→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

DJ Katapila’s Techno Africa from the Ghanaian underground

Ghanaian DJ and producer Katapila’s latest EP via British label Club Yeke is a perfect illustration of the movement shaking today’s electronic scene: a frantic digital back-and-forth between London and the pan-African electronic underground.

“Katapila is one of the artists we have been wanting to work with for the longest time”, Tash LC said. She’s the owner of Club Yeke, a boisterous English record label founded in 2019. It manages the likes of Jumping Back Slash, Kouslin and Kush Arora. “The quality of his instrumentations, vocal parts and its incredible kicks allow him to produce an incredible sound, somewhere between the European techno scene and the core essence of Ghanain music”.

True godfather of the Accra scene for over a quarter of a century, Ishmael ‘DJ Katapila’ Abbey unabashedly performs on local dancefloors, funeral or at weddings: “they call me Katapila (Editor’s Note: a reference to chain track also called caterpillar tread) because I’m like a machine. I clear out passageways to lay down roads”, Ishmael said. The producer is a pioneer on a mission: “to educate, you have to entertain. Here in Accra, my music makes people enjoy themselves and dance but it also lifts them up. That is the reason why a massive amount of young people here follow my work closely”. An audience that has now extended to Europe: “in Ghana, people don’t go to clubs like in Europe. In England, people dance in closed spaces. Even big events, like festivals, are somehow contained and closed off. Here in Accra, there is music in the streets, in the open air, at parties or in large informal gatherings.”

DJ Katapila – Kata Yeke

Although it has been refined and structured over the course of his trips to Europe, Katapila’s sound material remains uncontainable and impulse-driven: “In Ghana, people want hot songs”, the producer said. “The idea is to increase the speed so we mess with the pitch. That’s how we see techno, and more precisely African techno, hence the title of this new project.

DJ Katapila’s Techno Africa, out on September 9, 2022 via Club Yeke Records.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

DJ Katapila nous montre sa vision de la techno africaine

Techno Africa, la nouvelle sortie du DJ-producteur ghanéen Katapila sur le label anglais Club Yeke est la parfaite illustration du mouvement qui agite la scène électronique actuelle : une série d’allers-retours digitaux frénétiques entre Londres et l’underground électronique panafricain. Présentations et écoute en exclusivité.

« Katapila est un des artistes avec qui nous voulions travailler depuis hyper longtemps », s’enthousiasme Tash LC, la taulière de Club Yeke, turbulente maison discographique anglaise fondée en 2019, qui héberge entre autres Jumping Back Slash, Kouslin ou Kush Arora. « La qualité de ses instrumentations, ses parts vocales et ses kicks incroyables lui confèrent un son incroyable, quelque part entre la scène techno européenne et le cœur de l’âme musicale ghanéenne. »

Véritable parrain de la scène d’Accra depuis plus d’un quart de siècle, Ishmael ‘DJ Katapila’ Abbey officie sans complexe sur les dancefloors locaux, lors d’enterrements ou de mariages : « on m’appelle Katapila (Caterpillar ou engin à chenilles en français, NDLR) car je suis comme une machine. Je déblaie et je trace des routes », nous a confié Ishmael. Le pionnier est en mission : « pour éduquer, il faut divertir. Ici à Accra, ma musique enjaille, fait danser, mais elle élève également les gens. C’est la raison pour laquelle ici, la jeunesse suit massivement mon travail. » Un public désormais étendu jusqu’en Europe : « au Ghana, on ne fréquente pas vraiment de discothèques comme en Europe. En Angleterre on danse dans des lieux clos, même les grands rassemblements comme les festivals restent des manifestations contenues, fermées. Ici, à Accra, la musique se vit dans la rue, en plein air, lors de fêtes ou de grands rassemblements spontanés. »

DJ Katapila – Kate Yeke

Bien qu’elle se soit affinée et structurée au gré de ses allers-retours en Europe, la matière sonore distillée par Katapila reste irrépressible, pulsionnelle : « Au Ghana, on veut des hot songs ! », s’amuse le producteur. « L’idée, c’est de jouer vite, alors on maltraite le pitch. C’est ça, notre vision de la techno. Mais de la Techno d’Afrique, d’où le titre de ce nouveau projet ! »

DJ Katapila, Techno Africa, sortie le 9 septembre 2022 chez Club Yeke Records. Jeune maison discographique impeccablement tenue, Club Yeke confie tous ses artworks au studio de création Mumptown.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé