→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Obongjayar announces long awaited debut album

With “Try”, a new music video with a mythological tinge, the London-based singer unveils the second single of his soon to be released project Some Nights I Dream of Doors

After Sweetness, a joint EP with Nigerian producer Sarz, and the particularly cinematic video for “Message In A Hammer“, Obongjayar delights his fans by announcing the title and release date of his debut full-length album: Some Nights I Dream of Doors. As a preview of this anticipated project, the Nigerian-born, London-based artist has unveiled the video for “Try”. 

About the Afrobeat, soul and hip-hop influenced track, he comments: “When you’re a kid, there are so many possibilities. You can be a pilot or an astronaut, anything is possible. Then when you’re twenty, you realise you’re probably not going to be a brain surgeon; reality starts to set in. That’s what the song and this album are about – where do those feelings go? At what point do we lose our innocence, our wide-eyed view of the world?” The surreal visuals feature the singer in mythological form, singing  his lyrics with a theatrical touch. 

While his last project Which Way is Forward? questioned his own identity and position in the art world, Some Nights I Dream of Doors will evoke Obongjayar’s “true coming of age“. The artist will delve into another musical realm, exploring themes ranging from his family’s expectations to the self-centeredness of our politicians.

Some Nights I Dream of Doors by Obongjayar, out on May 13 via September Recordings. 

Listen to “Try” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Obongjayar annonce enfin son premier album

Avec « Try », clip à l’allure mythologique, le chanteur londonien dévoile le deuxième single de son projet Some Nights I Dream of Doors, à paraître très prochainement. 

Après Sweetness, un EP en commun avec le producteur nigérian Sarz, et le clip particulièrement cinématographique de « Message In A Hammer », Obongjayar fait le plaisir de ses fans en annonçant le titre et la date de sortie de son premier album long format : Some Nights I Dream of Doors. En avant-première de ce projet attendu, l’artiste né au Nigéria et basé à Londres a dévoilé le clip de « Try ». 

À propos de ce titre, aux influences afrobeat, soul et hip-hop, il commente : « Quand vous êtes enfant, il y a tellement de possibilités. Vous pouvez être pilote ou astronaute, tout est envisageable. Puis à vingt ans, vous réalisez que vous n’allez probablement pas devenir chirurgien du cerveau ; la réalité commence à s’installer. C’est le sujet de la chanson et de cet album – où vont ces sentiments ? À quel moment perdons-nous notre innocence, notre regard écarquillé sur le monde ? » Le clip, aux allures mythologiques et surréalistes, met en scène le chanteur dans différents costumes, scandant ses paroles de manière théâtrale. 

Alors que sur son dernier projet Which Way is Forward?, il questionnait sa propre identité et sa position dans le monde artistique, Some Nights I Dream of Doors évoquera le « véritable passage à l’âge adulte » d’Obongjayar. L’artiste poursuivra ses recherches musicales, explorant des thèmes variés allant de ses attentes familiales jusqu’à l’égocentrisme de nos politiciens.

Some Nights I Dream of Doors de Obongjayar, disponible le 13 mai sur September Recordings. 

Ecoutez « Try » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé