→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

10 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Muzi sets his sights on space while Headie One and Ray BLK look back to their past. David Walters remixes his latest album, while Vanyfox, Makossiri and XXIII explore club music. Lucasrap and Kid X rap their best verses, while Ycee spins a tale of love. 

Interblaktic

Muzi

Interblaktic is a continuation of Muzi’s exploration of African space, a theme already touched upon in his 2018 Afrovision, released under the artist’s alter ego, the “Zulu Skywalker.” The album is firmly rooted in the present and in the philosophy of Afronowism, which emphasizes the fact that African artists should be considered great now, not just in the future. Optimistic, uplifting and otherworldly, the project chronicles a journey to Mars, a return home and a realisation of the importance of love. “When I was just a kid, I was obsessed with anything that had to do with space and stars,” the producer told PAM in an upcoming interview. “And then when I started getting into music, I gravitated towards music that had that sort of theme. Hence the whole electronic thing.”

Listen here

Too Loyal for My Own Good

Headie One

The title of Headie One’s fourth solo mixtape, Too Loyal for My Own Good, first arose in conversation between the Tottenham MC and his sister — keeping up the family theme after he dedicated his 2020 debut album, EDNA, to the memory of his late mother. The project trades in painful memories and laments the misfortunes of those around him in a process that serves to better grasp his own nature. Guided by truthful self-dialogue and immersed in familiar production (Quincytellem, M1onthebeat, The Elements), Headie One is driven by settling old scores (“2 Chains”) and the need to outgrow the much-publicized issues of his past (“PTSD”), while also rejecting the trappings of his rising fame (“Nothing to Me”). 

Listen here

Volume 10

XXIII

In Portugal, this Friday marks the reopening of clubs. It is therefore with a certain amount of excitement that the XXIII team gets ready to return to the decks and re-experience nighttime effervescence. To mark the occasion, the Porto-based label will release a new compilation this week, their tenth since their 2015 debut. The project takes the form of a love declaration, heralding the diversity of “club music.” Like their previous compilations, entirely dedicated to 150 BPM funk,  Megatron and two sub-genres of Brazilian funk, this new chapter will offer a wide panel of what the Portuguese electronic scene has to offer, with international as well as native producers.

Listen here

Juicy Juicy

Makossiri

Kenyan DJ and producer Makossiri drops her debut EP together with a video for the track “Juicy Juicy.” Released on the prestigious Nyege Nyege and Hakuna Kulala labels, the EP features a collaboration with Alexandria based synth maestro Yunis. Drawing on Egyptian mythology, Afrofuturism and radical politics, Makossiri impresses with an unhinged rattle of pneumatic techno, industrial noise, post-punk and experimental club sounds. Fractured East African experimental club cuts like “Lifeline” and “Moving On” are incredibly propulsive, with seismic, dancefloor-demolishing bass and awkward, robotic synths meeting in almost ceremonial grandeur.

Listen here

Love Drunk

Ycee

On Love Drunk, Ycee memorializes the different phases of a blossoming romance through focused reflection. The Afro-fusion star details his storytelling with pointed clarity throughout the project, pondering forgiveness on “My Ways,” gently riding smooth waves on “Intentionally” and promising total devotion to a romantic interest and celebrating the warmth of love on “West Indies.” The mood here grows more intense, giving way to the braggadocious confidence of “Nu Riddim” and a sweltering reunion between Ycee and Patoranking (“Aunty Lovina”) that closes out the project. 

Listen here

031 To The World

Lucasraps

On his debut album, Lucasraps creates a space for the edginess he displayed on his early works to play out. Paying homage to his Durbanite upbringing, with all its trials and triumphs, 031 To The World fuses hardcore rap and raw energy “(“Lucas Raps,” “Preach”) with more melodic, laid-back vibes that see him bare his emotions (“Mud”). Productions features local new-age hip-hop heavyweights like Gemini Major, Christer, and Vaughn Fourie.

Listen here

Nocturne Remixes

David Walters

A few months on from the release of David Walters’ acclaimed Nocturne album, the Marseille singer/songwriter’s penchant for creative reinvention is on full display on a new EP that features DJs and producers from Europe and the Caribbean. Whereas Nocturne was deeply introspective and meditative, the EP is all about contrasting voices and visions, remixing and spanning the globe. It features a stable of DJs and producers from France (Folamour, Synapson, Patchworks/Voilaaa, Woodini); Germany (Henrik Schwarz); Portugal (Batida), Netherlands (Pushin Wood) and Guadeloupe (Déni-Shain, Mister Francky).

Listen here

Crazy Times

Vanyfox

In these five tracks, composed during the first confinement as a form of therapy, the Luso-Angolan DJ and producer conveys messages of hope as well as self-denial. Through melodic and summery batida sounds, in the vein of his recent compositions (Enchufada, 99Ginger compilations), Vanyfox continues to tap into dancefloor culture , elegantly combining Portuguese and Angolan influences. Close to the Moonshine collective, the producer releases this project on Boukan Records, managed by the Parisian party activist Bamao Yendé. 

Listen here

Father of Zen

Kid X

Father of Zen is South African rapper Kid X’s third studio album. The project reflects the journey and the artist’s state of mind as well as discussing healing, awareness and mindfulness. Over 13 tracks, it allows his fans to share in his most personal experiences – the birth of his daughter, his relationship with his wife and the experience of fatherhood. “I definitely think I went into this project with a bit more mindfulness to create a conscious level of things I want to see when the world gets out of the current set. It’s going to take artists to give hope to the voiceless,” he stated in a forthcoming interview.

Listen here

Access Denied

Ray BLK

Access Denied captures a confident artist no longer phased by external noise, refusing to give time to those who don’t match her energy. Previous releases Durt and Empress lived at the intersections between R&B, soul, and hip-hop, but this feels like a true crossover project — charged by 808s and trap beats over a blend of rap lyricism and sultry vocals. With this confidence comes a willingness to be vulnerable, and tracks including “25” and “Baggage” act as frank confessionals. The temes evoked range from her mother receiving abuse from her father to the rage following a heartbreak, toxicity and Black positivity. 

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

10 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, Muzi vise l’espace tandis que Headie One et Ray BLK se tournent vers leur passé. David Walters remixe son dernier album, pendant que Vanyfox, Makossiri et XXIII explorent la musique club. Lucasrap et Kid X rappent leurs meilleurs couplets, tandis que Ycee raconte l’amour en chanson. 

Interblaktic

Muzi

Interblaktic est une continuité de l’exploration de Muzi de l’espace africain, thème déjà abordé dans son Afrovision sorti en 2018, en se présentant par son alter ego le Zulu Skywalker. L’album est bien ancré dans le présent et la philosophie du afronowisme : les artistes africains sont géniaux maintenant et non pas seulement dans le futur ! Optimiste, exaltant et d’un autre monde, le projet est la chronique d’un voyage vers Mars, d’un retour à la maison et de la prise de conscience de l’importance de l’amour. « Quand je n’étais qu’un enfant, j’étais obsédé par tout ce qui avait trait à l’espace et aux étoiles », a-t-il déclaré à PAM dans une interview à venir. « Et puis quand j’ai commencé à me mettre à la musique, j’ai gravité vers la musique qui avait ce genre de thème. D’où toute cette histoire d’électronique. »

Ecoutez ici

Too Loyal for My Own Good

Headie One

Le titre de la quatrième mixtape solo de Headie One, « Too Loyal for My Own Good », lui est venu lors d’une conversation avec sa sœur, poursuivant ainsi le thème de la famille après avoir dédié son premier album EDNA à la mémoire de sa défunte mère. Le projet s’appuie sur des souvenirs douloureux et des réflexions sur les malheurs de son entourage, afin d’appréhender sa propre nature. Guidé par un dialogue personnel sincère et immergé dans des productions familières (Quincytellem, M1onthebeat, The Elements), Headie One est obsédé par le règlement de vieux comptes (« 2 Chains« ) et la nécessité de dépasser les problèmes très médiatisés de son passé (« PTSD »), tout en rejetant les pièges de sa célébrité croissante (« Nothing to Me »). 

Ecoutez ici

Volume 10

XXIII

Ce vendredi, le Portugal lève enfin les restrictions autour des clubs. C’est donc avec une certaine dose d’excitation que l’équipe de XXIII s’apprête à retourner derrière les platines et retrouver l’effervescence nocturne. Pour marquer le coup, le label basé à Porto sort une nouvelle compilation, leur dixième depuis leur début en 2015, en forme de déclaration d’amour à la diversité qu’englobe le terme « club music ». A l’instar de précédents opus entièrement dédiés au funk 150 BPM ou au Megatron, deux sous genres du baile funk brésilien, ce nouveau chapitre offrira quant à lui un large panel de ce que la scène électronique portugaise à a offrir de meilleur, avec de nombreux producteurs nationaux aux commandes des morceaux, mais pas seulement.

Ecoutez ici

Juicy Juicy

Makossiri

Le premier EP de la DJ et productrice kényane Makossiri est accompagné du clip de son titre « Juicy Juicy ». Sorti sur Hakuna Kulala, sous-label de Nyege Nyege Tapes, l’EP comprend une collaboration avec le maestro du synthé basé à Alexandrie, Yunis. S’inspirant de la mythologie égyptienne, de l’afrofuturisme et de la politique radicale, Makossiri impressionne par son cocktail désordonné de techno, de noise industriel, de post-punk et de sons club expérimentaux. Des morceaux d’expérimentations Est-Africaines comme « Lifeline » et « Moving On » sont particulièrement explosif, avec leurs basses sismiques qui secouent les pistes de danse et des synthés robotiques et maladroits.

Ecoutez ici

Love Drunk

Ycee

Sur Love Drunk, Ycee raconte les différentes phases d’une romance florissante. Sur l’ensemble du projet, la star de l’afro-fusion détaille sa narration avec une clarté pointue, réfléchissant au pardon sur « My Ways » tout en surfant sur les vagues douces de « Intentionally » pour promettre une dévotion totale à un intérêt romantique et célébrer la chaleur de l’amour sur « West Indies ». L’ambiance devient plus intense, laissant place à la confiance fanfaronne de « Nu Riddim » et à une réunion rythmée entre Ycee et Patoranking (« Aunty Lovina »), clôturant le projet. 

Ecoutez ici

031 To The World

Lucasraps

Sur ce premier album, Lucasraps crée un espace pour que sa nervosité, très présente sur ses premières œuvres, puisse s’exprimer. Rendant hommage à son éducation à Durban, ses épreuves et ses triomphes, 031 To The World met en avant du rap hardcore et de l’énergie brute (« Lucas Raps », « Preach ») comme des vibrations plus mélodiques et décontractées qui le voient mettre ses émotions à nu (« Mud »). Les productions sont signées par des poids lourds du hip-hop new age sud-africain comme Gemini Major, Christer et Vaughn Fourie.

Ecoutez ici

Nocturne Remixes

David Walters

Quelques mois après la sortie de l’album Nocturne de David Walters, l’auteur-compositeur-interprète marseillais se réinvente d’une manière créative dans ce nouvel EP avec des DJ et des producteurs d’Europe et des Caraïbes. Alors que Nocturne était profondément intime et méditatif, l’EP de remixes contraste cette ambiance avec ses voix et ses visions internationales. Le projet met en avant une équipe de DJ et de producteurs de France (Folamour, Synapson, Patchworks/Voilaaa, Woodini), d’Allemagne (Henrik Schwarz), du Portugal (Batida), des Pays-Bas (Pushin Wood) et de Guadeloupe (Déni-Shain, Mister Francky).

Ecoutez ici

Crazy Times

Vanyfox

Dans ces cinq titres composés pendant le premier confinement comme une forme de thérapie, le DJ et producteur luso-angolais véhicule un message d’espoir et d’abnégation. Au travers de ses productions batida mélodiques et solaires, dans la continuité de ses récentes compositions (compilations Enchufada, 99Ginger), Vanyfox continue son exploration du dancefloor, alliant avec élégance ses influences portugaises et angolaises. Proche du collectif Moonshine, le producteur sort ce projet sur Boukan Records, géré par les activistes de la fête parisienne Bamao Yendé

Ecoutez ici

Father of Zen

Kid X

Father of Zen est le troisième album studio du rappeur sud-africain Kid X. Le projet reflète la carrière et l’état d’esprit de l’artiste et parle de guérison, de conscience de soi et de souci des autres. A travers 13 titres, il permet à ses fans de découvrir ses expériences les plus personnelles – la naissance de sa fille, sa relation avec sa femme et l’expérience de la paternité. « Je pense vraiment que je me suis lancé dans ce projet avec un plus d’attention pour pouvoir exprimer ce que je veux voir lorsque le monde sortira de la situation actuelle. Il va falloir des vrais artistes pour donner de l’espoir aux sans-voix », nous a-t-il dit dans une interview à paraître. 

Ecoutez ici

Access Denied

Ray BLK

Access Denied est le portrait d’une artiste confiante qui ne se laisse plus impressionner par les bruits extérieurs et qui refuse d’accorder du temps à ceux qui ne sont pas à la hauteur de son énergie. Les précédents albums, Durt et Empress, étaient à la croisée des chemins entre le R&B, la soul et le hip-hop, mais cet album est un véritable projet crossover, chargé de 808s et de rythmes trap, avec un mélange de lyrisme rap et de chants sulfureux. Cette confiance en soi s’accompagne d’une volonté d’être vulnérable, et des morceaux comme « 25 » ou « Baggage » sont de franches confessions. Dans les thèmes abordés, on retrouve la violence que son père a infligée à sa mère, la rage qui suit un chagrin d’amour, la toxicité et la beauté Noire. 

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé