→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
Cape Town Thing: hip-hop from the Mother City
WOO - CTT Beats X Katzbru #NBA2k22
2 weeks ago

Cape Town Thing: hip‑hop from the Mother City

The Cape Town based collective is South Africa’s new rap activists, pushing hip-hop through events, cyphers and a recent compilation. PAM had a chat with CTT. 

Cape Town Thing (CTT) is a fully running company, we offer services to artists. But at this point, we’re close to just being a collective. We like to partner and collaborate with different artists, we believe we are a community more than anything else. Hip-hop is slowly fizzling out of the scene in South Africa, and there’s still a very rooted hip-hop culture here in Cape Town. We want to highlight that, keep artists positive and driven to pursue the hip-hop genre as a whole”, Sinoza Janda, co-founder of CTT, explains. The collective started with a fascination for drill music, and quickly expanded to other subgenres, with hip-hop still being at its core. Their commitment to keeping rap music alive comes in a particular setting that they are fully aware of: “It isn’t easy being a rapper in Cape Town! Especially now that the clubs are only booking amapiano DJs. But we are making sure it’s slowly improving!” 

Cape Town’s First Female Women’s Cypher With The Hottest Acts

One way to do that is to keep the local hip-hop scene united. That was one of the objectives behind CTT Presents: Volume 1, the latest compilation from the collective. The EP showcases a range of artists from different cultural backgrounds and languages, from 18-year-old female rapper Nikilitha rapping in Xhosa to the recently NBA 2K22 placed Katzbru. The project also features some UK-based artists like S Wavey, linked up via one of the CTT founders’ Brixton connections. Heavily drill and trap-infused, the musicality of CTT Presents also comes from the specificity of Cape Town rap. “Our local rappers rap about their circumstances”, Phandulwazi Mredlana, project manager, says. “We have a high amount of townships here… They rap about their difficult circumstances, they rap in their home languages – Xhosa, Sotho, they’re not trying  to be something they’re not. Even if you don’t understand the lyrics, you just feel their energy”. 

Promoting rap as a whole also implies that all the subgroups in the movement are rightly represented. That is ensured by CTT’s policy to also empower female rappers from Cape Town, an artistic minority within an artistic minority. “It is very important! In South Africa, there isn’t a big scene of female rappers being pushed through rap”, Sinoza adds. To pursue this agenda, the collective recently released an all-female boiling rap cypher, shining light on Cape Town’s remarkable female MC talents. 

CTT Presents: Volume 1, out now. 

Listen to Cape Town Thing in our Pan African Rap playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Cape Town Thing – Team

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Cape Town Thing : le rap du Cap
WOO - CTT Beats X Katzbru #NBA2k22
Il y a 3 semaines

Cape Town Thing : le rap du Cap

Le collectif basé à Cape Town est le nouvel activiste du hip-hop en Afrique du Sud, promouvant le rap par des événements, des cyphers et une compilation récente. PAM s’est entretenu avec CTT. 

« Cape Town Thing (CTT) est une entreprise à part entière, nous offrons des services aux artistes. Mais à ce stade, on est presque un collectif. On aime s’associer et collaborer avec différents artistes, on se considère comme une communauté plus qu’autre chose. Le hip-hop disparaît peu à peu de la scène sud-africaine, mais il existe encore une culture hip-hop très enracinée au Cap. Nous voulons mettre cela en évidence, faire en sorte que les artistes restent positifs et motivés pour poursuivre le mouvement dans son ensemble », explique Sinoza Janda, cofondatrice de CTT. Le collectif a démarré par une fascination pour la musique drill, et s’est rapidement étendu à d’autres sous-genres, le hip-hop étant toujours au cœur de ses préoccupations. Leur engagement à maintenir le rap en vie s’inscrit dans un contexte particulier, dont ils sont pleinement conscients : « Ce n’est pas facile d’être un rappeur au Cap ! Surtout maintenant que les clubs ne prennent que des DJs amapiano. Mais on fait en sorte que ça s’améliore petit à petit ! » 

Cape Town’s First Female Women’s Cypher With The Hottest Acts

L’un des moyens d’y parvenir est de maintenir une unité au sein de la scène hip-hop locale, l’un des objectifs de CTT Presents : Volume 1, la dernière compilation CTT. L’EP présente un éventail d’artistes issus de milieux culturels et de langues différents, comme la jeune rappeuse de 18 ans Nikilitha rappant en xhosa à Katzbru, récemment placé sur le jeu NBA 2K22. Le projet présente également quelques artistes basés au Royaume-Uni comme S Wavey, justifié par le fait que l’un des fondateurs de CTT ait des relations à Brixton. Fortement imprégnée de drill et de trap, la musicalité de CTT Presents puise aussi de la spécificité du rap du Cap. « Nos rappeurs locaux rappent sur leur vécu », explique Phandulwazi Mredlana, cheffe de projet. « Ils parlent de leur situation précaire, ils rappent dans leur langue maternelle, le xhosa ou le sotho, tout en restant le plus vrai possible. »

Promouvoir le rap dans son ensemble implique également que tous les sous-groupes du genre soient décemment représentés. C’est ce que garantit la politique de CTT, qui consiste à donner également une voix aux rappeuses du Cap, une minorité artistique au sein d’une minorité artistique. « C’est très important ! En Afrique du Sud, il n’y a pas assez de rappeuses mises en avant », ajoute Sinoza. Pour s’en assurer, le collectif a récemment publié un cypher – un freestyle à plusieurs voix – de rap bouillant mettant en lumière les talents de MC féminins de la « Mother City ». 

CTT Presents: Volume 1, disponible maintenant. 

Écoutez Cape Town Thing dans notre playlist Pan African Rap sur Spotify et Deezer.

Cape Town Thing – Team

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé