→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Highlife veteran Gyedu‑Blay Ambolley reinterprets classics

Thirty-fifth album and counting, the 75-year-old musician is about to release yet another record, Hi-life Jazz, in which he revisits works by John Coltrane, Thelonius Monk, Wayne Shorter and Miles Davis.

Born in 1947, ten years before Ghana’s independence, Gyedu‑Blay Ambolley has lived throughout the highlife craze. While a member of the Uhuru Dance Band, he developed his signature Simigwa-do style alongside Ebo Taylor and Sammy Larteh with whom he shared the stage. Yet, the highlife legend didn’t stop there and continues to cultivate his impressive catalogue. Hi-Life Jazz will be his 35th album to date released via the German Agogo label.

For this latest project, Gyedu‑Blay Ambolley has chosen to embrace his love of Afro-soul and admiration for well-known jazz figures. In the nine-track album, he provides both reinterpretation of old classics and brand new compositions where he blends together Afro-American jazz, soul and funk with Ghanaian highlife, enhanced by his signature Simigwa style and powered by polyrhythms.

In the first three tracks, “Sankumagye”, “Yekor Ye A Yeaba” and “Enyidado”, Gyedu-Blay Ambolley showcases deep tonal and vocal interventions, mixing Afro-soul and groove: a most-fitting way to set the tone for the rest of the album. The following tracks are reinterpretations of titles by John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter and Miles Davis, in which Gyedu-Blay Ambolley stays true to the original while adding a Ghanain touch and allowing himself to play freely with the rhythm. It’s especially true in “Love Is Supreme” inspired by Coltrane’s track of the same name, in which Ambolley adds a joyous swing which deeply changes the overall tone. A wonderful way to rediscover jazz staples.

Hi-Life Jazz out October 7th via Agogo.

Listen to “Round Midnite” in our Songs of the Week playlist.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

La star du highlife ghanéen Gyedu‑Blay Ambolley revisite les classiques

Le multi-instrumentiste de 75 ans s’apprête à sortir son 35e album, Hi-life Jazz. Occasion pour lui de revisiter les monuments du jazz : John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter et Miles Davis.

Né en 1947, dix ans avant l’indépendance du Ghana, Gyedu-Blay Ambolley a vécu cette période d’intense engouement pour le highlife. Alors membre de l’Uhuru Dance Band, il développe son style caractéristique, le simigwa-do, et joue aux côtés d’Ebo Taylor et de Sammy Larteh. Mais la légende du highlife ne se repose pas sur ses lauriers et continue de cultiver son impressionnant catalogue. Hi-Life Jazz est son 35e album, publié par le label allemand Agogo.

Pour ce dernier projet, Gyedu-Blay Ambolley a choisi de partager son amour pour l’afro-soul et son admiration pour certaines grandes figures du jazz. Dans cet album de neuf titres, il propose à la fois des réinterprétations de vieux classiques et de toutes nouvelles compositions où il mêle le jazz, la soul et le funk afro-américains avec le highlife ghanéen, agrémenté de son simigwa signature par des polyrythmies.

Dans les trois premiers titres de l’album, « Sankumagye », « Yekor Ye A Yeaba » et « Enyidado », Gyedu-Blay Ambolley chante, joue, mêle afro-soul et groove et donne le ton pour le reste de l’album. Les titres suivants sont des réinterprétations de titres de John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter et Miles Davis. Gyedu-Blay Ambolley reste fidèle aux originaux tout en apportant sa touche ghanéenne avec une approche plus libre des rythmes. Son  « Love Is Supreme », inspiré du morceau éponyme de John Coltrane, est particulièrement représentatif de ce traitement façon Gyedu-Blay Ambolley. L’artiste adapte le morceau pour en proposer un version résolument plus swingante. Une belle façon de redécouvrir les incontournables du jazz.

Hi-Life Jazz sort le 7 octobre via Agogo.

Écoutez « Round Midnite » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé