→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

5 albums to discover this week

This week, Spice sets herself free, BNXN comes clean, Serge Ibaka goes from basketball to rap, Yanna Momina introduces us to the Afar musical tradition and Jinku concludes his autobiographical trilogy.

Emancipated

Spice

The Queen of Dancehall returns with her latest album Emancipated. A well-chosen title as the Jamaican artist decided to make this a full solo project with no collaboration, self producing most of the songs. “I’ve been a one woman army for 20 years. I’ve done everything for myself”, she told dancehallmag.com. Throughout the nine tracks, Spice show off her versatility, always with her usual humour, going from the dancefloor-ready banger such as “POP OFF” and “CLAP CLAP” to more dramatic tracks like “SAME MOUTH”. “I have energetic songs, I have something that is very calm, and mellow, something that is club banging, something that’s gonna make you get up and dance. It has all to fit your mood”

Listen here.

Bad Since 97′

BNXN fka Buju

Buju, aka BNXN, has been Bad Since 97’ as revealed on his latest album. “I never cared ’bout the devil, since ’17, I’ve been smoking hot like a kettle”, Nigerian Afro-fusion singer-songwriter unapologetically sings in the opening lines of the title song. Don’t take take these flippant bars lightly, “‘Cause [his] music is one thing that [he takes] personal”.  For this seven-track project, Buju has secured the participation of some of Nigeria’s biggest names such as Wizkid, Wande Coal and Olamide, respectively featured on “Many Ways”, “Kenkele” and “Modupe”.

Listen here.

Art

Serge Ibaka

Art is the first album of Congolese-Spanish NBA star Serge Ibaka. This project is a showcase of artists in the African diaspora. “Many people succeed like me but forget where they come from. Art is a message, for everyone, for children, to encourage others to give back”, Ibaka explains. It features many prominent artists from Africa, the Caribbean and the Americas along with French artist Ninho with whom he recorded “Champion”. Result of the partnership between a rap-obsessed baller and a basketball-obsessed rapper, the single was the focus of a music video shot in Kinshasa. Their words read like a slogan: “To live and die like a champion – the others didn’t even believe it, like an eagle I flew above the clouds to feed the familia.

Listen here.

Afar Ways

Yanna Momina

Back in 2018, Ian Brennan set on a journey to Djibouti to meet with the Afar singer Yanna Momina in a stilt-hut on the horn of Africa. Together, they recorded live Afar Ways, an eight-track album which paid tribute to Momina’s musical tradition. In it, her singing shines atop minimalistic musical backings made-up of an acoustic guitar, handclaps and a calabash. “Yanna has one of the most unique voices I’ve ever heard. She flirts with the edge of chaos without losing control of her idiosyncratic phrasing”, stated Brennan. Momina is also one of the rare Afar women who write their own songs.

Listen here.

Oasis Park III

Jinku

NuNairobi pioneer Jinku concludes his EP-trilogy with Oasis Park III. Oasis Park I released in June, was a testament to friendship and late Nairobi nights. Oasis Park II released in July, evolves into a complex love story. The trilogy ends with a tale of migration in this final opus where Jinku recounts his last weeks in Kenya and his move to Sweden. “It is a story about embracing change and a love letter to his hometown and his new adopted home.” This autobiographical project features South African artist Khan Khalii in the track “Moonlight”, co-produced with his brother, See Through Solomon. Gengetone singer Maandy can be heard on “Fade” alongside Swedish synthpop artist, Pikes. This mix of genres is symbolic of the story told.

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, Spice s'émancipe, BNXN se confesse, Serge Ibaka passe du basket au rap, Yanna Momina nous fait découvrir la tradition musicale afare et Jinku conclue sa trilogie autobiographique.

Emancipated

Spice 

La reine du dancehall revient avec son dernier album, Emancipated. Un titre bien choisi puisque l’artiste jamaïcaine a décidé d’en faire un projet entièrement solo, sans collaboration, en produisant elle-même la plupart des chansons. « Je suis ma propre armée depuis 20 ans. Je fais tout par moi même », a-t-elle déclaré dans une interview accordée à dancehallmag.com. Sur les neuf titres de l’album, Spice démontre sa versatilité en passant de morceaux très entraînants comme « POP OFF » et « CLAP CLAP » à des titres plus dramatiques comme « SAME MOUTH », toujours avec sa même dose d’humour. « J’ai des chansons énergiques et des titres très calmes et tranquilles et des morceaux plus orientés club, pour vous faire vous lever et danser. Tout doit s’adapter à votre humeur. »

Écouter ici.

Bad Since 97′

BNXN fka Buju

Buju, aka BNXN, est Bad Since 97’ comme le révèle son dernier album. « I never cared ’bout the devil, since ’17, I’ve been smoking hot like a kettle » (« Je ne me suis jamais soucié du diable, depuis 17 ans, je fume comme une bouilloire »), chante le chanteur et compositeur nigérian d’afro-fusion dans les premières lignes de la chanson titre. Mais ne sous-estimez pas ses qualités d’artistes : « ‘Cause [his] music is one thing that [he takes] personal » (« Parce que sa musique est une chose qu’il prend personnellement »).  Pour ce projet de sept titres, Buzu s’est assuré la participation de quelques-unes des plus grandes stars nigérianes du moment dont Wizkid, Wande Coal et Olamide, respectivement présents sur « Many Ways », « Kenkele » et « Modupe ».

Écouter ici.

Art

Serge Ibaka

Art est le premier album du joueur congolo-espagnol de basket-ball Serge Ibaka. Ce projet est né de sa volonté de faire connaître les artistes issus de la diaspora africaine. « Beaucoup de personnes réussissent comme moi mais oublient d’où elles viennent. ART est un message, pour tous, pour les enfants, pour inciter les autres à redonner », explique la star de la NBA. On y retrouve de nombreux artistes originaires d’Afrique, de la Caraïbe et des Amériques ainsi que le rappeur français Nihno avec qui il enregistre « Champion ». Ce partenariat entre un rappeur fan de basket et un joueur de basket fan de rap a fait l’objet d’un clip filmé à Kinshasa. Tel est l’hymne de ce duo singulier : « Vivre et mourir comme un champion, les autres n’y croyaient même pas, comme un aigle j’ai volé au-dessus des nuages pour nourrir la familia. » 

Écouter ici.

Afar Ways

Yanna Momina

En 2018, Ian Brennan entreprend un voyage au Djibouti pour y rencontrer la chanteuse afare Yanna Momina dans une hutte construite sur pilotis située sur la Corne de l’Afrique. C’est ici qu’ils enregistrent en live Afar Ways, un album huit titres qui rend hommage à la tradition musicale de Momina. Son talent de chanteuse y transparaît grâce à un accompagnement musical minimaliste constitué d’une guitare acoustique, de claquements de mains et d’une calebasse qui met en évidence la singularité de sa voix. « Yanna possède l’une des voix les plus uniques que j’aie jamais entendues. Elle frôle le chaos sans perdre le contrôle de son phrasé idiosyncrasique », déclare Ian Brennan. Yanna Momina est aussi  l’une des rares femmes afares à écrire ses propres chansons.

Écouter ici.

Oasis Park II

Jinku

Le pionnier de NuNairobi, Jinku, conclut sa trilogie d’EP avec Oasis Park III. Initialement construit comme une histoire d’amitié sur fonds de nuitées nairobiennes dans Oasis Park I, sorti en juin, se mue en récit amoureux tourmenté dans Oasis Park II, sorti en juillet, pour terminer par une analyse des dernières semaines de Jinku au Kenya et de son arrivée en Suède. « C’est l’histoire du réconciliation avec le changement et une lettre d’amour à sa ville natale et à son pays d’adoption. » Ce projet, semble-t-il, autobiographique fait intervenir l’artiste sud-africaine Khan Khalii dans le titre « Moonlight » coproduit avec le frère de Jinku, See Through Solomon. On peut entendre la chanteuse de gengetone Maandy sur « Fade » ainsi que l’artiste suédois de synthpop Pikes. Ce mélange des genres symbolise l’histoire racontée.

Écouter ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé