→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

6 albums to discover this week

This week, in South Africa, DJ Maphorisa and Soa Mattrix drop new amapiano bangers, while in Nigeria, rapper LADIPOE and singer K-Brwn offer powerful new projects. ÌFÉ tells us about his adventures in a new album, American producer Terrace Martin honours great Black music in a new record, and the music of Cape Verdean singer Tchiss Lopes is reissued.

Providence

LADIPOE

Providence, LADIPOE’s second project, captures moments of growth, introspectiveness, love and life. The Nigerian rapper had announced the project with “Running” featuring Fireboy DML. Further exploring elements of his sonic palette, he provides fiery anthem “Afro Jigga” with a guest appearance from Rema before joining forces with Amaarae for “Love Essential” and making himself an open book for the finale title-track, delivering an extended verse packed with self-reflection. The project has been produced by beatmaking heavyweights such as Guilty Beatz (Beyonce, Ms Banks), Andre Vibez (Ayra Starr, Omah Lay), Ozedikus, Emit Fenn and Johnson ip.

Listen here

Tintswalo

DJ Maphorisa, Soa Mattrix

In the course of his impressive career, DJ Maphorisa has been able to cross eras and genres by continually joining forces with the South African young musical guard. This is the same stance he takes with Tintswalo, his new album in collaboration with Soa Mattrix. The 18 tracks on this amapiano project feature stalwarts of the music genre (Kabza De Small, MDU a.k.a. TRP, Mas Musiq, Semi Tee), as well as renowned singers and rappers (Blxckie, Boohle, Simmy, Nkosazana Daughter). The last eight tracks are purely instrumental, a return to the roots of the movement. 

Listen here

0000+0000

ÌFÉ

0000+0000 is ÌFÉ’s second album. Composed, produced and recorded entirely in New Orleans, the project features Herbie Hancock’s legendary percussionist Bill Summers, as well as Parisian Congolese vocalist and trendsetter Robby The Lord, Yoruban guitarist Saint Ezekiel, and The London Lucumi Choir. An internationally-respected rumbero percussion master and auteur of electronic roots music, ÌFÉ has drawn from a deep well of life experiences where world-class competitive drumming, illicit drug sales, personal tragedy, Yoruban priesthood, Black American trauma and perseverance, Latin American sojourn, and a Baldwinesque return home have all played a part on this next album. 

Listen here

Fall In Love

K-Brwn

K-Brwn is a Nigerian multi-disciplinary artist. Although he had achieved a lot in song writing, he struggled to find his signature sound as an artist. Frustrated by this, the singer took a music hiatus and focused on his law career. He recently took advantage of the pandemic lockdowns to work on his own style, fusing various genres and sounds to create his debut body of work titled Fall in Love. The EP features collaborations with “Away” hit singer and rising star Oxlade, and viral DJ Boat. 

Listen here

Já Bô Corre D’Mim

Tchiss Lopes

Narciso “Tchiss” Lopes is a cap-verdian funaná singer. He gathered some of the best Cape Verdean musicians of the time in 1984, together with Zé António on guitar, Bebethe on bass and Alírio on drums, and recorded his second LP, Já Bô Corre D’Mim. It is an album that sings of a young man far from home, his unrequited love and saudade, and the struggles of street life in a foreign land. Recorded in just 3 days at the Pomodoro Studio in Sutri, the album expresses the deep and layered sound of Tchiss’ music, where upbeat tempo, powerful vocals and electrifying guitar solos tangle in a dynamic mix of traditional melodies and cosmic reggae. Arabusta Records has reissued this musical gem. 

Listen here

DRONES

Terrace Martin

Terrace Martin is an American musician, rapper, singer, and record producer, known for high-level collaborations with Snoop Dogg, Stevie Wonder or Kendrick Lamar (he has contributed to the rapper’s four studio albums). The artist has released his new album DRONES, which draws inspiration from great Black music, funk, soul and hip-hop. The title track, which exemplifies well the project’s tone, features Kendrick Lamar, Ty Dolla $ign, James Fauntleroy, and Snoop Dogg.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

6 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Cette semaine, en Afrique du Sud, DJ Maphorisa et Soa Mattrix se fondent dans l’amapiano, tandis qu’au Nigéria, LADIPOE nous offre un nouveau projet puissant. Niska invite un casting de luxe sur une nouvelle mixtape, et ÌFÉ nous raconte ses aventures dans un nouvel album.  Enfin, le producteur américain Terrace Martin fait honneur à la great Black music dans un nouveau disque, tandis que la musique du capverdien Tchiss Lopes est rééditée.

Providence

LADIPOE

Dans Providence, le deuxième projet de LADIPOE, le rappeur se livre sur sa croissance, ses moments d’introspection, d’amour et de vie. L’artiste nigérian avait annoncé le projet avec « Running » en featuring avec Fireboy DML. Explorant plus profondément sa palette sonore, il nous offre l’hymne « Afro Jigga » avec Rema comme invité, avant de s’associer à Amaarae pour « Love Essential » et de se livrer pour le titre éponyme final, un long couplet plein d’auto-réflexion. L’EP a été réalisé par des producteurs importants tels que Guilty Beatz (Beyonce, Ms Banks), Andre Vibez (Ayra Starr, Omah Lay), Ozedikus, Emit Fenn et Johnson ip.

Ecoutez ici

Tintswalo

DJ Maphorisa, Soa Mattrix

Au cours de sa carrière impressionnante, DJ Maphorisa a su traverser les époques et les genres en s’alliant continuellement à la jeune garde musicale sud-africaine. C’est ce même positionnement qu’il prend avec Tintswalo, son nouvel album en collaboration avec Soa Mattrix. Les 18 titres de ce projet amapiano font intervenir des piliers du genre musical (Kabza De Small, MDU a.k.a. TRP, Mas Musiq, Semi Tee), ainsi que des chanteurs et rappeurs de renom (Blxckie, Boohle, Simmy, Nkosazana Daughter). Les huit derniers morceaux sont uniquement instrumentaux, un retour aux sources du mouvement. 

Ecoutez ici

0000+0000

ÌFÉ

0000+0000 est le deuxième album d’ÌFÉ. Enregistré, produit et composé entièrement à la Nouvelle-Orléans, le projet fait intervenir le légendaire percussionniste Bill Summers de Herbie Hancock, ainsi que le chanteur et sapeur congolais Robby The Lord, le guitariste yoruba Saint Ezekiel et le London Lucumi Choir. Maître percussionniste rumbero de renommée internationale et auteur de musique électronique roots, ÌFÉ a puisé dans un puits profond d’expériences de vie où la vente de drogues illicites, une tragédie personnelle, le sacerdoce yoruba, le traumatisme et la persévérance des Noirs américains, un séjour en Amérique latine et un retour à la maison « baldwinesque » ont tous fait partie de son récit unique.

Ecoutez ici

Le monde est méchant

Niska

Niska est l’un des piliers de l’industrie musicale française. Deux ans après son album Mr Sal, il revient avec la mixtape Le Monde est Méchant, annoncée par un teaser explosif diffusé sur ses réseaux sociaux. Le projet semble avoir un double enjeu : appuyer son statut de star du rap, tout en mettant en avant des artistes de la nouvelle génération de rap français. En effet, sont invités sur la mixtape des têtes d’affiches bien connues du paysage musical (Maes, Ninho, Hamza), mais également des artistes émergents (Lims, 1PLIKÉ140, Guy2bezbar, Tiakola).

Ecoutez ici

Já Bô Corre D’Mim

Tchiss Lopes

Narciso « Tchiss » Lopes est un chanteur cap-verdien de funaná. Réunissant certains des meilleurs musiciens capverdiens de l’époque, il enregistre en 1984, avec Zé António à la guitare, Bebethe à la basse et Alírio à la batterie, son deuxième LP Já Bô Corre D’Mim. L’album raconte la vie d’un jeune homme loin de chez lui, avec son amour et sa saudade. Enregistré en seulement trois jours au studio Pomodoro de Sutri, l’album exprime pleinement le son profond et stratifié de la musique de Tchiss, où le tempo enlevé, les voix puissantes et les solos de guitare électrisants s’entremêlent dans un mélange dynamique de mélodies traditionnelles et de reggae cosmique. Arabusta Records nous réédite cette pépite.

Ecoutez ici

DRONES

Terrace Martin

Terrace Martin est un musicien, rappeur, chanteur et producteur américain, connu pour ses collaborations de haut niveau avec Snoop Dogg, Stevie Wonder ou encore Kendrick Lamar (il a contribué aux quatre albums studio du rappeur). L’artiste sort aujourd’hui son nouvel album DRONES, qui s’inspire de la grande musique noire américaine, de la funk, de la soul et du hip-hop. Le titre éponyme, qui illustre bien le ton du projet, réunit Kendrick Lamar, Ty Dolla $ign, James Fauntleroy et Snoop Dogg.

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé