→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

10 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Ghanaian producer Juls and Nigerian artist Jojoftheejungle offer us their first respective albums. Spoek Mathambo mixes jazz and electronic music, while ANTI-MASS collective, Nihiloxica and UNIIQU3 delve into club music. Thiago França, Jean-Baptiste Bonga and Coltrane explore Brazilian, Haitian and American musical traditions, and Cimafunk unleashes his groove. 

Sounds of My World

Juls

Ghanaian-British producer Juls, known for his many high profile collaborations including Burna Boy, Tyler The Creator, Stonebwoy and more, marks his debut with Sounds of My World, a genre defiant album of afro fusion with some of today’s most talented African stars: Wizkid, Prettyboy D-O, Aymos, Mayra Andrade… “I called the album Sounds of My World, because I’m expressing what my mind…what my world is sonically. What I mean by that is, the sounds and the genres of music that I’m exposed to as a fan, as a listener, and what I’ve been experimenting with as a producer over the last few years,” he clarified in an interview with PAM. 

Listen here

Afro Jazz Giants 1: Ratau

Spoek Mathambo

With Afro Jazz Giants, Vol. 1: Ratau, multidisciplinary artist and musician Nthato Mokgata aka Spoek Mathambo presents the first part of his Afro Jazz Giants series, conceived from his long standing love affairs with Hip-Hop and South African Jazz. The record is a celebration project to explore the national Jazz songbook while creating new conversations around classics and standards, as well as introducing the wealth of African jazz and funk to first-time listeners worldwide through his crafty repurposing of classic motifs. The album is a lo-fi adventure, bravely traversing genres, and pays tribute to the late genius, South African saxophonist and composer, Mike “Ratau” Makhalemele.

Listen here

The Red Line

Jojoftheejungle

Hailing from Ikeja, Lagos, home to both Femi Kuti’s Africa Shrine and Lagbaja’s Motherland, Jojoftheejungle (aka J.O.J) got his start with local group Antigenx, before going solo in 2017. Featuring productions from Major Lazer’s Jillionaire, Beatsbymayor and Craybeats as well as Jojoftheejungle himself, The Red Line EP effortlessly blends Afrobeats, dancehall and pop sounds on its five, feel-good tracks. “The tracks on the EP talk about my personal experiences on the streets of Lagos,” the singer says. “I’m sure a lot of people go through them daily. Although it’s for everyone, the EP is especially dedicated to those who have gone through a lot of emotional rollercoasters, and are still fighting. The Red Line is hope.”

Listen here

Kaloli Recycled

Nihiloxica

Born from the meeting of Nilotika Cultural Ensemble members (a group of traditional Ugandan percussionists) with Spooky-J and PQ, two techno beats producers from Leeds, Nihiloxica has been making headlines since its resounding debut album Kaloli. In the interval left by the pandemic right after their debut release, the band teamed up with some of the UK’s leading bass music artists to create Kaloli Recycled, an EP of Kaloli remixes intended for DJs and clubs. Bristol-based producer Giant Swan, Nihiloxica’s own PQ, Metrist, Spooky-J and BFTT will each add their own touch to turn five tracks into gqom, trance, drum’n’bass and kuduro bombs. 

Listen here

El Alimento

Cimafunk

Heralded by tracks like “Funk aspirin” and “Rómpelo” with Lupe Fiasco, El Alimento is the new album from Cuba’s newest star, Cimafunk. The artist was recently named by Billboard as one of the “Top 10 Latin Artists to Watch”, and has created a real movement in Havana, filling the halls with thousands of fans eager to dance to his Afro-Cuban funk. Ultra-groovy, Alimento features local and international artists such as CeeLo Green, ChocQuibTown, Stylo G, Chucho Valdés, El Micha and Los Papines. The project was produced by Jack Splash, who described the result as “fearless“, stressing that Cimafunk’s approach to music “breaks many musical boundaries“.

Listen here

DOXA

ANTI-MASS

ANTI-MASS is a Queer DJ and producer collective based in Uganda. A collaborative effort from its three artists – Turkana from South Sudan, Nsasi from Jinja (Uganda) and Kampa-based Authentically Plastic – DOXA emerged from a year of group experiments & listening sessions. It reflects their common interest in shaking up traditional forms, techniques and palettes, making them fall and reform in new directions, discovering new tensions in familiar methods, all the while maintaining an emphasis on the alien and disorienting. Over the course of six tracks, DOXA gives the floor to Authentically Plastic who showcases their gqom, vogue & techno-infused sound, while Turkana’s hard electronics and Nsasi’s Kiganda percussions combine with an East African trap shine. PAM made you discover the track “Grind”. 

Listen here

Boula

Jean-Baptiste Bonga

A multi-instrumentalist and a Houngan (a vodou priest), Jean-Baptiste Bonga offers a ceremony with Boula, codified in song format that condenses the structured and improvised aspects of an authentic ritual. We hear the interweaving of traditional and personal stories of joy and sorrow that prepare the invocation. Playing all instruments on the record, recorded in Puerto Rico a few months before the confinement, he also painted the album’s illustrations. Bonga’s ambition with Boula is that this Vodou story, and these rhythms, will inspire everyone, whatever their culture, and lead them to healing, the goal of all “old world” rituals. You discovered the song “Kailwa Krazé” with PAM.

Listen here

A Love Supreme: Live in Seattle

John Coltrane

Recorded at The Penthouse in Seattle on October 2, 1965, this John Coltrane concert was captured by saxophonist and educator Joe Brazil, and remained in his private collection for decades. The recording transports the listener to a prime seat for a piece of musical history. While not studio-quality audio, the power of the performance shines through. This version is also of the full suite and features an expanded band that includes the same Classic Quartet and Pharoah Sanders in his first official gig as part of Coltrane’s group, in addition to McCoy Tyner on piano, Elvin Jones on drums, and Jimmy Garrison and Donald Garrett on basses.

Listen here

Heartbeats

UNIIQU3

Following her latest project Club Queens released in 2018, the self-proclaimed “Queen of Jersey Club” returns with a terribly effective set of club bangers. Heartbeats spans over six tracks and features alternative underground American artists such as R3LL, Sjayy, DJ K-Deucez and Dai Burger. “I made this for the hopeless romantics, the girls that fall in love at the club this is for you!”, UNIIQU3 explained on her social media. “This conceptual project is a Jersey Club love story”. 

Listen here

The Importance of Being Espetacular

Thiago França, A Espetacular Charanga do França

A Espetacular Charanga do França is a São Paulo-based carnival collective and brass band who combine retro horns with cumbia, baile funk and jazz to create a proudly anti-fascist, inclusive bloco (carnival group). The Importance of Being Espetacular collects the group’s signature songs from digital-only releases plus two new exclusives. The band goes from traditional carnival march rhythms such as “O Trombonista” to a bombastic cover of Metá Metá’s “Obá Iná”, their only concern being the energy any song can generate. “The idea of the charanga, to play acoustically to a lot of people, to get this vibe going on, is an energy thing. You have to play powerfully, you have to blow very hard to get heard!”, Thiago França explains. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

11 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, le producteur Juls nous offre son premier album, tout comme le Nigérian Jojoftheejungle. Spoek Mathambo mixe jazz et musiques électroniques tandis que le collectif ANTI-MASS, Nihiloxica et UNIIQU3 approfondissent la musique club. Thiago França, Jean-Baptiste Bonga et Coltrane explorent les traditions musicales brésiliennes, haïtiennes et américaines, Widgunz est dans le rap et Cimafunk dans le groove. 

Sounds of My World

Juls

Le producteur ghanéen-britannique Juls, connu pour ses nombreuses collaborations de haut niveau avec Burna Boy, Tyler The Creator, Stonebwoy et bien d’autres, nous offre son premier album avec Sounds of My World, un projet d’afro fusion qui défie les genres avec certaines des stars africaines les plus talentueuses du moment : Wizkid, Prettyboy D-O, Aymos, Mayra Andrade… « J’ai appelé l’album Sounds of My World, parce que j’exprime ce que mon esprit… ce que mon monde est sur le plan sonore. Ce que je veux dire par là, c’est que cet album réunit les sons et les genres de musique auxquels je suis exposé en tant que fan, en tant qu’auditeur, et ce que j’ai expérimenté en tant que producteur ces dernières années », a-t-il précisé dans une interview avec PAM. 

Ecoutez ici

Afro Jazz Giants 1: Ratau

Spoek Mathambo

Avec Afro Jazz Giants, Vol. 1 : Ratau, l’artiste multidisciplinaire Nthato Mokgata aka Spoek Mathambo présente la première partie de sa série Afro Jazz Giants, conçue sur son amour de longue date avec le hip-hop et le jazz sud-africain. Le disque est un projet de célébration visant à explorer le répertoire de jazz national tout en créant de nouvelles conversations autour des classiques et des standards, ainsi qu’à faire découvrir la richesse du jazz et du funk africains à des auditeurs novices dans le monde entier grâce à sa réappropriation astucieuse des motifs classiques. L’album est une aventure lo-fi, traversant courageusement les genres et rendant hommage au regretté génie, saxophoniste et compositeur sud-africain Mike « Ratau » Makhalemele.

Ecoutez ici

The Red Line

Jojoftheejungle

Originaire d’Ikeja, Lagos, fief de l’Africa Shrine de Femi Kuti et le Motherland de Lagbaja, Jojoftheejungle (aka J.O.J) a fait ses débuts avec le groupe local Antigenx avant de se lancer en solo en 2017. Comprenant des productions de Jillionaire (Major Lazer), Beatsbymayor et Craybeats ainsi que de Jojoftheejungle lui-même, The Red Line EP combine sans effort des sonorités afrobeats, dancehall et pop à travers ses cinq titres estivaux et feel good. « Les chansons de cet EP parlent de mes expériences personnelles dans les rues de Lagos », déclare J.O.J. « Je suis sûr que beaucoup de gens vivent les mêmes choses au quotidien. Bien qu’il s’adresse à tout le monde, ce projet est spécialement dédié à ceux qui reviennent de montagnes russes émotionnelles et qui continuent à se battre. The Red Line, c’est l’espoir ».

Ecoutez ici

Kaloli Recycled

Nihiloxica

Né de la rencontre entre des membres du Nilotika Cultural Ensemble – groupe de percussionnistes traditionnels ougandais – avec Spooky-J et PQ, deux kids de Leeds bercés de beats technoïdes, Nihiloxica défraie la chronique depuis son retentissant premier album Kaloli. Dans l’intervalle laissé par la pandémie à la sortie du premier album, le groupe s’est également associé avec des artistes à la pointe de la scène bass music britannique pour concocter Kaloli Recycled, un EP de remixs de Kaloli destinés aux DJs et aux clubs. Giant Swan, producteur de Bristol, PQ, l’électronicien de Nihiloxica, Metrist, Spooky-J ou encore BFTT ajouteront chacun leur touche pour faire de cinq morceaux des bombes gqom, trance, drum’n’bass et kuduro. 

Ecoutez ici

El Alimento

Cimafunk

Annoncé par des titres comme « Funk aspirin » ou « Rómpelo » avec Lupe Fiasco, El Alimento est le nouvel album de Cimafunk, la nouvelle star de Cuba. L’artiste a récemment été nommé par Billboard dans le « Top 10 des artistes latins à suivre », et a créé un véritable mouvement à La Havane, remplissant les salles de milliers de fans impatients de danser sur son funk afro-cubain. Ultra-groovy, Alimento invite des artistes locaux comme internationaux tels que CeeLo Green, ChocQuibTown, Stylo G, Chucho Valdés, El Micha et Los Papines. Le projet a été produit par Jack Splash, qui a qualifié le résultat d’« intrépide », soulignant que l’approche de la musique qu’a Cimafunk « brise de nombreuses frontières musicales ».

Ecoutez ici

High Demand

Widgunz

Après son dernier projet en solo Correct sorti en 2019, Widgunz revient avec High Demand. Ce nouvel album comporte 20 morceaux, dont quatre où le jeune rappeur est accompagné de la jeune garde ivoirienne, représentée par Bébé Choppa, Didi B, Lesky, Koffi Masta et LM, et la scène gabonaise en la personne de Shan’L. En amont de la date de sortie, Wigdunz avait déjà dévoilé « Ndeye ndiaye », single de l’album, un titre d’égotrip dansant composé par Stélair. 

Ecoutez ici

DOXA

ANTI-MASS

ANTI-MASS est un collectif de DJ et de producteurs queer basé en Ouganda. Fruit de la collaboration de trois de ses artistes, Turkana du Sud-Soudan, Nsasi de Jinja (Ouganda) et Authentically Plastic basé à Kampala, DOXA est le résultat d’une année d’expériences et de sessions d’écoute. Il reflète leur intérêt commun pour le renouvellement des formes et techniques traditionnelles, les explorant dans toutes les directions, découvrant de nouvelles tensions toujours avec un œil vers l’étranger et le désorientant. Au fil des six morceaux, DOXA laisse Authentically Plastic mettre en valeur ses sonorités infusées de gqom, vogue et techno, tandis que l’électronique dure de Turkana et les percussions Kiganda et trap est-africaines de Nsasi brillent. PAM vous avait fait découvrir le titre « Grind ». 

Ecoutez ici

Boula

Jean-Baptiste Bonga

Multi-instrumentaliste et Houngan (prêtre vodou), Jean-Baptiste Bonga propose avec Boula une cérémonie, codifiée par lui dans un format « chansons » qui condense les aspects structurés et improvisés d’un rituel authentique. On y entend l’entrelacement des histoires traditionnelles et personnelles, de joie et de peine, qui préparent à l’invocation. Jouant de tous les instruments sur ce disque enregistré à Puerto Rico quelques mois avant le confinement, il peint aussi les illustrations de l’album. L’ambition de Bonga avec Boula est que ce récit vodou et ces rythmes inspireront chacun, quelle que soit sa culture, et le conduiront à la guérison, objectif de tout rituel de « l’ancien monde ». Vous aviez découvert le morceau « Kailwa Krazé » avec PAM.

Ecoutez ici

A Love Supreme: Live in Seattle

John Coltrane

Enregistré au Penthouse à Seattle le 2 octobre 1965, ce concert de John Coltrane a été enregistré par le saxophoniste et éducateur Joe Brazil, restant dans sa collection privée pendant des décennies. L’enregistrement, au-delà de sa qualité en termes de jazz, est une réelle archive d’histoire musicale. Bien qu’il n’ait pas la finesse d’un enregistrement studio, la puissance de la performance transparaît complètement. Cette version est également celle de la suite complète et comporte un groupe élargi, incluant le même Classic Quartet et Pharoah Sanders, ainsi que McCoy Tyner au piano, Elvin Jones à la batterie et Jimmy Garrison et Donald Garrett à la basse.

Ecoutez ici

Heartbeats

UNIIQU3

Après son dernier projet Club Queens sorti en 2018, l’autoproclamée « Reine du Jersey Club » revient avec un ensemble de bangers club terriblement efficaces. Heartbeats s’étend sur six pistes et met en scène des artistes alternatifs américains underground tels que R3LL, Sjayy, DJ K-Deucez et Dai Burger. « Je l’ai fait pour les romantiques sans espoir, les filles qui tombent amoureuses au club, c’est pour vous ! », a expliqué UNIIQU3 sur ses réseaux sociaux. « Ce projet conceptuel est une histoire d’amour du Jersey Club ». 

Ecoutez ici

The Importance of Being Espetacular

Thiago França, A Espetacular Charanga do França

A Espetacular Charanga do França est un collectif de carnaval et une fanfare basés à São Paulo qui combinent les cornes rétro avec la cumbia, le baile funk et le jazz pour créer un bloco (groupe de carnaval) fièrement antifasciste et inclusif. The Importance of Being Espetacular rassemble les chansons emblématiques du groupe issues de sorties numériques uniquement, plus deux nouvelles exclusivités. Le groupe passe des rythmes traditionnels des marches de carnaval, comme « O Trombonista », à une reprise grandiloquente de « Obá Iná » de Metá Metá, leur seule préoccupation étant l’énergie que chaque chanson peut générer. « L’idée de la charanga, de jouer en acoustique devant un grand nombre de personnes, de créer cette ambiance, est une question d’énergie. Il faut jouer puissamment, il faut souffler très fort pour se faire entendre ! », explique Thiago França. 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé