→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Jazzanova reinterprets the sounds of Strata Records
Lyman Woodard

Jazzanova reinterprets the sounds of Strata Records

The Berlin-based production collective is set to unveil its take on the “true sound of Detroit”, inspired by the iconic Strata imprint. 

Strata Records rose from the ashes of Detroit’s tumultuous 1960s decline, leading to mass exodus of those who could afford to relocate out of the city. Following this event, American pianist Kenny Cox founded Strata as a community organization that initially ran food drives and jazz programs. Over four years, the label released no less than ten albums, most of which became huge critical and commercial successes with multiple reissues (notably by BBE Music).  

How does the Berlin-based production collective Jazzanova find itself reimagining songs from the iconic record label? DJ Amir, labelhead for 180-Proof Records which in 2011 began reissuing the Strata Records back catalog, has the answer: “I couldn’t think of a more perfect band to do this work, because they brought passion and love to the project. And on top of that, they know how to play.” Founded in 1995 by its five members, Jazzanova came together as a collaboration between DJs and producers inspired by their love for “funk, jazz, disco, Latin… all kinds of things – but mostly old records”, founding member Stefan Leisering explains. For him, there is no contradiction with a Berlin-based collective celebrating the legacy of an obscure jazz label from Detroit: “because we aren’t just musicians and remixers, we are also record collectors, and I love listening to stuff that isn’t even available, because it’s obscure and lost.”

This is no “covers” album, as Jazzanova’s opening take on Lyman Woodard Organization’s “Creative Musicians” makes clear from its Afrobeat inspired horn arrangements, drum track and syncopated tempo. The vocalist for these sessions is Sean Haefeli, who originally hails from Indianapolis. In addition to this vibrant track, Strata Records – The Sound of Detroit – Reimagined By Jazzanova will feature 10 other “reimaginings”, all exploring highlife, latin music, spiritual jazz, blues, soul and many other genres that made the signature sound of Strata Records. 

Strata Records – The Sound of Detroit – Reimagined By Jazzanova, out on April 22. 

Listen to “Creative Musicians” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Strata Records – The Sound of Detroit – Reimagined By Jazzanova (Official Trailer)

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Jazzanova ressuscite l’héritage du label Strata Records
Lyman Woodard

Jazzanova ressuscite l’héritage du label Strata Records

Le collectif de production berlinois s’apprête à dévoiler sa version du « vrai son de Détroit », inspirée de l’emblématique label Strata Records. 

Strata Records est né des cendres du tumultueux déclin de Detroit dans les années 1960, entraînant un exode massif des chanceux ayant les moyens de quitter la ville. A la suite de cet événement, le pianiste américain Kenny Cox a fondé Strata en tant qu’association locale qui, au départ, organisait des collectes de nourriture et des concerts de jazz. En quatre ans d’existence, le label a publié moins de dix albums, pour la plupart devenus des succès critiques et commerciaux conséquents, grâce à de multiples rééditions (notamment par BBE Music).  

Comment le collectif de production berlinois Jazzanova s’est-il retrouvé à réimaginer les titres de ce label emblématique ? DJ Amir, responsable du label 180-Proof Records (qui a commencé en 2011 à rééditer le back catalogue de Strata Records), a la réponse : « Je ne pouvais pas imaginer un groupe plus parfait pour faire ce travail, car ils ont apporté passion et amour au projet. Et en plus de cela, ils savent jouer. » Fondé en 1995 par ses cinq membres, Jazzanova est né d’une collaboration entre DJs et producteurs inspirés par leur amour pour « le funk, le jazz, le disco, le latin… toutes sortes de choses – mais surtout les vieux disques », explique Stefan Leisering, membre fondateur. Pour lui, il n’y a aucune contradiction à ce qu’un collectif basé à Berlin célèbre l’héritage d’un obscur label de jazz de Détroit : « parce que nous ne sommes pas seulement des musiciens et des remixeurs, nous sommes aussi des collectionneurs de disques, et j’aime écouter des choses qui ne sont même pas disponibles, parce qu’elles sont obscures et perdues. »

Il ne s’agit pas d’un album de reprises, comme le montre clairement le premier titre « Creative Musicians » inspiré par la Lyman Woodard Organization, avec ses arrangements de cuivres aux couleurs afrobeat, sa batterie et son tempo syncopé. Le chanteur de ces sessions est Sean Haefeli, originaire d’Indianapolis. En plus de ce morceau dynamique, Strata Records – The Sound of Detroit – Reimagined By Jazzanova présentera 10 autres « réimaginations », explorant le highlife, la musique latine, le jazz spirituel, le blues, la soul et bien d’autres genres qui ont fait la signature sonore de Strata Records. 

Strata Records – The Sound of Detroit – Reimagined By Jazzanova, disponible le 22 avril. 

Écoutez « Creative Musicians » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Strata Records – The Sound of Detroit – Reimagined By Jazzanova (Official Trailer)

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé