→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

KaySoul, extraterrestrial frequencies

South African artist KaySoul continues to export his deep house by joining the prestigious German label Dirt Crew on his EP Frequency Rays of One Cosmic. The talented producer spoke to us about this new release from Johannesburg.

We introduced you to KaySoul in 2020, when he delivered an eclectic PAM Club in full creative ascension. The prophecy seems to be coming true as the Johannesburg resident has just joined Dirt Crew, a major German label that hosts artists he admires such as Lorenz Rhodes, Tigerskin or Detroit Swindle aka Dam Swindle. “It’s both surreal and exciting to join the Dirt Crew catalog,” he tells us, “I’m happy to be part of this great family because this label represents the future of house music for me, it’s a real community that supports and understands the genre.” Real name Katlego Matseke, KaySoul grew up with bubble gum and kwaito sounds in his township of Kwa-thema, before falling in love with the sound of Larry Heard and Chicago house music; an influence that he brings back on the original track “Behind One”, also remixed by the mysterious English producer Clive From Accounts, in a soulful take.

Dirt Crew Recordings · KaySoul | Frequency Rays of One Cosmic EP (Preview Mix) | Dirt Crew Recordings

The EP’s title, Frequency Rays of One Cosmic, refers to “frequencies that have never been heard before,” he says. “I feel that the tracks vibrate differently, that there is something alien about them,” he continues, convinced that he is bringing a shift to an already huge musical genre in his country. Sometimes minimalistic, often catchy and always deep, KaySoul’s house speaks the right language to seduce DJs all over the world, who, in addition to being satisfied with this new EP, can expect in the near future “collaborations, especially with the South African Kurtx and his jazzy house, remixes and probably an album.” And as house music is above all born to federate, Katlego dreams of sharing his more widely, on Earth and why not on other planets: “my ultimate goal is to tour around the world to present my music to people from different musical cultures, and why not meet my idols.

Listen to episode 40 of our PAM Sound System show with KaySoul below!

Pan African Music · PAM Sound System @RCV99fm – Episode #40 – Special Guest : KAYSOUL

The EP will be available on February 11th. Pre-order it here. Follow KaySoul on Instagram and Facebook.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

KaySoul, fréquences extra‑terrestres

Le Sud-Africain KaySoul continue d’exporter sa deep house en rejoignant le prestigieux label allemand Dirt Crew avec son EP Frequency Rays of One Cosmic. L’intéressé nous parle de cette nouvelle sortie depuis Johannesburg.

On vous présentait KaySoul en 2020, alors qu’il nous livrait un PAM Club éclectique en pleine ascension créative. La propéthie semble se raliser puisque le résident de Johannesburg vient de rejoindre Dirt Crew, label allemand incontournable qui héberge des artistes qu’il admire comme Lorenz Rhodes, Tigerskin ou Detroit Swindle aka Dam Swindle. « C’est à la fois surréaliste et excitant de rejoindre le catalogue Dirt Crew », nous dit-il, « je suis heureux de faire partie de cette grande famille car ce label représente pour moi le futur de la house music, c’est une véritable communauté qui soutient et comprend le genre. » De son vrai nom Katlego Matseke, KaySoul a grandi au contact des sons bubble gum et kwaito dans son township de Kwa-thema, avant d’être victime d’un coup de foudre pour le son de Larry Heard et de la house de Chicago. Une influence qu’il restitue entre autres sur le morceau original « Behind One » -aussi remixé par le mystérieux producteur anglais Clive From Accounts- dans une veine soulful.

Dirt Crew Recordings · KaySoul | Frequency Rays of One Cosmic EP (Preview Mix) | Dirt Crew Recordings

Le titre de l’EP Frequency Rays of One Cosmic fait référence à « des fréquences qui n’ont jamais été entendues auparavant », précise-t-il. « Je sens que les morceaux vibrent différemment, qu’ils ont quelque chose d’extraterrestre », continue-t-il, convaincu d’apporter un décalage à un genre musical déjà énorme dans son pays. Parfois minimaliste, souvent catchy et toujours profonde, la deep house de KaySoul parle le bon langage pour séduire les DJs du monde entier, qui, en plus de se satisfaire de ce nouvel EP, peuvent attendre de lui dans un futur proche « des collaborations, notamment avec le Sud-africain Kurtx et sa house jazzy, des remixes et probablement un album ». Et comme la house est avant tout née pour fédérer, Katlego rêve de partager la sienne plus largement, sur Terre et pourquoi pas sur d’autres planètes : « mon but ultime est de tourner partout dans le monde pour présenter ma musique à des gens issus de différentes cultures musicales, et pourquoi pas rencontrer mes idoles ».

Ecoutez l’épisode 40 de notre émission PAM Sound System avec KaySoul en invité ci-dessous !

Pan African Music · PAM Sound System @RCV99fm – Episode #40 – Special Guest : KAYSOUL

L’EP sera disponible le 11 février. Précommandez-le ici. Suivez KaySoul sur Instagram et Facebook.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé