→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

7 albums to discover this week

This week, London-based artist Alewya drops her first project, while Ghanaian rapper M.anifest is on his fifth album. Msaki evokes South African traumas, Kizz Daniel sings about love and Muthoni Drummer Queen talks about culture. Myele Manzanza revisits jazz and Nyege Nyege Tapes explore the traditions of the Buganda kingdom. 

Panther in Mode

Alewya

An exploration into the world of one of the most exciting new artists on the UK scene, Panther in Mode is the debut EP from London-based artist, illustrator and sculptor Alewya. Born in Saudi Arabia to an Egyptian father and an Ethiopian mother, on this six-track project the artist blurs the lines between African-derived rhythms and London electronic sounds. The release of this EP follows the release of the singles “Play” and “Spirit_X”.

Listen here

Buganda Royal Music Revival

Nyege Nyege Tapes

Tapping into a tradition that dates back to the 14th century, the Buganda Royal Music Ensemble is a revival of a scattered heritage. Throughout the album, we’re introduced deeper to an array of instruments and textures, like the buzzing Bugandan lyre (endongo), the resonant akadinda xylophone with its 21 large wooden keys and Temutewo Mukasa’s restless praise sung with his harp (ennanga), the hand-made gourd trumpet (amakondere), the entenga “drum-chime” and its core set of 12 drums tuned like the amadinda xylophone, or the tightly intertwined melodies of the flutes ensemble (abalere).

Listen here

Platinumb Heart : Open and Beating

Msaki

South African singer-songwriter Msaki unveils a dense double project, set in the injustices and the beauty of contemporary her country. Her new album is a sonic condemnation of the Marikana massacre; a South African tragedy taking place in the country’s North-West province in 2012. Msaki uses her voice and her skill as a musician to bring to life and judgement the stories of the past, all while endlessly experimenting with the sounds of the future. As she says it herself in our interview, “if you’re attached to any kind of genre in its purest form, you will hate me because I’m gonna mess with it in all imaginable ways.”

Listen here

Barnabas

Kizz Daniel

Kizz Daniel’s Barnabas comes two months after the Nigerian singer released fan favourite “Lie”. The project houses seven tracks in line with the current Afrobeats trends. Producers like Blaise Beatz, Reward Beatz, Young Jon, Roc legion, Philkeyz and Coublon are renowned talents who worked to see that this body of work is worth the hype around the artist.

Listen here

Madina To The Universe

M.anifest

The iconic Ghanaian rapper M.anifest pays tribute to his hometown with a fifth studio album, going beyond spatial geography and exploring the hidden places of his mind, heart and soul. From the highlife-infused “Confusion”, which speaks about the beautiful chaos of living in Accra, the sweet and sour “Weeping Clouds”, the loving “Game Over” and “La Vida”, the album is an energetic yet touching portrait of what fascinates, preoccupies and drives the award-winning rapper. As he told us in an interview, it came after he went “back to his creative essence”. 

Listen here

Crisis & Opportunity, Vol. 2 – Peaks

Myele Manzanza

Myele Manzanza‘s new record was primarily recorded with a crew of New Zealand expats based in Europe. “We had a concert booked in Poland and when there was a lift of the lockdown last year to travel  we knew it was now or never. Because one of the band members lives in Helsinki and another one lives in Berlin – Berlin became the most logical place to rehearse, convene and record the album. In terms of the music I’d initially written five or six tunes with that band in mind but I was getting a bit of writer’s block.  Then after a while I thought “I’m not going to overthink this – I’m going to allow time for the four of us to just play. I might give a little music direction like start in A minor – Play! and then something might happen in the last 15 seconds before a jam evolves off”, he told us in an interview. 

Listen here

River

Muthoni Drummer Queen

Muthoni Drummer Queen’s new album takes its name from the artist’s constant evolution, faith and thirst for experience. “A lot of cultures believe in the idea of going back to the roots, like water forming a natural cycle, coming down from the mountains to form rivers, oceans, and then evaporating back to where it came from,” she says. “But I believe that we never really leave our source, that it is embedded in us, that we carry it wherever we are.” To bring this new project to life, she has enlisted the likes of Swiss production duo GR! & Hook. It is a partnership that has been going on since 2013 and lays the foundations for a mix between electronic sounds and organic African music. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

7 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine, l'artiste londonienne Alewya sort son premier projet, tandis que le Ghanéen M.anifest en est à son cinquième album. Msaki évoque les traumatismes de l’Afrique du Sud, Kizz Daniel chante l’amour et Muthoni Drummer Queen parle de culture. Myele Manzanza explore le jazz et les Nyege Nyege Tapes les traditions du royaume du Buganda.

Panther in Mode

Alewya

Une exploration dans l’univers de l’une des nouvelles artistes les plus excitantes de la nouvelle scène britannique, Panther in Mode est le premier EP de l’illustratrice et sculptrice londonienne Alewya. Née en Arabie Saoudite d’un père égyptien et d’une mère éthiopienne, sur ce projet de six morceaux, l’artiste brouille les pistes entre les rythmes d’origine africaine et les sonorités électroniques londoniennes. La sortie de cet EP fait suite aux sorties des singles « Play » et « Spirit_X ».

Ecoutez ici

Buganda Royal Music Revival

Nyege Nyege Tapes

Offrant un regard transversal sur le passé et le présent, la compilation Buganda Royal Music Revival rassemble des enregistrements réalisés entre la fin des années 1940 et 1966 ainsi que des morceaux de ces artistes qui perpétuent la tradition du royaume du Buganda. Nous sommes initiés à un éventail d’instruments et de textures, comme le bourdonnement de la lyre bugandaise (endongo), le xylophone akadinda ou les louanges agitées de Temutewo Mukasa chantées avec sa harpe (ennanga). 

Ecoutez ici

Platinumb Heart : Open and Beating

Msaki

L’auteure-compositeure-interprète sud-africaine Msaki dévoile un double projet dense, inspiré par les injustices et la beauté de son pays contemporain. Son nouvel album est une condamnation sonore du massacre de Marikana, une tragédie sud-africaine survenue dans la province du Nord-Ouest du pays en 2012. Msaki utilise sa voix et son talent de musicienne pour donner vie et jugement aux histoires du passé, tout en expérimentant sans cesse les sons du futur. Comme elle le dit elle-même dans notre interview, « si vous êtes attaché à un genre quelconque dans sa forme la plus pure, vous allez me détester parce que je vais le bousculer de toutes les manières imaginables ».

Ecoutez ici

Barnabas

Kizz Daniel

Barnabas de Kizz Daniel arrive deux mois après que le chanteur nigérian ait sorti l’énorme tube « Lie ». Le projet comporte sept titres en phase avec les tendances afrobeats actuelles. Des producteurs comme Blaise Beatz, Reward Beatz, Young Jon, Roc legion, Philkeyz et Coublon sont des talents renommés qui ont œuvré pour que cet ensemble de travaux soit à la hauteur de la hype autour de l’artiste. 

Ecoutez ici

Madina To The Universe

M.anifest

Le rappeur ghanéen emblématique M.anifest rend hommage à sa ville natale avec un cinquième album studio, allant au-delà de la géographie spatiale et explorant les lieux cachés de son esprit, de son cœur et de son âme. De la chanson « Confusion », qui évoque le chaos de la vie à Accra, à l’aigre-doux « Weeping Clouds », en passant par les romantiques « Game Over » et « La Vida », l’album est un portrait énergique et touchant de ce qui fascine, préoccupe et motive le rappeur primé. Comme il nous l’a dit dans une interview, le disque est né après qu’il soit « revenu à son essence créative ». 

Ecoutez ici

Crisis & Opportunity, Vol. 2 – Peaks

Myele Manzanza

Le nouveau disque de Myele Manzanza a été principalement enregistré avec une équipe d’expatriés néo-zélandais basés en Europe. « Comme l’un des membres du groupe vit à Helsinki et un autre à Berlin, Berlin est devenu l’endroit le plus logique pour répéter, se réunir et enregistrer l’album. Pour ce qui est de la musique, j’avais initialement écrit cinq ou six morceaux en pensant à ce groupe, mais j’avais un peu le syndrome de la page blanche. Puis, au bout d’un moment, je me suis dit : « Je ne vais pas trop réfléchir à tout ça, je vais nous laisser le temps de jouer tous les quatre. Je pourrais donner une petite direction musicale comme commencer en la mineur – Joue ! et puis quelque chose pourrait se produire dans les 15 dernières secondes avant qu’une jam n’évolue », nous a-t-il dit lors d’une interview.

Ecoutez ici

River

Muthoni Drummer Queen

Le nouvel album de Muthoni Drummer Queen tire son nom d’une perpétuelle évolution, d’une foi et d’une soif d’expériences de l’artiste. « Beaucoup de cultures croient à l’idée d’un retour aux sources, comme l’eau qui forme un cycle naturel, qui descend des montagnes pour former des rivières, des océans, puis s’évapore pour enfin retomber d’où elle vient », dit-elle. « Mais je crois qu’on ne quitte jamais vraiment notre source, qu’elle est ancrée en nous, que nous la portons peu importe où nous nous trouvons. » Pour donner vie à ce nouveau projet, elle s’est entourée du duo de producteurs suisses GR! & Hook. Une association qui dure depuis 2013 et qui pose les bases d’un mélange entre les sonorités électroniques frontales et l’organique des musiques africaines.

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé