→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

9 albums to discover this week

This week, rap takes centre stage with Ghana's Kofi Mole and Nigeria's Yvng Nova. Josiah De Disciple and Dominowe celebrate South African club sounds, while Combo Chimbita focuses on Colombia, Imarhan on Algeria and Re.Decay on eight different countries. Finally, Parisian label Mawimbi remixes its first album and Dowdelin presents its Creole Afrofuturism. 

Knackaveli

Kofi Mole

Following his freestyle series #MoleMondays which culminated in the release of a 20-track album, Ghanaian rapper Kofi Mole drops his new project Knackaveli, titled in reference to “Makaveli”, the great 2Pac’s alias. The eight tracks are Ghanaian hip-hop at its finest: bouncy and bass-heavy instrumentals, fire verses in Twi and sharp rap skills from guests Joey B, Edem and Pappy Kojo

Listen here

Aboogi

Imarhan

With this third album recorded in its hometown of Tamanrasset, Algeria, rock band Imarhan manipulates the rites and ancestral heritage of the Tuareg. “Aboogi reflects the colours of Tamanrasset, what we experience on a daily basis,” explains band leader Sadam. “We give space to the wind and natural energies, to the sun and the sand. We want to express their colours through music.” With sandy guitar riffs and haunting choruses, Imarhan sings the poetry of the great outdoors and explores connections to nature, hope and struggle. 

Listen here

Way Out East

Re.decay

Re.decay is the brainchild of Owen Ross and Emanuel Bender, each an established musician in their own right. Way Out East, the Berlin-based duo’s new project, features 15 artists from eight different countries and three continents, with talents from Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa and more. “The lockdowns all over the world made us feel so isolated, but seeing all these incredible international collaborations come together made us feel more connected and inspired than ever”, says Bender.

Listen here

Because Why Not

Yvng Nova

Abuja-hailing Yvng Nova unveils his debut album, following a string of singles and the Care Package EP. Influenced by artists like Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, and J. Cole, the different tracks see him use inventive wordplay, smart rhymes, and interesting storytelling through moments of love, lust, alcoholism, self-doubt and ultimately the feelings of being lost and alone. “This album is a look into the mind of an overthinker”, he says. 

Listen here

UMTHAKATHI

Dominowe

Combining the two Zulu words “thaka” (mix) and “muthi” (medicine), Dominowe’s UMTHAKATHI has two meanings: one positive and one negative, embodying the witch doctors who prey on suffering, but also the doctors who focus on care and healing. The project, released via Durban-based label Gqom Oh!, makes reference to his distinctive bewitching style of gqom and his therapeutic powers as a producer.

Listen here

IRÉ

Combo Chimbita

Following their 2019 album Ahomale, Colombian New York-based band Combo Chimbita unveils IRÉ via ANTI- Records. The project addresses “the anxieties of systemic racism, capitalist decadence, totalitarian governments and the attempted erasure of queer and trans people” through the band’s signature psychedelic rock influenced cumbia. The writing of the album had started in 2020 in the middle of Covid and Black Lives Matter protests, and ended in Puerto Rico where the band witnessed the “suffocating complexities of the island’s imperialist tether to the U.S.”

Listen here

Bubbling Remixed

Mawimbi Records

In 2021, Parisian label Mawimbi Records had unveiled Bubbling, a first album after eight years of existence. On Bubbling Remixed, electronic music maestros such as Jo Bissa, Pouvoir Magique, Afro Pupo, Daniel Monaco and Mr Boom reinterpret the hard-hitting tracks of Ghanaian K.O.G, Morena Leraba from Lesotho and Malian singer Fatim Kouyaté, giving the debut album a funky, clubby second life.

Listen here

Lanmou Lanmou

Dowdelin

To make the language of our roots, that of the country in which we live, and that of the globalized culture, cohabit to embody the cultural hybrid that we are,” has been French group Dowdelin’s goal since 2018. Their new album Lanmou Lanmou pulses Afro-Caribbean polyrhythms with Creole jazz and future-funk grooves, with the importance of love as a central theme. “Touring, performing live really shaped the sound of Lanmou Lanmou.” explains David Kiledjian, band co-founder. “I think that is what made this record more alive, organic and danceable.”

Listen here

Sounds Of Gomora

Josiah De Disciple

A former member of amapiano pioneering duo JazziDisciples alongside Mr JazziQ, Josiah De Disciple unveils an eight-track project paying tribute to the Alexandra township, nicknamed “Gomora” by its inhabitants for its high gang presence. The South African producer fuses the genre’s old and new-school moods, featuring heavyweights (Reece Madlisa, Zuma) and newcomers (Dqofficial, Themba Mbokazi). 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

11 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, le rap est à l’honneur avec le ghanéen Kofi Mole, le Nigérian Yvng Nova et les français Benjamin Epps, Kaaris et Kalash Criminel. Josiah De Disciple et Dominowe célèbrent les sons clubs sud-africains, tandis Combo Chimbita se tourne vers la Colombie, Imarhan vers l’Algérie et Re.Decay vers huit pays différents. Enfin, le label Mawimbi remixe son premier album et Dowdelin nous présente son afrofuturisme créole. 

Knackaveli

Kofi Mole

Après sa série de freestyle #MoleMondays ayant abouti à la sortie d’un album de 20 titres, le rappeur ghanéen Kofi Mole présente son nouveau projet Knackaveli, intitulé en référence à « Makaveli », le pseudonyme du grand 2Pac. Les huit titres honorent le blason du hip-hop ghanéen avec des instrumentales énergiques et pétries de basses, des couplets brûlants en Twi, et les compétences rapologiques aiguisées des invités Joey B, Edem et Pappy Kojo.

Ecoutez ici

Aboogi

Imarhan

Avec ce troisième album enregistré dans sa ville natale de Tamanrasset en Algérie, le groupe de rock Imarhan manipule les rites et l’ancestralité des Touaregs. « Aboogi reflète les couleurs de Tamanrasset, ce que nous vivons au quotidien », explique le leader du groupe, Sadam. « Nous donnons de l’espace au vent et aux énergies naturelles, au soleil et au sable. Nous voulons exprimer leurs couleurs à travers la musique ». Sur des riffs de guitare ensablés et des chœurs envoûtants, le groupe y chante sa poésie des grands espaces et parle du lien à la nature.

Ecoutez ici

Way Out East

Re.decay

Re.decay est né de l’imagination d’Owen Ross et d’Emanuel Bender, chacun étant un musicien reconnu dans son domaine. Way Out East, le nouveau projet du duo berlinois, met en scène 15 artistes de huit pays différents et de trois continents, réunissant des talents du Ghana, du Nigeria, de l’Afrique du Sud et plus encore. « Les confinements dans le monde entier nous ont donné l’impression d’être isolés, mais voir toutes ces incroyables collaborations internationales se réunir nous a fait nous sentir plus connectés et inspirés que jamais », déclare Bender.

Ecoutez ici

Because Why Not

Yvng Nova

Yvng Nova, originaire d’Abuja, dévoile enfin son premier album après une série de singles et son EP Care Package. Influencés par des artistes tels qu’Eminem, Kendrick Lamar et J. Cole, les différents morceaux le voient utiliser des jeux de mots inventifs, des rimes malines et un storytelling intéressant à travers des moments d’amour, de luxure, d’alcoolisme, de doute et de sentiments d’être perdu et seul. « Cet album est un aperçu de l’esprit d’un penseur excessif », dit-il. 

Ecoutez ici

UMTHAKATHI

Dominowe

Combinant les deux mots zoulous « thaka » (mélange) et « muthi » (médecine), l’UMTHAKATHI de Dominowe a deux significations : l’une positive et l’autre négative, incarnant les sorciers responsables de souffrance, mais aussi les guérisseurs qui se concentrent sur les soins et la réparation. Le projet, qui sort sur le label Gqom Oh! basé à Durban, fait référence à son style ensorcelant de gqom qui le caractérise, ainsi qu’à ses pouvoirs « thérapeutiques » en tant que producteur.

Ecoutez ici

IRÉ

Combo Chimbita

Faisant suite à leur album Ahomale paru en 2019, le nouvel album du groupe colombien / new-yorkais Combo Chimbita sort sur ANTI- Records. IRÉ aborde « les angoisses du racisme systémique, de la décadence capitaliste, des gouvernements totalitaires et de la tentative d’effacement des personnes queer et trans » à travers la cumbia psychédélique et rock qui fait la signature du groupe. L’écriture de l’album avait commencé en 2020 au milieu du Covid et des manifestations Black Lives Matter et s’est terminée à Porto Rico, où le groupe a été témoin des « complexités étouffantes de l’attache impérialiste de l’île aux États-Unis ».

Ecoutez ici

Bubbling Remixed

Mawimbi Records

En 2021, le label parisien Mawimbi Records avait dévoilé Bubbling, un premier album après huit ans d’existence. Sur Bubbling Remixed, des pointes de la musique électronique tels que Jo Bissa, Pouvoir Magique, Afro Pupo, Daniel Monaco et Mr Boom réinterprètent les morceaux percutants du ghanéen K.O.G, de Morena Leraba du Lesotho ou de la chanteuse malienne Fatim Kouyaté, offrant une seconde vie club et funky au premier album.

Ecoutez ici

VOUS ÊTES PAS CONTENTS ? TRIPLÉ

Benjamin Epps

Benjamin Epps est un rappeur gabonais originaire du quartier de Bellevue à Libreville, dont l’exposition en France a connu un essor particulier à la sortie du projet Fantôme avec chauffeur. Son nouvel EP VOUS ÊTES PAS CONTENTS ? TRIPLÉ, en référence direct à une interview du footballeur Kylian Mbappé, lui permet une nouvelle fois d’exposer ses talents rapologiques, fortement inspirés par le rap dit « old-school » à base de samples puissants, de percussions imposantes et de concours de punchlines. 

Ecoutez ici

Lanmou Lanmou

Dowdelin

« Faire cohabiter la langue de nos racines, celle du pays dans lequel nous vivons et celle de la culture mondialisée pour incarner l’hybride culturel que nous sommes », tel est l’objectif du groupe français Dowdelin. Leur nouvel album Lanmou Lanmou fait pulser les polyrythmies afro-caribéennes avec des grooves de jazz créole et de future-funk, avec l’amour comme thème central. « Les tournées, les concerts ont vraiment façonné le son de Lanmou Lanmou », explique David Kiledjian, co-fondateur du groupe. « Je pense que c’est ce qui a rendu ce disque plus vivant, organique et dansant. »

Ecoutez ici

Sounds Of Gomora

Josiah De Disciple

Ancien membre aux côtés de Mr JazziQ du duo JazziDisciples, pionnier de l’amapiano, Josiah De Disciple dévoile un projet de huit titres rendant hommage au township d’Alexandra, surnommé « Gomora » par ses habitants pour sa forte présence de gangs. Le producteur sud-africain alterene entre les ambiances old et new-school du genre, invitant des poids lourds (Reece Madlisa, Zuma) et des artistes émergeants (Dqofficial, Themba Mbokazi). 

Ecoutez ici

SVR

Kaaris, Kalash Criminel

Kaaris et Kalash Criminel, les deux boss du rap hardcore made in Sevran, dévoilent enfin un album commun après des années de collaborations. Au fil des morceaux, dont les titres donnent une idée de l’ambiance (« Tu dois des sous », « Apocalypse », « Les abymes », « Fiché S »), les rappeurs font ce qu’ils savent faire de mieux : livrer les punchlines les plus crues sur les instrumentales les plus sombres. On notera malgré tout quelques tentatives d’ouverture sur des morceaux comme « Goudronné » ou « Shooter ». 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé