→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

5 albums to discover this week

This week, Nigeria’s vibing to Adekunle Gold and Sensei Lo’s new projects, while Teno Afrika drops his second amapiano album. Gonora Sounds return with new Zimbabwean sungura songs, and J.P. Bimeni sings about hope with the Black Belts. 

Where You Are

Teno Afrika

Following his debut album released in 2020, 22-year-old South African producer Teno Afrika is back at it again with a new set of songs, bringing more vocalists and expanding his rhythmic subtlety, layered with warm bass, and adorned by amapiano’s telltale shakers, hi-hats and mid-tempo shuffle. Released via Awesome Tapes From Africa, the project features different artist friends from Teno’s entourage, such as Diego Don on the two driving, pad-propelled tracks “SK Love” and “AK Love”, singer KayCee on “Fall In Love”, Stylo MusiQ on the icy closer “Duma ICU” and Leyla’s smooth voice on the eponymous track. 

Listen here

Pisces Moon

Sensei Lo

Pisces Moon is the official debut from Sensei Lo, a well known figure in the exciting Lagos electronic scene. The three tracks of the project take us in different directions: “Don’t Let Go”, featuring Austrian multi-instrumentalist Guido, ushers us gently in jazzy deep house; “Synchronicity”, with Paul Word, blends tribal house with Afrobeat(s); “Vanacula” takes us on a dark, deep and physical drum funk trip, paved by the eccentric vocals of Roli. 

Listen here

Give Me Hope

J.P. Bimeni

In the writing of his new album, J.P. Bimeni was strongly inspired by leaders and creatives such as Martin Luther King Jr. and Lee Scratch Perry. Grooving between classic ‘60s Motown, Stax-inspired soul and Afro-funk, Give Me Hope is his second album with The Black Belts, following on from 2018’s Free Me. “Music is my great escape. My debut album was me finally doing what I wanted to do and feeling like music is my freedom,” he says, adding that his frame of mind evolved while recording Give Me Hope. “You realize that you have a platform that is much larger than you expected, so you have to question yourself: What am I trying to express? Who am I?” 

Listen here

Catch Me If You Can

Adekunle Gold

Adekunle Gold is hailed for being one of the most exciting artists in contemporary Nigerian music, transitioning in a few years from highlife predilection to a now chiseled, long-haired pop sensation, with millions more streams and sold out international venues to match. He now returns with Catch Me If You Can, which features his recent hit “High” with Davido. “Right now, what matters most is my family and making sure I remain a good man, father et cetera. Also, as much as possible, I want to live”, he told us in an interview. “I’ve become unbothered about things I used to be afraid to do”.

Listen here

Hard Times Never Kill

Gonora Sounds

Hard Times Never Kill is an album about survival and beating the odds, straight from the streets of Harare. It showcases charismatic blind sungura musician Daniel Gonora as a guitarist, vocalist, composer, songwriter and bandleader, and his prodigy drummer son Isaac, who has been playing with his dad since he was four years old. The project, which features some of the country’s best sungura musicians (Malizani Mbewe on bass, Nelson “Mr. Longman” Mutanda on lead guitar and Bothwell Nyamhondera on production), documents the grace, strength, and optimism that – somehow – shines on in Zimbabweans against all odds.

This week’s releases also include:

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

5 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, le Nigeria vibre au son d'Adekunle Gold et de Sensei Lo, tandis que Teno Afrika sort son deuxième album d’amapiano. Gonora Sounds revient avec des nouvelles chansons de sungura zimbabwéen, et J.P. Bimeni chante l'espoir avec les Black Belts. 

Where You Are

Teno Afrika

Après son premier album sorti en 2020, le producteur sud-africain de 22 ans Teno Afrika est de retour avec un nouveau projet, sur lequel il façonne des rythmes aux basses rondes, accompagnés de hi-hats et shuffles mid-tempo si caractéristiques de l’amapiano. Disponible sur Awesome Tapes From Africa, Where You Are inclut différents artistes de l’entourage de Teno, tels que Diego Don sur les deux morceaux « SK Love » et « AK Love », la chanteuse KayCee sur « Fall In Love », Stylo MusiQ sur le glaçant « Duma ICU » et la voix douce de Leyla sur le morceau éponyme aérien et planant, déjà disponible. 

Ecoutez ici

Pisces Moon

Sensei Lo

Pisces Moon est le premier projet officiel de Sensei Lo, figure bien connue de l’excitante scène électronique de Lagos. Les trois titres du projet nous emmènent dans des directions différentes : « Don’t Let Go », avec le multi-instrumentiste autrichien Guido, nous fait doucement pénétrer dans une atmosphère deep house jazzy ; « Synchronicity », avec Paul Word, mêle tribal house et afrobeat(s) ; « Vanacula » nous emmène dans un voyage drum funk sombre, profond et physique, pavé par le chant excentrique de Roli. 

Ecoutez ici

Give Me Hope

J.P. Bimeni

Influencé par la musique Motown classique des années 60, la soul de Stax Records et l’afro-funk, Give Me Hope est le deuxième album de J.P. Bimeni et les Black Belts après Free Me. Pendant l’écriture du projet, le chanteur de soul burundais a été fortement inspiré par des leaders et des créateurs comme Martin Luther King Jr. ou Lee Scratch Perry. « La musique, c’est ma grande évasion. Free Me, c’était moi qui faisait enfin ce que je voulais faire et qui sentait que la musique était ma liberté », dit-il, ajoutant que son état d’esprit a évolué pendant l’enregistrement de Give Me Hope. « Vous vous rendez compte que vous avez une plateforme qui est beaucoup plus grande que ce à quoi vous vous attendiez, alors vous devez vous remettre en question : Qu’est-ce que j’essaie d’exprimer ? Qui suis-je ? » 

Ecoutez ici

Catch Me If You Can

Adekunle Gold

Adekunle Gold est considéré comme l’une des figures les plus importantes de la pop nigériane contemporaine, passé en quelques années d’un jeune artiste highlife timide à une sensation pop aux cheveux longs, millions de streams et salles internationales comblées à la clé. Il revient aujourd’hui avec Catch Me If You Can, comprenant le hit « High » avec Davido. « En ce moment, ce qui compte le plus, c’est ma famille et m’assurer que je reste un bon homme et un bon père. Aussi, autant que possible, je veux vivre », nous avait-il confié en interview. « Je ne me soucie plus des choses que j’avais peur de faire. »

Ecoutez ici

Hard Times Never Kill

Gonora Sounds

Hard Times Never Kill est un album à propos de survie et de dépassement de soi, en provenance directe des rues de Harare. Il met en vedette le charismatique musicien sungura aveugle Daniel Gonora, guitariste, chanteur, compositeur, auteur-compositeur et chef d’orchestre, ainsi que son fils Isaac, batteur prodige, qui joue avec son père depuis l’âge de quatre ans. Ce projet, auquel participent certains des meilleurs musiciens sungura du pays (Malizani Mbewe à la basse, Nelson « M. Longman » Mutanda à la guitare solo et Bothwell Nyamhondera à la production), témoigne de la grâce, de la force et de l’optimisme qui, d’une manière ou d’une autre, rayonnent chez les Zimbabwéens contre vents et marées.

Les sorties de cette semaine comprennent également :

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé