→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Trinidadian stars KES enter the festive season with “Jolene”

The Caribbean soca group captures the essence of soca, calypso, and reggae with a new single and video right in time for the carnival season! 

“Jolene” is the first savory taste of KES’ next full-length album, which will be released this summer through California-based Ineffable Records. The track, a blend of soca, afrobeats, calypso and island pop flavors, comes right in time for Trinidad and Tobago’s traditional Carnival season, a time of year when soca artists roll out new music with the aim of soundtracking the season’s coming festivities. “I wanted to transport you to a place where, even if you’ve never been to the islands before, you would feel like you are there,” frontman Kees Diefenthaller explains. “The Caribbean is a melting pot of cultures and people together in this beautiful place, and this song captures all of these vibes.” 

Behind the nostalgic visuals of the song is Maya Cozier, director of the award-winning Trinidadian feature film She Paradise. The video takes us in a small Caribbean fishing village circa mid-20th century, taking inspiration from Brazil’s cinema novo movement with its combination of vibrant saturated colors and neutral, traditional wardrobes. Diefenthaller playfully competes with other villagers to win the affection of the track’s namesake character, in a rich environment of coconuts, dancing and rums. 

Inspired by their native melting pot nation of Trinidad and Tobago, KES is a seven-piece band formed in 2005. Having opened and shared stages with international superstars such as Sean Paul, Buju Banton, Barrington Levy and more, their music is a subtle fusion of soca, calypso, reggae and pop. 

Listen to “Jolene” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les stars trinidadiennes de KES entrent dans la saison des fêtes avec « Jolene »

Un morceau de soca énergique, arrivant juste à temps pour la saison des carnavals dans les Caraïbes ! 

« Jolene » est le premier avant-goût savoureux du prochain album de KES, qui sortira cet été sur le label californien Ineffable Records. Le titre, un mélange de soca, d’afrobeats, de calypso et de pop insulaire, arrive juste à temps pour la traditionnelle saison du carnaval de Trinidad et Tobago, une période de l’année où les artistes de soca sortent de nouvelles musiques dans le but d’accompagner les festivités à venir. « Je voulais vous transporter dans un endroit où, même si vous n’aviez jamais été dans les îles auparavant, vous auriez l’impression d’y être », explique le leader du groupe Kees Diefenthaller. « Les Caraïbes sont un melting-pot de cultures et de personnes réunies dans cet endroit magnifique, et cette chanson capture toutes ces vibrations. »

Derrière le visuel nostalgique de la chanson se cache Maya Cozier, réalisatrice du long métrage trinidadien primé She Paradise. Le clip nous emmène dans un petit village de pêcheurs des Caraïbes vers le milieu du 20e siècle, s’inspirant du mouvement brésilien « cinema novo » avec sa combinaison de couleurs saturées et de garde-robes neutres. Diefenthaller y est en concurrence avec les autres villageois pour gagner l’affection du personnage homonyme du morceau, dans un environnement riche en noix de coco, en danses et en rhums. 

Inspiré par leur pays d’origine, Trinidad et Tobago, KES est un groupe de sept musiciens formé en 2005. Ayant ouvert et partagé des scènes avec des superstars internationales telles que Sean Paul, Buju Banton, Barrington Levy et bien d’autres, leur musique est une fusion subtile de soca, calypso, reggae et pop. 

Écoutez « Jolene » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé