fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2023 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Waahli
1 week ago

Waahli takes us to Havana in his mini‑film, "Men Sou Yo"

Riding the momentum of his latest album Soap Box, the Canadian rapper Waahli releases a new video that brings to life the atmosphere of his concert in Cuba with the track “Men Sou Yo”. Premiere and interview.

Last October, Waahli finally released Soap Box, his second album made during pandemic. “There were so many ups and downs, but in the middle there was Soap Box,” says the artist who has so-far brought us feel-good tracks including “Bliyé-Sa” or the more political and dramatic ones like “Rad”. Eclectic and entertaining, Soap Box is an all-around album: “it includes Caribbean rap or bluesy swing, nostalgic and celebratory pieces, all sung in English, French and Haitian Creole.” While finishing the album, Waahli accepted an invitation to the Havana World Music Festival to shoot the video for “Men Sou Yo,” a highly symbolic song of 2018, and his first in Haitian Creole. “This song is about my diasporic journey,” he says. “I’m proud of my history and the things we’ve accomplished, like being the first black republic in the Americas to gain independence in 1804.” Shooting this video on Cuban soil reinforces its meaning, as it is also a “tribute to the important presence of this Haitian community that migrated to eastern Cuba during the slave revolution.

Directed by Montrealer Bruno Destombes, the video transports us to different moments of the journey; a magical moment on stage against the backdrop of a power outage, a gentle awakening in a hotel room, a sunny trip in a vintage cab, a relaxing moment with friends on the bus or a freestyle backstage… Everything follows in a coherent manner in a dynamic style. “By choosing to treat this song and capturing it in different forms,” the director explains, “live at the festival, in rehearsal in the studio and in the way of a more classic music video, we let ourselves be carried and we find ourselves in different contexts where the music is the main character.” With Waahli’s Creole rap as a common thread, we savor different slices of life of this fine team in a mini-film that is sufficiently rhythmic to “keep the spectator on the alert until the end.”

Soap Box available here.

Waahli – Men Sou Yo (Official Short Film) ft. Sam I Am
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

fbpx → Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2023 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Waahli
Il y a 1 semaine

Waahli tourne le clip augmenté de « Men Sou Yo » à La Havane

Dans l’élan de son dernier album Soap Box, le rappeur canadien Waahli sort une nouvelle vidéo qui retranscrit l’ambiance de son concert à Cuba tout en clippant le morceau « Men Sou Yo ». Première et interview.

En octobre dernier, Waahli sortait enfin Soap Box, second album né en période pandémique. « Il y a eu tellement de hauts et de bas mais au milieu il y a eu Soap Box », nous dit l’artiste qui nous a habitué à des morceaux purement feel-good comme « Bliyé-Sa » ou d’autres plus politico-dramatiques comme « Rad ». Eclectique et divertissant, Soap Box est un album tout-terrain : « on y retrouve du rap antillais ou du swing bluesy, des pièces nostalgiques et célébratoires, le tout chanté en anglais, francais et créole haïtien ». Au milieu du process de finition de l’album, Waahli profitait d’une invitation au festival Havana World Music pour tourner la vidéo de « Men Sou Yo », un morceau hautement symbolique de 2018, son premier en créole haïtien. « Cette chanson parle de mon parcours diasporique », raconte-t-il. « Je suis fier de mon histoire et des choses que nous avons accomplies, comme celle d’être la première république noire des Amériques à gagner son indépendance en 1804. » Tourner ce clip en terre cubaine en renforce le sens, car il s’agit aussi d’un « hommage à la présence importante de cette communauté haïtienne qui a migré à l’est de Cuba pendant la révolution des esclaves ».

Réalisé par le Montréalais Bruno Destombes, la vidéo nous téléporte à différents moments du voyage ; une dernière minute magique sur scène sur fond de panne d’électricité, un réveil en douceur dans une chambre d’hôtel, un trip ensoleillé en taxi, un moment de détente entre potes dans le bus ou un freestyle en backstage… Tout s’enchaîne de manière cohérente dans un exercice de style dynamique que nous explique le réalisateur : « en choisissant de traiter cette chanson et en la capturant sous différentes formes, live au festival, en répétition en studio et à la façon d’un vidéoclip plus classique, on se laisse porter et on se retrouve dans différents contextes où la musique est le personnage principal ». Avec le rap créole de Waahli comme fil rouge, on savoure différentes tranches de vie de cette fine équipe dans un mini-film suffisamment rythmé pour « garder le spectateur en alerte jusqu’à la fin ».

L’album Soap Box est toujours disponible ici.

Waahli – Men Sou Yo (Official Short Film) ft. Sam I Am
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé