→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Mélissa Laveaux announces new album with “Papessa”
© Adeline Rapon

Mélissa Laveaux announces new album with “Papessa”

In her spellbinding new track, the Haitian-born Canadian singer delves into the mysteries of the “papess”, the second trump card of the tarot. 

After a remarkable COLORS performance in 2021, Mélissa Laveaux is back with “Papessa”, a new track from her upcoming project. “The Papess, the most mysterious arcana of the tarot, hides a secret,” she explains in a press release. “A symbol of prophecy, intuition and wisdom, I see it as a warrior, a female warrior in strategic meditation. A rewriting of an oppressive design by attempting something both impossible and irresistible. The papess falls, from a great height, but she rises again because she answers to no one.”

“Papessa” is the first single from Mama Forgot Her Name Was Miracle, the singer’s fourth studio album. Following the excellent Radyo Siwèl released in 2018, the record promises to be “spiritual, poetic and highly emancipatory“, with a desire to rewrite our models and mythologies “by summoning powerful voices from beyond time, from Audre Lorde to the goddess Lilith […] because to change the legends is to change the present.”

Mélissa Laveaux, of Haitian origin, was born in Montreal and grew up in Ottawa where she found an interest for hip-hop, electronic music and Brazilian songs. “[My parents] had left the island because, when they were students, friends of theirs who were activists were killed“, she told us in a 2018 interview. “My father left first, and then he raised money to sponsor my mother’s trip to join him in Canada”. Her three albums released via No Format! saw her reconnect with her Haitian heritage and blend it with rock and soul influences. 

Mama Forgot Her Name Was Miracle by Mélissa Laveaux, out on March 11. 

Listen to “Papessa” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Melissa Laveaux – Papessa (lyrics video)

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Mélissa Laveaux annonce un nouvel album avec « Papessa »
© Adeline Rapon

Mélissa Laveaux annonce un nouvel album avec « Papessa »

Dans son nouveau titre envoûtant, la chanteuse canadienne d’origine haïtienne se penche sur les mystères de la papesse, deuxième carte du tarot.

Après une performance COLORS remarquée en 2021, Mélissa Laveaux est de retour avec « Papessa », un nouveau titre extrait de son prochain projet. « La papesse, arcane la plus mystérieuse du tarot, cache un secret », explique-t-elle dans un communiqué. « Symbole de la prophétie, de l’intuition et de la sagesse, j’y vois comme un guerrier, une guerrière en méditation stratégique. Une réécriture d’un dessin oppressif en tentant quelque chose à la fois d’impossible et d’irrésistible. La papesse tombe, de très haut, mais elle se relève car elle ne répond de personne. »

« Papessa » est le premier single de Mama Forgot Her Name Was Miracle, le quatrième album studio de la chanteuse. Faisant suite à l’excellent Radyo Siwèl sorti en 2018, le disque s’annonce « spirituel, poétique et hautement émancipatoire », avec une volonté de réécrire nos modèles et mythologies « en convoquant de puissantes voix d’outre-temps, d’Audre Lorde à la déesse Lilith […] car changer les légendes, c’est changer le présent. »

Mélissa Laveaux, d’origine haïtienne, est née à Montréal et a grandi à Ottawa, bercée par le hip-hop, les musiques électroniques ou les chansons brésiliennes. «[Mes parents] avaient quitté l’île parce que, quand ils étaient étudiants, des amis à eux qui étaient militants se sont fait tuer », nous avait-elle raconté lors d’une interview en 2018. « Mon père est parti le premier, puis il a réuni des sous pour sponsoriser le voyage de ma mère qui l’a rejoint au Canada ». Dans Radyo Siwel, son dernier album sur le label No Format! elle renouait pleinement avec son héritage haïtien pour le mêler à des influences rock ou soul. 

Mama Forgot Her Name Was Miracle de Mélissa Laveaux, disponible le 11 mars. 

Écoutez « Papessa » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Melissa Laveaux – Papessa (lyrics video)

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé