→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

5 albums to discover this week

This week, an Asake album full of killer singles, Sampa the Great's Zambian connection, Sudan Archives's in full artistic form, Greentea Peng's soulful politricks and FLVME's vulnerable LP.

Mr. Money With The Vibe

Asake

Nigerian artist Asake released his debut album Mr. Money With The Vibe, following his four-track EP Ololade unveiled back in February. It features the remix of the single “Sungba” (the original was included in the EP) with none other than Burna Boy. American rapper Russ is also present on “Reason”. This first full-length album encapsulates Asake’s peculiar style which fuses together Afrobeats with amapiano. Asake’s brand is also well illustrated in the album’s cover showing him smiling hungrily in the mugshot of a wanted poster. This self-fulfilling prophecy expressed in the album’s title will see “Mr. Money with the vibe” continue to earn bankrolls with his contagious sound.

Listen here.

As Above, So Below

Sampa the Great

The Zambian artist returns with a new album As Above, So Below, her latest work designed to highlight her Zambian connection. Her recently released “Never Forget”, featuring Chef 187, Tio Nason and Mwanjé. Sung both in Bemba and in English the song pays homage to zamrock, a musical fusion that emerged in Zambia during the 1970s. “I thought it was fitting to pay homage to those who came before me and merge past, present and future through music and imagery; passing the baton from one generation to the next”, she said. In the album, Sampa the Great also delves into her relationship with femininity as an African woman to create an Eve persona: “the highest version of Sampa that speaks to all facets of her womanhood”.

Listen here.

Natural Brown Prom Queen

Sudan Archives

American violinist Sudan Archives returns with her second album to further reaffirms her all-round artistic status. Going from disco infused songs like the opener “Home Maker” to the almost undefinable “NBPQ (Topless)” with its Persian vibes, to the upbeat and empowering “Selfish Soul”, to R&B ballads like “ChevyS10”, to soul track like “FLUE”… Always with a touch of her signature violin virtuosity. Yet, not quite all over the place as her 18-track album manages to stay cohesive despite exploring a diverse range of genres. The creativity shown in the music videos is also worth mentioning with her colourful and provocative visuals. Natural Brown Prom Queen explores themes that intertwine with Sudan Archives’ experiences. It deals with race, womanhood, relationships and places, displaying both the artist’s vulnerabilities and confidence.

Listen here.

GREENZONE 108

Greentea Peng

“Super Green”  Fifth Element’s character Ruby Rhud would say about Greentea Peng’s latest album: a qualifier which completely describes the vibe of GREENZONE 108. With effortless cool, the British artist’s soulful voice is sure to relax the mood. “GREENZONE 108 is a free flowing, open field of expression”, Aria Wells said. “A collection of works accumulated over a transitional period of my life. An elevation of sorts from MAN MADE, in the sense that so much has changed and formed in the 2 years since that conception. GREENZONE 108 is freer, less formed and more of an open dialogue/ space exploring all different types of topics from spirituality, and originality to mental health and politricks hence why this is a mixtape and not an album.

Listen here.

Germander II

FLVME

South African rapper returns with a follow-up to his 2019 EP, this time on GERMANDER II. The album opens to soft piano melodies and emotional lyrics dealing with faith, relationships and the musical industry’s ruthlessness. A sad undertone which he pursues throughout the 13 tracks. The tile refers to a delicate species of flower which resonates with FLVME’s vulnerable side: “I feel this best describes me, I am that flower, a seed planted, watered, left to dry up, revered in my season of blossoming and allowed to bloom, and that’s what the title is for”. The album features Kewand & Mellow Don Picasso, Die Mondez, Yung Tyran (a good collaboration for the title “No Discussion”), The Bug Hash, DaVionne, Stogie T, Jay Millian and Ben September. 

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, un album d'Asake plein de singles qui tuent, la connexion zambienne de Sampa the Great, Sudan Archives en pleine forme artistique, les politricks soulful de Greentea Peng et le LP vulnérable de FLVME.

Mr. Money With The Vibe

Asake

L’artiste nigérian Asake a sorti son premier album Mr. Money With The Vibe, qui fait suite à son EP de quatre titres Ololade dévoilé en février dernier. On y retrouve le remix du titre « Sungba » (l’original était inclus dans l’EP) avec nul autre que Burna Boy. Ce premier projet long complet est une parfaite illustration du style si particulier d’Asake qui mêle afrobeats et amapiano. Ce style signature est remarquablement bien incarné par l’artiste lui-même sur la pochette de l’album : un avis de recherche Wanted sur laquelle Asake affiche un sourire carnassier. La prophétie auto-réalisatrice exprimée dans le titre de l’album permettra, sans aucun doute, à Asake de continuer à gagner de l’argent avec sa vibe distinctive.

Écouter ici.

As Above, So Below

Sampa the Great

L’artiste zambienne revient avec un nouvel album intitulé As Above, So Below qui vise à souligner la connexion de l’artiste avec son pays natal. Le morceau « Never Forget » en collaboration avec Chef 187, Tio Nason et Mwanjé, illustre bien ce choix artistique. Chanté à la fois en bemba et en anglais, il rend hommage aux figures emblématiques du zamrock, un genre musical ayant émergé en Zambie dans les années 1970. « J’ai pensé qu’il était approprié de rendre hommage à ceux qui m’ont précédée et de fusionner le passé, le présent et l’avenir à travers la musique et l’imagerie, en passant le relais d’une génération à l’autre », a-t-elle déclaré. Dans l’album, Sampa the Great explore également sur son rapport à la féminité en tant que femme africaine pour créer son personnage d’Eve : « la version la plus élevée de Sampa qui parle de toutes les facettes de sa féminité ».

Écouter ici.

Natural Brown Prom Queen

Sudan Archives

La violoniste américaine Sudan Archives revient avec son deuxième album qui confirme son statut d’artiste complète. Démontrant, de temps à autres, sa virtuosité au violon, elle passe d’une chanson disco comme « Home Maker », à l’indéfinissable « NBPQ (Topless) » avec ses vibrations persanes, à un titre optimiste et puissant comme « Selfish Soul », aux ballades RnB à la « ChevyS10 » , aux morceaux soul comme « FLUE »… L’album parvient à rester cohérent bien que l’artiste explore un large éventail de genres à travers les 18 titres du disque. La créativité dont elle fait preuve dans les vidéoclips mérite également d’être soulignée, avec ses visuels colorés et provocants. Natural Brown Prom Queen explore des thèmes qui s’entrecroisent avec les expériences de Sudan Archives. Il parle de questions raciales, de la féminité, des relations et des espaces, révélant tout à la fois l’assurance de l’artiste et une facette plus vulnérable d’elle-même.

Écouter ici.

GREENZONE 108

Greentea Peng

“Super Green” dirait Ruby Rhod de Le Cinquième Élément pour décrire le dernier projet de Greentea Peng : un qualificatif qui décrit avec justesse l’atmosphère créée dans la GREENZONE 108. Fluide et cool, la voix soul de l’artiste britannique nous plonge instantanément dans un état de décontraction absolue. “GREENZONE 108 est un champ d’expression libre et ouvert”, précise Aria Wells. “Une collection de morceaux élaborés pendant une période transitoire de ma vie. Une sorte d’élévation par rapport à MAN MADE, dans le sens où tant de choses ont changé et se sont formées au cours des deux années qui ont suivi cette conception. GREENZONE 108 est plus libre, moins formé et plus un dialogue/espace ouvert qui explore des sujets différents : spiritualité, originalité, santé mentale et politricks (jeux de mots entre politique et tricks : entourloupes, NDLR). C’est pourquoi il s’agit d’une mixtape et non d’un album.« 

Écouter ici.

Germander II

FLVME

Le rappeur sud-africain revient avec un sequel pour son EP sorti 2019, cette fois-ci, un album intitulé GERMANDER II. Sur de douces mélodies de piano, FLVME parle de sa foi, de ses relations et du caractère impitoyable de l’industrie musicale à travers des titres émotionnels. Une atmosphère assez triste que l’artiste entretient à travers les 13 titres de l’album. Le titre fait référence à une fleur dont la délicatesse résonne avec le côté vulnérable de FLVME : « Je pense que c’est ce qui me décrit le mieux, je suis cette fleur, une graine plantée, arrosée, laissée à sécher, admirée pendant mon épanouissement et accompagnée pendant ma floraison, et c’est à ça que je fais référence dans le titre« . On retrouve dans l’album des contributions de Kewand & Mellow Don Picasso, Die Mondez, Yung Tyran, The Bug Hash, DaVionne, Stogie T, Jay Millian et Ben September. 

Écouter ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé