→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

6 albums to discover this week

In the last two weeks, DRC’s Innoss'B has unveiled his second album, Niariu from the Amazones d'Afrique releases her first project, and Glitterbeat Records puts out a compilation of the label’s past year. South African trombonist Kgethi Nkotsi brightened us up with his sweet Maswitsi, Tripa Gninnin turned to Ivorian reggae, and Johannesburg rappers Dan Mwale and Sauceman Guluva started a collaboration.

Mortel-06

Innoss’B

On his sophomore release, Congolese heavyweight Innoss’B displays once again his versatility, over 15 new tracks. The singer-songwriter’s Mortel-06 is a cocktail of rumba, ndombolo, Afropop, hip-hop, Afrohouse, R&B and traditional Congolese instrumentation, which tackles different lyrical themes. While the emotive “Adieu” meets the jazzy overtones of “Boutchou”, “Réponds Moi” delicately expresses yearning. Upping the tempo is the dance-geared “Naomi Campbell”, before the Goma native’s album closer “Cherchons l’Argent” wraps infectious lyrics into a percussive soundscape with accentuated guitar strums.

Listen here

Maswitsi

Kgethi Nkotsi

Kgethi Nkotsi is a South African trombone player based in Tembisa, Johannesburg. His debut solo, which “can be called a jazz album”, presents him through ten cheerful and euphoric compositions, which demonstrate a high level of mastery. Here’s what Nkotsi told us about his project: “‘Maswitsi’ is a colloquial Tswana, Sotho and Sepedi term for ‘sweets’. The album is inspired by kids, townships games, township slang, colours, humor and every bit of South African music

Listen here

Story Of A Sad Mermaid

Niariu

“Niariu” means “cat” in Fulani. This is what the artist’s entourage liked to call her when she was a child, and she has apparently lost none of her mischievousness and unpredictability. On her debut solo after her journey with the Amazones d’Afrique, she integrates the musical cultures of Guinea and the USA, with African music and reggae on the one hand, soul and RnB on the other, and blends them in a discreet electronic substance that she uses to poetically lay her words on. We previously premiered the track “The Entrance” exclusively on PAM. 

Listen here

Glitterbeat_tak​:​til_2021

Glitterbeat Records

Looking back on its achievements in 2021, German label Glitterbeat Records offers us a compilation of their artists’ latest music as a New Year present. Focused on the label’s mission to showcase contemporary genres from all corners of the world, Glitterbeat_tak​:​til_2021 features songs from Brazilian collective Bixiga 70, Malian musician Samba Touré, South African rock band BLK JKS and many others. 

Listen here

NO SKIPS

Dan Mwale, Sauceman Guluva

Dan Mwale and Sauceman Guluva took to social media on Christmas Eve announcing that they were going to release NO SKIPS. The two emerging South African rappers co-produced, wrote and mastered the entire project together, with Niner Konnekt providing sonic guidance and valuable executive production that we feel in the heavy trap-influenced beats. On seven tracks, both artists showcase their skills for rapping hard and giving attitude. 

Listen here

Bomboclaat

Tripa Gninnin

Tripa Gninnin is a rapper born in Yopougon, a district of Abidjan known internationally for its many public personalities. While the young artist had until recently built his reputation alongside fierce local rappers and drillers such as Himra , his new EP Bomboclaat sees him take a considerable artistic turn towards… reggae. However, the four new tracks do not lose the nouchi bad boy DNA of the artist, who remains a bad man above all. Special mention to “Connection London”, which manages to mix a drill rhythm with reggae chords. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

6 albums à écouter cette semaine

Dans les deux dernières semaines, le Congolais Innoss’B a dévoilé son deuxième album, Niariu des Amazones d’Afrique son premier projet, et le label Glitterbeat une compilation de son année 2021. Le tromboniste sud-africain Kgethi Nkotsi nous a égayé avec son Maswitsi sucré, Tripa Gninnin s’est mis au reggae ivoirien, et les rappeurs de Johannesburg Dan Mwale et Sauceman Guluva ont entamé une collaboration.

Mortel-06

Innoss’B

Sur son deuxième album, le poids lourd congolais Innoss’B fait une nouvelle fois preuve d’une grande polyvalence, en 15 nouveaux morceaux. Le Mortel-06 de l’auteur-compositeur-interprète est un cocktail de rumba, de ndombolo, d’afropop, de hip-hop, d’afrohouse, de R&B et d’instrumentation traditionnelle congolaise, qui aborde différents thèmes. Alors que le lyrisme émotif de « Adieu » rencontre les accents jazzy de « Boutchou », « Réponds Moi » exprime délicatement le désir du chanteur. La chanson « Naomi Campbell », aux accents afrobeats, vient accélérer le tempo, avant que « Cherchons l’Argent » et ses paroles motivantes clôture l’album.

Ecoutez ici

Maswitsi

Kgethi Nkotsi

Kgethi Nkotsi est un tromboniste sud-africain basé à Tembisa, Johannesburg. Son premier solo, qui « peut être qualifié d’album de jazz », le présente à travers dix compositions gaies et euphoriques, démontrant un haut niveau de maîtrise. Voici ce que Nkotsi nous dit à propos de son projet : « ‘Maswitsi’ est un terme familier tswana, sotho et sepedi pour désigner des bonbons. L’album s’inspire des enfants, des jeux de townships, de l’argot des townships, des couleurs, de l’humour et de la musique sud-africaine dans son entièreté. »

Ecoutez ici

Story Of A Sad Mermaid

Niariu

« Niariu » signifie « chat » en peul. C’est ainsi que l’entourage de l’artiste aimait l’appeler étant petite, elle qui n’a apparemment rien perdu de sa malice et de son caractère imprévisible. Sur son premier projet solo après son aventure aux côtés des Amazones d’Afrique, elle s’imprègne des cultures musicales guinéenne et américaine, avec la musique africaine et le reggae d’un côté, la soul et le RnB de l’autre, et les dilue dans une substance électronique discrète pour apprivoiser ses mots dans une atmosphère presque poétique. Nous vous avions fait découvrir le morceau « The Entrance ». 

Ecoutez ici

Glitterbeat_tak​:​til_2021

Glitterbeat Records

En plein bilan de ses activités en 2021, le label allemand Glitterbeat Records nous offre une compilation des dernières musiques de ses artistes en guise de cadeau de fin d’année. Axée sur la mission du label, qui consiste à mettre en valeur des genres contemporains des quatre coins du monde, Glitterbeat_tak:til_2021 présente des chansons du collectif brésilien Bixiga 70, du musicien malien Samba Touré, du groupe de rock sud-africain BLK JKS et de bien d’autres. 

Ecoutez ici

NO SKIPS

Dan Mwale, Sauceman Guluva

Dan Mwale et Sauceman Guluva ont annoncé sur leurs réseaux sociaux la veille de Noël qu’ils allaient sortir NO SKIPS. Les deux rappeurs sud-africains émergents ont coproduit et écrit l’ensemble du projet aux côtés de Niner Konnekt, qui a fourni des conseils sonores et une production exécutive que l’on ressent sur les beats lourds, fortement influencés par la trap. Sur sept titres, les deux artistes démontrent leur capacité à rapper fort avec attitude. 

Ecoutez ici

Bomboclaat

Tripa Gninnin

Tripa Gninnin est un rappeur né à Yopougon, quartier d’Abidjan à la rayonnance largement internationale. Si le jeune artiste avait jusqu’à récemment bâti sa réputation aux côtés de rappeurs et de drilleurs locaux et féroces, comme Himra alias « La Machette », son nouvel EP Bomboclaat le voit prendre un virage artistique considérable vers… le reggae. Cependant, les quatre nouveaux titres ne perdent pas l’ADN bad boy nouchi du rappeur, qui reste un bad man avant tout. Mention spéciale à « Connection London », qui réussit l’exploit de mélanger une rythmique drill à des accords reggae. 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé