→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

5 albums to discover this week

This week, an amapiano collaborative project, dance music meets trans-like grooves meets Ethio-Jazz, a surreal album featuring vocalists from Sierra Leone, some Sgicha amapiano and a gengetone EP.

Love Is Pain

Venom x ShiShiliza

Pretoria-based hip hop DJ Venom and Joburg-based producer ShiShiliza, aka BashVision better known as Bash drop, jointly releases Love is Pain. The 13-song amapiano LP is very much a collaborative project featuring close to thirty other South African artists. Their collaboration which started with the release of “Sho Boy” back in December sees many of the artists featured in the initial single return for this latest album. Their other very successful hit “Sondela”, featuring the late rapper Riky Rick, released back in February is the ninth track of the album. 

Listen here.

Guramayle

KUTU

The trio, resulting from the encounter between French violinist and composer Théo Ceccaldi and Ethiopian singers Hewan Gebrewold and Haleluya Tekletsadik in Addis Ababa, unveils its first album Guramayle. Inspired by Ethio-jazz, KUTU has developed its own style combining dance music, trance-inviting grooves and traditional Ethiopian music, while leaving a lot of room for improvisation. Not such an easy task as female singers in Ethiopia are often expected to only interpret songs written by men. “I think it’s a strong message of emancipation, and that it’s the posture that makes more sense than the content itself. It’s a first step towards a more singular path, at the margin of what has been traditionally done for decades…” explains the violinist. 

Listen here.

Nadja

Ramses3000

Dutch producer Yannick Verhoeven releases his first album under his moniker Ramses3000. Both the founder of the Eurabia festival and a band member of the Cairo Liberation Front, Verhoeven continues to dive into the pan-African alternative dance music scene, injecting it with a kind of surrealism inspired by French author André Breton. Nadja is named after one of his novels. For the album’s purposes, Ramses3000 experimented with afrobeat, breakbeat and nu-jazz, still heavily relying on electronic genres to deliver a funky sound, most fitting to the dancefloor. Many artists were invited to bring their contributions, most of them from Sierra Leone where Ramses3000 found himself looking for a selection of vocalists. Sierra Leone rapper Mash P is thus featured on “Citadelle” and on “One By One” with his countryman Videl, while Chen B is present on the heady “Avida Dollars”. Equally groovy, “Next Move”, features Stella and Spechial, who provide a track that oozes with confidence. Also featured, Ugandan artist Swordsman Kitala who closes the album with “Tukaba”.

Listen here.

… This is Sgicha

DJ Keyez x Bafana Ba Sgicha

What is Sgicha? We’re not totally sure but apparently this 19-track long album is. Yet, the answer remains quite elusive. This enigmatic six-man crew behind the name Bafana Ba Sgicha (but we’re not sure either as they only appear in the shape of framed jerseys on the album cover) has teamed up with South African producer DJ Keyez. Together they produced the equivalent of two hours of evolutive electro dance music reunited in a sole project which supposedly describes what Sgicha is. Fusing a whole array of percussive sounds with different kinds of jerky rhythms, they define what might constitute a new sub-genre of amapiano.

Listen here.

Kelele

Mbuzi Gang

The Mbuzi Gang (standing for Money Bitches Under Zero Influences) is Kenyan trio made up of Joefes, iPhoolish and Fathermoh. The Nairobi-based band is back for their latest release Kelele. This EP follows their album Three Wise Goats released earlier this year. It features Odi Wa Muranga, the Vintage Clan and Katapilla. With only seven tracks that couldn’t be more different than one another, the Mbuzi Gang manages to show impressive range from darker sounding tracks like “Goons” with its ominous violin sounds to highly danceable tunes and typically gengetone cuts like “Alert”. 

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, un projet collaboratif d'amapiano, de la dance music inspirée par l'éthio-jazz, un album surréaliste d'influence sierra-léonaise, du Sgicha amapiano et un EP gengetone.

Love Is Pain

Venom x ShiShiliza

Le DJ de hip-hop Venom, basé à Pretoria, et le producteur ShiShiliza, basé à Joburg (aussi connu sous les noms de BashVision et de Bash drop) ont de nouveau fait équipe pour sortir ensemble Love Is Pain. Cet album amapiano de 13 morceaux est un projet éminemment collaboratif auquel ont participé près de trente autres artistes sud-africains. Le duo, monté après la sortie de « Sho Boy » en décembre dernier, a fait appel à de nombreux artistes présents sur ce premier single pour les besoins de leur nouvel album. Leur deuxième hit, « Sondela », sorti en février, où l’on retrouve le rappeur Ricky Rick récemment décédé, est le neuvième titre de l’album. 

Écouter ici.

Guramayle

KUTU

Le trio, fruit de la rencontre entre le violoniste et compositeur français Théo Ceccaldi et des chanteuses éthiopiennes Hewan Gebrewold et Haleluya Tekletsadik) à Addis-Abeba, dévoile son premier album Guramayle. Inspiré par l’éthio jazz, KUTU développe un style propre mariant dance music, grooves hypnotiques invitant à la transe et musiques traditionnelles éthiopiennes et laissant une grande place à l’improvisation. Un choix difficile à assumer en Ethiopie où les chanteuses sont souvent cantonnées à interpréter les chansons écrites par des hommes. « Je pense que c’est un message fort d’émancipation, et que c’est la posture qui a plus de sens que le fond lui-même. C’est un premier pas vers un chemin plus singulier, à la marge de ce qui se fait traditionnellement depuis des décennies… », explique le violoniste. 

Écouter ici.

Nadja

Ramses3000

Le producteur néerlandais Yannick Verhoeven sort son premier album sous son nom de scène Ramses3000. Le fondateur du festival Eurabia et membre du groupe Cairo Liberation Front, Verhoeven continue son exploration de la scène alternative de la dance music panafricaine, en y injectant une forme de surréalisme inspiré par l’auteur français André Breton. Nadja est d’ailleurs nommé d’après un de ses romans. Pour les besoins de l’album, Ramses3000 a expérimenté avec l’afrobeat, le breakbeat et le nu-jazz, en s’appuyant sur les genres électroniques pour produire un son groovy et funky, totalement adapté au dancefloor. De nombreux artistes ont été invités à apporter leur contribution, la plupart originaires de Sierra Leone où Ramses3000 s’est rendu. On retrouve ainsi le rappeur sierra-léonais Mash P sur « Citadelle » et sur « One By One » avec son compatriote Videl, tandis que Chen B est présent sur le très entraînant titre « Avida Dollars ». Tout aussi groovy et plein d’assurance, le titre « Next Move » où l’on retrouve Stella et Spechial. Également présent sur l’album, l’artiste ougandais Swordsman Kitala présent sur le dernier morceau « Tukaba ».

Écouter ici.

… This Is Sgicha

DJ Keyez x Bafana Ba Sgicha

Qu’est-ce que le Sgicha ? La réponse est incertaine mais devrait se trouver au sein de cet album de 19 titres. L’énigmatique crew de six personnes derrière Bafana Ba Sgicha (fait présumé également car ses membres n’apparaissent que sous la forme de maillots de sport encadrés sur la pochette de l’album) a fait équipe avec le producteur sud-africain DJ Keyez. Ensemble, ils ont produit l’équivalent de deux heures de musique électronique évolutive compilées dans un unique projet censé décrire ce que constitue le Sgicha. Réunissant tout un éventail de sons percussifs avec différents types de rythmes saccadés, ils définissent ce qui pourrait constituer un nouveau sous-genre de l’amapiano. 

Écouter ici.

Kelele

Mbuzi Gang

Le Mbuzi Gang (un acronyme pour Money Bitches Under Zero Influences) est un trio kenyan composé de Joefes, iPhoolish et Fathermoh. Le groupe basé à Nairobi est de retour avec leur dernier projet en date, Kelele. Cet EP fait suite à leur album Three Wise Goats sorti plus tôt cette année. On y retrouve Odi Wa Muranga, le Vintage Clan et Katapilla. Avec seulement sept morceaux qui ne pourraient pas être plus différents les uns des autres, le Mbuzi Gang démontre une grande versatilité avec de morceaux aux sonorités plus sombres comme avec les angoissants airs de violon de « Goons » ou avec des titres très dansants et typiquement gengetone comme « Alert ». 

Écouter ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé