, a more political track. 

Listen here.

The Kalling

Kabaka Pyramid

Kingston-born producer Kabaka Pyramid returns with a new album The Kalling which should rejoice reggae fans, purist and mix-and-match enthusiasts alike. As he has been known to do, Kabaka Pyramid blends hip-hop and reggae such as in the bonus track “Kontraband”. The Jamaican artist takes his “kalling” as an opportunity to convey engaged messages and imbues his 15-track album with reflexions on current social issues, like in “Addiction” where he questions people’s unhealthy relationship with social media. The highlight of the album is clearly the classic “Red Gold and Green” recorded with Damian “Jr Gong” Marley, an ode to Rastafari values. Another gem of the album is the opening track “Mystic Man” in which Kabaka Pyramid samples the late Peter Tosh’s track of the same name.

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, une démonstration de gqom, le reggae redonne leur place aux femmes, Show Dem Camp réunit la crème nigériane, une nouvelle scène kényane haute en couleurs et une ode à la culture rastafari.

The Gqom Trilogy LP

DJ Skothan x DJ Scriby x DJ MaRiiO

Né dans les années 2010 à Durban, le gqom est encore jeune mais son avenir est prometteur. Avec The Gqom Trilogy LP, les trois talents DJ Skothan, DJ Scriby et DJ MaRiiO font une véritable démonstration de style. Le projet se présente en trois épisodes. Dans le premier, DJ Scriby dépasse les frontières de l’Afrique du Sud avec des inspirations trap américaines et grime britanniques. Dans le deuxième, le benjamin de ce trio DJ MaRiiO offre des sonorités uniques. Pour finir en beauté, le vétéran DJ Skothan sort des sentiers battus et tente un gqom plus découpé, moins dansant mais encore plus agressif. 

Écouter ici.

Dub No Frontiers

Adrian Sherwood

Dub No Frontiers est un projet imaginé par le producteur britannique Adrian Sherwood et l’artiste Kerieva McCormick pour redonner aux femmes leur place dans la scène reggae, trop longtemps dominée par les hommes. « Beaucoup de chanteuses ont dit qu’elles avaient l’impression que l’arène dub/reggae était une chasse gardée masculine et même un peu intimidante, nous avons donc décidé d’inviter des artistes à interpréter une chanson de leur choix, toutes en non-anglais sur nos pistes rythmiques ». On y retrouve la chanteuse, compositrice et guitariste nigériane Temi Oyedele chante en Yoruba dans« I Dupe (Thanks Giving) » ainsi que l’artiste tunisienne Neyssatou, qui donne sa propre interprétation de « War » de Bob Marley, chantée en arabe.

Écouter ici.

Palmwine Music 3

Show Dem Camp

Toujours aussi prolifique, le duo nigérian Show Dem Camp livre le troisième volume de Palmwine Music. Au rendez-vous : Tay Iwar sur le sensuel « Appolo », Oxlade sur le romantique « Mine Alone » ou encore Tems, Lojay, Victony, WurlD, Boj et bien d’autres. Cette édition réunit à nouveau la crème de la scène nigériane sur des productions dont Tec et Ghost ont le secret : une identité alternative maîtrisée, portée par des accents de highlife et de hip-hop. Le titre « OldFlame » interprété par Nesta et Ladipoe donne le ton du projet : une compilation sur le thème de l’amour, du coup de foudre (« Head Over Heels ») à la rupture (« Old Flame »). L’actrice et animatrice Folu Storms prête également sa voix lors des interludes, des touches d’humour appréciées au fil de ce projet de 17 titres. 

Écouter ici.

COLOR MAN

Nu Fvnk

Rappeur, producteur et DJ au sein du collectif East African Wave, Nu Fvnk fait partie de la nouvelle scène qui anime Nairobi. Comme ses modèles Pharrell Williams et Tyler The Creator, il touche à tout : les platines, la mode, la direction artistique, … Une palette de talents aussi variée que les sonorités de son premier album COLOR MAN. Nu Fvnk explore les genres et les possibilités : un peu de house, une touche de jazz et beaucoup de hip-hop « lo-fi » aux inspirations californiennes. Le projet reste cependant ancré dans les racines kényanes du rappeur, avec « Nairobi Atittude » et « Gangverment », le titre le plus engagé du projet. 

Écouter ici.

The Kalling

Kabaka Pyramid

Le producteur Kabaka Pyramid, originaire de Kingston, revient avec un nouvel album The Kalling qui devrait réjouir les fans de reggae, les puristes comme les adeptes de fusion. Comme à son habitude, Kabaka Pyramid mêle hip-hop et reggae, comme dans « Kontraband ». L’artiste jamaïcain considère sa vocation comme un moyen de faire passer des messages engagés et imprègne son album de 15 titres de ses réflexions sur des sujets de société, comme dans « Addiction » où il interroge la relation malsaine des hommes avec les réseaux sociaux. Impossible de ne pas mentionner le très classique, mais aussi très jubilatoire,  « Red Gold and Green » enregistré avec Damian « Jr Gong » Marley : véritable ode aux valeurs rastafaris. Autre pépite de l’album : le premier titre « Mystic Man » dans lequel Kabaka Pyramid sample le morceau du même nom du regretté Peter Tosh.

Écouter ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé