fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Flora Purim returns with If You Will, a new Brazilian jazz album

A key figure of Brazilian jazz fusion, the singer is set to release her first studio album in over 15 years via Strut Records.

If You Will was recorded primarily in Curitiba and São Paulo. A family affair, the record brought together many of Flora Purim’s closest circle of musicians including drummer and percussionist Airto Moreira, guitarist José Neto, her daughter Diana Purim on vocals and percussionist Celso Alberti. Conceived as a celebration of her music and life, the album is said to be the latest chapter in the Brazilian singer’s long career, exploring new compositions and fresh versions of her favorite personal songs. 

The title track “If You Will”, already available, revisits a song from her collaborations with American pianist George Duke, while other songs will draw inspiration from other artists such as Chick Corea and Claudia Villela. 

As well as her celebrated partnership with Airto Moreira and her early days with Quarteto Novo, Flora has worked with Stan Getz, Gil Evans, Miriam Makeba, Dizzy Gillespie’s United Nation Orchestra, Uruguayan band Opa and many more. With a career spanning over more than 60 years, her solo albums on American label Milestone remain true jazz fusion classics. 

If You Will by Flora Purim, out on April 29 via Strut Records

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Flora Purim revient avec If You Will, nouvel album de jazz brésilien

Figure emblématique du jazz fusion brésilien, la chanteuse s’apprête à sortir son premier album studio depuis plus de 15 ans sur Strut Records.

If You Will a été enregistré principalement à Curitiba et à São Paulo. Une affaire de famille, le disque a réuni de nombreux musiciens du cercle le plus proche de Flora Purim, dont Airto Moreira, batteur et percussionniste, le guitariste José Neto, sa fille Diana Purim au chant et le percussionniste Celso Alberti. Conçu comme une célébration de sa musique et de sa vie, cet album est censé être l’ultime chapitre de la longue carrière de la chanteuse brésilienne, qui présentera de nouvelles compositions et de nouvelles versions de ses chansons personnelles préférées.

Le titre éponyme « If You Will », déjà disponible, reprend la chanson d’une de ses collaborations avec le pianiste américain George Duke, tandis que d’autres chansons s’inspireront d’autres artistes tels que Chick Corea et Claudia Villela.

Outre son célèbre partenariat avec Airto Moreira et ses débuts avec le Quarteto Novo, Flora a travaillé avec Stan Getz, Gil Evans, Miriam Makeba, l’United Nation Orchestra de Dizzy Gillespie, le groupe uruguayen Opa et bien d’autres. Avec une carrière qui s’étend sur plus de 60 ans, ses albums solo sur le label américain Milestone restent de véritables classiques du jazz fusion. 

If You Will de Flora Purim, disponible le 29 août sur Strut Records

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé