→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Ghanaian‑Dutch artist Kay Slice fuses rap and afrobeats on “Slice M Go”

The rapper delivers quickfire rap flow and piercing lyrics over live instrumental soundscapes and energetic visuals shot in Accra.

Emerging as a fast-rising new artist in the Netherlands, Kay Slice is on a mission to spread his blend of hip-hop, soul, Ghanaian groove, afrobeats and highlife across the rest of the world. With a few singles to his credit, his music speaks to self-love, identity and connecting deeply with one’s roots. The rapper, singer and producer is now back with a brand new rap-afrobeats fusion track titled “Slice M Go”, as he gears up to unveil his solo debut album, due for release in January 2022.

Produced by the Rotterdam native himself, along with his three-piece live band, “Slice M Go” is an infectious fusion track driven by Kay Slice’s sharp delivery. Thematically, the song is about taking the negativity that is thrown at us, and transforming it into positivity. As Kay Slice explains, “This song is dear to me as it is my soundtrack to boldness. Being bold enough to believe in myself despite the disbelief and prejudice based on my appearance. Bold enough to quit my job to fully pursue music.”

The accompanying video sees Kay Slice collaborating with Ghanaian cinematographer Edward Pappoe for an energetic visual that was shot across three different landmarks in Ghana – Jamestown, Makola Market and Legon Botanical Garden. Staying true to the song’s theme, it uses the snapshot of Accra’s busy go-getting people as a microcosm of that spirit.

Listen to “Slice M Go” in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Le ghanéen‑néerlandais Kay Slice fusionne rap et afrobeats sur « Slice M Go »

Sur son instrumentale acoustique et un visuel énergique tourné à Accra, le rappeur nous livre un flow rapide et des lyrics percutants.

Kay Slice, nouvel artiste en pleine ascension aux Pays-Bas, a pour mission de diffuser son mélange de hip-hop, soul, groove ghanéen, afrobeats et highlife dans le reste du monde. Dans les quelques singles à son actif, il évoque l’amour de soi, l’identité et la connexion profonde avec ses racines. Le rappeur, chanteur et producteur est aujourd’hui de retour avec un tout nouveau titre de rap-afrobeats intitulé « Slice M Go », alors qu’il se prépare à dévoiler son premier album solo prévu pour janvier 2022.

Produit par le natif de Rotterdam lui-même, avec son groupe live de trois musiciens, « Slice M Go » est un morceau entraînant porté par un flow tranchant. Comme il l’explique, « Cette chanson m’est chère car elle est la bande-son de mon audace. L’audace de croire en moi malgré l’incrédulité et les préjugés liés à mon apparence. L’audace de quitter mon travail et de me consacrer entièrement à la musique. »

Pour la vidéo qui accompagne le morceau, Kay Slice a collaboré avec le directeur ghanéen Edward Pappoe pour réaliser un visuel rythmé, tourné dans trois lieux différents d’Accra : Jamestown, le Makola Market et le Legon Botanical Garden. L’agitation et l’énergie des habitants d’Accra sont ici utilisées pour représenter l’esprit revanchard du titre.

Écoutez « Slice M Go » dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé