→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Total Hip Replacement gets down with Kwashibu Area Band on "Smoke and Mirrors”

A Danish-Ghanaian collaboration for a reggae-highlife throwback. 

Written and recorded in a single session, “Smoke and Mirrors” is the result of a meeting between the Danish musicians of Total Hip Replacement and the Kwashibu Area Band, an iconic Ghanaian highlife group led by multi-instrumentalist Kwame Yeboah. This first single is a unique track, adding a touch of funk/highlife to the groovy reggae of the Total Hip musicians. The track also announces the release of a new album by the group in the spring of 2022.

For too long, we have lived in uncertainty and inaction”, says Victor Hosbond, lead singer of Total Hip Replacement, about the inspiration behind the track. “So we felt writing and recording “Smoke and Mirrors” was a great sense of relief. To just go into the studio and play music together gave us some power back in our hands and minds and sparked a sense of hope for better days to come. For me, that feeling of taking action is the glory of the song.”

Total Hip Replacement is a seven-piece band, known in Denmark for its energetic concerts. The band has played extensively in Scandinavia, but also in Africa, especially in Ghana where they met Kwame Yeboah and his entourage. Having collaborated with artists such as Pat Thomas, Cat Stevens, Craig David and Patrice, the musician is a pillar of Ghanaian music. 

Listen to “Smoke and Mirrors” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Total Hip Replacement et le Kwashibu Area Band réunis sur « Smoke and Mirrors »

Une collaboration danoise-ghanéenne pour un résultat reggae-highlife de qualité !

Écrit et enregistré en une seule session, « Smoke and Mirrors » est le résultat d’une rencontre entre les musiciens danois de Total Hip Replacement avec le Kwashibu Area Band, groupe ghanéen iconique de highlife mené par le multi-instrumentaliste Kwame Yeboah. Ce premier single est un titre unique en son genre, ajoutant un touche de funk/highlife au reggae groovy des musiciens du Total Hip. Le morceau annonce d’ailleurs la sortie d’un nouvel album du groupe au printemps 2022.

« Nous avons vécu pendant trop longtemps dans l’incertitude et l’inaction », explique Victor Hosbond, chanteur de Total Hip Replacement, à propos de l’inspiration derrière ce titre. « Écrire et enregistrer ce morceau fût une sorte de renaissance. Le simple fait d’aller au studio et de jouer de la musique ensemble nous a redonné de l’énergie et de la confiance en l’avenir. Le sentiment d’être acteur de son futur résume pour moi très bien ce titre. » 

Total Hip Replacement est un orchestre de sept musiciens, connu au Danemark pour ses concerts énergiques. Le groupe a beaucoup joué en Scandinavie mais également en Afrique, et surtout au Ghana, où ses membres ont pu rencontrer Kwame Yeboah et son entourage. Ayant collaboré avec des artistes comme Pat Thomas, Cat Stevens, Craig David ou encore Patrice, le musicien est un pilier de la musique ghanéenne. 

Écoutez « Smoke and Mirrors » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé