→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Rap roundup: Kojey Radical, Skillibeng, MC Bin Laden & more

Also including new music from The Yomen and Juny Max.

Each week PAM scours the digital vaults for the latest and greatest rap from across the African continent and its diaspora. Drill, trap, grime, Afropop, amapiano, coupé-décalé, electro mahragan… all these sub-genres and interpretations make an appearance, attesting to hip-hop’s power to unite the world with indomitable flows and creative melodies. Rap is now the world’s music, and our pan-African selection is only scratching the surface. If it’s here, it means we think it bumps, and would be confident sharing it with hip hop heads everywhere. We encourage you to do the same.

This week’s Pan African Rap roundup features British Ghanian sensation Kojey Radical, Ivory Coast up-and-comers The Yomen and Juny Max, dancehall/rap prodigy Skillibeng, and funk ostentação pioneer MC Bin Laden. 

Follow and share our Pan African Rap playlist on Spotify and Deezer for the entire selection.

Kojey Radical
“Payback” (feat. Knucks)

United Kingdom, January 13th, 2022

British Ghanaian Kwadwo Adu Genfi Amponsah aka Kojey Radical invites South Kilburn rapper Knucks on a funky New Orleans bounce beat. Led by a heavy trombone the duo count their blessings and state their claim, “Black skin couldn’t hold me down. A black queen gave birth to a golden child.”

The Yomen
“Dedans” (feat. Fior 2 Bior)

Ivory Coast, January 13th, 2022

Originally released in September 2020, Ivorian rappers The Yomen and Juny Max add “Dedans” (Inside) to their debut album Level released last week including features from Baby Black, Fior 2 Bior, Hass 2 pyque, Nilmar, and Petit Denis, giving a quick tour of the rap scenes underground up-and-comers. 

Skillibeng, Antsman
“Pick N Choose” 

Jamaica, January 14th, 2022

Dancehall rap mainstay Skillibeng, known for his cult hit “Crocodile Teeth”, and former collaborator with the likes of Popcaan and Vybz Cartel comes with a new drill inspired single that brings in newcomer Antsman for a quick, bassy groove. 

MC Bin Laden, Mu540
“Maczada”

Brazil, January 14th, 2022

Funk ostentação pioneer MC Bin Laden, known for his aggressive baile funk productions that include the rev of motorcycles and grit of the favelas teams up with DJ and producer Mu540 for a minimalist and melancholic twist on baile / ostentação rap. 

Follow and share our Pan African Rap playlist on Spotify and Deezer for the entire selection.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Rap roundup : Kojey Radical, Skillibeng, MC Bin Laden et plus encore
Kojey Radical

Rap roundup : Kojey Radical, Skillibeng, MC Bin Laden et plus encore

Et des nouveaux titres de The Yomen et Juny Max.

Chaque semaine, PAM sillonne le web en quête des meilleures pépites rap du continent africain et de sa diaspora. Drill, trap, grime… on vous emmène en voyage dans un genre que plus rien n’arrête et qui se nourrit de tous les autres courants comme le coupé-décalé, l’afropop ou l’amapiano. Le rap est désormais une musique mondiale, et si notre sélection panafricaine ne fait qu’effleurer le sujet, elle témoigne du pouvoir qu’a le hip-hop — sous toutes ses latitudes — d’unir le monde à coup de flows indomptables et de mélodies inspirantes. Ouvrez grand les oreilles et si, comme nous, vous trouvez ces morceaux géniaux, n’hésitez pas à partager cette playlist autour de vous. 

Cette semaine, notre sélection Pan African Rap réunit la sensation britannique-ghanéenne Kojey Radical, les jeunes ivoiriens The Yomen et Juny Max, le prodige du dancehall/rap Skillibeng et le pionnier du funk ostentação MC Bin Laden. 

Abonnez-vous à notre playlist Pan African Rap sur Spotify et Deezer pour écouter la sélection.

Kojey Radical
« Payback » (feat. Knucks) 

Royaume-Uni, 13 janvier 2022

Le Ghanéen britannique Kwadwo Adu Genfi Amponsah aka Kojey Radical invite le rappeur Knucks, en provenance de South Kilburn, sur un beat funky de bounce . Mené par un trombone puissant, le duo apprécie son succès et affirme : « La peau noire ne pouvait pas me retenir. Une reine noire a donné naissance à un enfant en or ».

The Yomen
« Dedans » (feat. Baby Black, Firo 2 Bior)

Côte d’Ivoire, 13 janvier 2022

Les rappeurs ivoiriens The Yomen et Juny Max ajoutent « Dedans », titre sorti en 2020, à leur premier album Level dévoilé la semaine dernière, avec des featuring de Baby Black, Fior 2 Bior, Hass 2 pyque, Nilmar, et Petit Denis, nous immergeant ainsi dans la scène rap ivoire underground. 

Skillibeng, Antsman
« Pick N Choose » (feat. Antsman)

Jamaïque, 14 janvier 2022

Le taulier du rap dancehall Skillibeng, connu pour son tube culte « Crocodile Teeth » et pour ses collaborations avec Popcaan et Vybz Cartel, présente un nouveau single inspiré de la drill avec l’artiste émergeant Antsman, pour un groove rapide et rauque. 

MC Bin Laden, Mu540
« Maczada »

Brésil, 14 janvier 2022

Le pionnier du funk ostentação MC Bin Laden, connu pour ses productions agressives de funk brésilienne dans lesquelles le bruit des motos et la poussière des favelas sont palpables, fait équipe avec le DJ et producteur Mu540. Ensemble, les deux artistes livrent leur version minimaliste et mélancolique de rap ostentação.

Abonnez-vous à notre playlist Pan African Rap sur Spotify et Deezer pour écouter la sélection.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé