→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Combo Chimbita seeks Yemaya in “Yo Me Lo Merezco”

In the midst of our era’s anxieties, the New-Yorker Colombian band tries to find healing in its new video and upcoming album. 

Following “Memoria”, “Babalawo” and “Oya”, “Yo Me Lo Merezco” is the fourth and last in a series of auto-fictional narrative videos with prominent queer and trans performance artists from Combo Chimbita’s upcoming album IRÉ. The track features Teresa Karolina seeking abundance from Yemaya, orisha of nourishing waters, while the video follows her emerging from her everyday routine and into a dreamy dimension.

I wrote this song as a gift to myself as I try everyday to better understand who I am, my worth, my calling, and what I have to offer in this world,” lead singer Carolina Oliveros explains. “It’s a healing proclamation to firmly believe in oneself and walk headstrong with the radiance we know shines deeply through our spirit. That revelation is something I had to summon yesterday, remember today, and will continue to honor tomorrow.”

Combo Chimbita is the creative unity of Carolina Oliveros (vocals, guacharaca), Niño Lento es Fuego (guitar), Prince of Queens (bass, synthesizers) and Dilemastronauta (drums), all Rooted in Colombia and based in New York. Just like their 2019 album Ahomale, IRÉ will be released via ANTI- Records, and will address “the anxieties of systemic racism, capitalist decadence, totalitarian governments and the attempted erasure of queer and trans people” through the band’s signature psychedelic rock influenced cumbia. The writing of the album began in 2020 in the middle of Covid and Black Lives Matter protests, and ended in Puerto Rico where the band witnessed the “suffocating complexities of the island’s imperialist tether to the U.S.

IRÉ by Combo Chimbita, out on January 28 via ANTI- Records

Listen to “Yo Me Lo Merezco” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Combo Chimbita recherche Yemaya dans « Yo Me Lo Merezco »

Au beau milieu des angoisses de notre époque, le groupe colombien new-yorkais aspire à l’apaisement dans son nouveau clip, annonçant un prochain album. 

Après « Memoria », « Babalawo » et « Oya », « Yo Me Lo Merezco » est le quatrième et dernier épisode d’une série de vidéos narratives fictionnelles mettant en avant des artistes queer et trans, toutes tirées IRÉ,le prochain album de Combo Chimbita. Le morceau met en scène Teresa Karolina cherchant l’apaisement auprès de Yemaya, orisha des eaux nourricières, tandis que le clip la suit sortant de sa routine quotidienne pour entrer dans une dimension imaginée et rêveuse.

« J’ai écrit cette chanson comme un cadeau à moi-même pendant que j’essaie chaque jour de mieux comprendre qui je suis, ma valeur, ma vocation et ce que j’ai à offrir dans ce monde », explique la chanteuse principale Carolina Oliveros. « C’est une quête de guérison pour pouvoir croire fermement en soi et marcher la tête haute avec la radiance qui brille puissamment dans notre esprit. Cette révélation est quelque chose que j’ai dû convoquer hier, dont je me souviens aujourd’hui, et que je continuerai à honorer demain. »

Combo Chimbita est composé de Carolina Oliveros (voix, guacharaca), Niño Lento es Fuego (guitare), Prince of Queens (basse, synthétiseurs) et Dilemastronauta (batterie), ayant tous des racines en Colombie et leurs bases à New York. Tout comme leur album Ahomale de 2019, IRÉ sortira sur ANTI- Records et abordera « les angoisses du racisme systémique, de la décadence capitaliste, des gouvernements totalitaires et de la tentative d’effacement des personnes queer et trans » à travers la cumbia psychédélique et rock qui fait la signature du groupe. L’écriture de l’album a commencé en 2020 au milieu du Covid et des manifestations Black Lives Matter et s’est terminée à Porto Rico, où le groupe a été témoin des « complexités étouffantes de l’attache impérialiste de l’île aux États-Unis ».

IRÉ de Combo Chimbita, disponible le 28 janvier sur ANTI- Records

Écoutez « Yo Me Lo Merezco » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé