→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

11 albums you should listen to this week

President Ya Straata

Focalistic

Focalistic’s mission to export amapiano to the rest of the world is on hold, with the Pitori (Pretoria)-born superstar now unveiling his latest project, entitled President Ya Straata, which means “President of the streets” in sePitori. The project recalls his come-up and a serves as a display of gratitude, with the rapper reminding us that when he’s not touring abroad, in Africa and Europe, he remains one of the local leaders of South African new wave. On seven explosive tracks, the ‘Pitori Maradonna’ immerses himself in very localised sounds of Pretoria and its province, like bacardi house on “Barcardi Ke Religion.”

Listen here

Place: Nairobi

KMRU

KMRU is based between Berlin, where he studies sound and acoustic arts, and his home town Nairobi. Today, he releases Place: Nairobi, a new compilation featuring the front runners of the young Kenyan electronic music scene. “The idea of making a compilation about the Nairobi scene has been on my mind for quite some time,” the producer told us in a French interview. “Nairobi is a little bit under the yoke of mainstream music, yet the city has an extremely dynamic alternative scene. Artist producers, musicians… […] For me, with these fourteen tracks, we’re barely scratching the surface of a scene in full bloom.” 

Listen here

We Famous

Kondi Band

Announced via three singles including the excellent “It’s God’s World (So Don’t Do Bad),” the Kondi Band trio finally release We Famous. Sierra Leonean musician Sorie Kondi, his compatriot Chief Boima and English producer Will LV, recorded the album over a period of four years, while Sorie toured Belgium, Spain and the Canary Islands. The result is an irresistible set made of varied and colourful tracks, in which Boima and Will give the acoustic musician the keys to the dancefloor. Sorie and his thumb piano fit perfectly within dance music, thanks to his catchy lyrics and infectious melodies.

Listen here

Seekers International – Presents Ragga Preservation Society – Worldwide Sound

Seekers International

The enigmatic Manila-via-British Columbia ensemble Seekers International returns to Tokyo-based label Diskotopia for the follow up to 2016’s RaggaPreservationSociety. This time, the crew are back with collaborative goodness — namely alongside Roger Robinson as Papa Robbie on “Kill-A-Milli,” Second Woman (Joshua Eustis of Telefon Tel Aviv & Belong’s Turk Dietrich), wzrdyAV, and the late DJ Wundrkut, who heartbreakingly passed away a month before the release. Worldwide Sound’s direction takes the original RaggaPreservationSociety records to jungle dubs, radio rips, and soundclash tape samples, tapping into the raga-jungle history of Canada’s large Jamaican community.

Listen here

Amabutho

The Joy

Originally from a small town just outside of Durban in South Africa, the five members of The Joy met at high school upon entering a singing competition together. Their music spread globally from the group’s Instagram, soon catching the attention of high profile names within the worldwide artist community, impressed by their joyful sound, spontaneous arrangements and uplifting dance moves. Their first body of work, Amabutho, is a combination of Zulu music with a modern a capella flourish, perfectly encapsulating the band’s spirit.

Listen here

Figurine

Wayne Snow

Nigerian-born singer and songwriter Wayne Snow releases the result of three years of work with Figurine. The album is a personal and profound work that addresses humanity’s obsession with representations, masks and fictional characters. Over the course of 10 tracks, the Berlin-based artist blends neo soul with soultronica and pop inflections in an exploration of our insecurities following the forced social isolation of the past year. “We always hide behind characters and let them dominate us. We are always running after an ideal because we are afraid to face reality,” Snow says. 

Listen here

Saet El Hazz (The Luck Hour)

Maurice Louca

Saet el Hazz” is a coded saying in Egypt that refers to having good time, usually implying a great deal of debauchery. Louca’s desire to collaborate with Lebanese band “A” Trio was the spark for this free-jazz album, while the art organization Mophradat ignited the project. In commissioning a new composition to be performed using instruments that Louca would modify, Mophradat led him to Indonesian, German and Turkish music experiences, creating a sound that wasn’t necessarily rooted in the Arabic tradition of maqam anymore. “The drive behind the music of this album and how it came to be, and the energy between us at the studio rehearsing and recording it, was in a lot of ways for me a saet hazz,” the Egyptian alternative musicians writes about the project. 

Listen here

Teenage Dreams

Native Soul

Native Soul was formed in 2019 by Kgothatso Tshabalala (19 years old) and Zakhele Mhlanga (18 years old). Their debut album, Teenage Dreams, released by Awesome Tapes From Africa, demonstrates staggering levels of maturity. Each track develops incrementally with various elements introduced in turn, embodying the duo’s South African music heritage by drawing on old school kwaito, trip-hop and even globalised house. The layers add to the emotion and take Teenage Dreams beyond just a dance project, but one that shows what depth can be gained when ability meets creativity.

Listen here

Black Prayers

Obi

At the age of 33, self-taught singer Obi, born in Nigeria, releases his first album Black Prayers. The project is a musical journey nourished by experiences: that of a young migrant who has experienced the suffering on his road to clandestinity in Europe. The eight tracks on the album pass through light and shadow, pain and joy, suffering and hope. “I want my sound to be like me,” the singer told us in a French interview with PAM. “Even if I’m doing dancehall, or afrobeats, I want it to be Obi“.

Listen here

Late Night Tales Present Version Excursion Selected by Don Letts

Don Letts

The British compilation series Late Night Tales partners with British/Jamaican rebel Don Letts for Version Excursion, a hypnotic set of remixed songs that have influenced his sound. Speaking about the eclectic tracklist, Letts explained: “A disciple of sound system, raised on reggae n’ bass culture, my go to sound was dub. But that’s only half the story as the duality of my existence meant I was also checking what the Caucasian crew were up to, not to mention the explosion of black music coming in from the States. You’d think it impossible to draw a line between ‘em but not in my world”.

Listen here

Bravo

Cheque

Nigerian rapper, singer and songwriter Cheque releases 13-track album Bravo, a real testament to his sing-rap hybrid sound, taking listeners on a sonic ride reflective of his musical palette. The album comes following a run of singles including “Call Me Baby” and most recently “LOML” alongside YBNL linchpin Olamide. Additional collaborations come from American rapper Jackboy, Nigerian musical prodigy Ayra Starr, who channels new energies in lead single “Dangerous” and childhood friend Fireboy DML on the reflective “History,” which sees both artists reminisce on how far they’ve come.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

11 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, Focalistic retourne à ses racines en compagnie de ses compatriotes sud-africains The Joy et Native Soul. Kondi Band allie la chanson sierra-léonaise à la dance music, tout comme Wayne Snow et Obi hybrident leurs origines nigérianes avec différentes musiques. Au Kenya, KMRU explore la scène électronique locale tandis que Maurice Louca ouvre ses traditions égyptiennes à de nouvelles sonorités. Enfin, le Jamaïcain Don Letts, le collectif canadien Seekers International et le Nigérian Cheque présentent chacun leurs influences globales. 

President Ya Straata

Focalistic

Alors que Focalistic accomplit jour après jour sa mission d’exporter l’amapiano dans le reste du monde, le natif de Pitori (Pretoria) dévoile aujourd’hui un nouveau projet intitulé President Ya Straata, « Président des rues » en sePitori. Cet EP est un bilan sur son ascension et un témoignage de sa gratitude envers ses fans. Le rappeur nous rappelle que lorsqu’il n’est pas en tournée à l’étranger, en Afrique comme en Europe, il reste l’un des leaders locaux de la nouvelle vague sud-africaine. Sur sept titres explosifs, le ‘Pitori Maradonna’ s’immerge dans des sons très localisés de Pretoria et de sa province, comme la bacardi house sur « Barcardi Ke Religion ». 

Ecoutez ici

Place: Nairobi

KMRU

KMRU navigue entre Berlin, où il étudie les arts sonores et acoustiques, et sa ville d’origine Nairobi. Aujourd’hui, il signe Place: Nairobi, une compilation inédite réunissant la fine fleur de la jeune scène électronique kenyane. « L’idée de réaliser une compilation sur la scène de Nairobi me trottait dans la tête depuis pas mal de temps »,  nous a confié le producteur dans une interview. « Nairobi évolue un peu sous le joug d’une musique mainstream, pourtant la ville contient une scène alternative extrêmement dynamique. Artistes producteurs, musiciens… […] Pour moi, avec ces quatorze titres, on gratte à peine la surface d’une scène en pleine ébullition. »

Ecoutez ici

We Famous

Kondi Band

Annoncé par trois singles dont l’excellent « It’s God’s World (So Don’t Do Bad) », le trio Kondi Band dévoile enfin We Famous. Le musicien sierra-léonais Sorie Kondi, son compatriote Chief Boima et le producteur anglais Will LV ont enregistré l’album sur une période de quatre ans, alors que Sorie tournait en Belgique, en Espagne et aux îles Canaries. Le résultat est un ensemble irrésistible de pistes variées et hautes en couleur, dans lequel Boima et Will donnent les clés du dancefloor à leur musicien acoustique. Sorie et son piano à pouces à 15 broches s’inscrivent parfaitement dans la dance music, grâce à des paroles entêtantes et des mélodies limpides.

Ecoutez ici

Seekers International – Presents Ragga Preservation Society – Worldwide Sound

Seekers International

L’énigmatique collectif Seekers International basé entre Manille et la Colombie-Britannique, revient sur le label de Tokyo Diskotopia pour la suite de RaggaPreservationSociety de 2016. Cette fois, l’équipe est de retour avec quelques collaborateurs, à savoir Roger Robinson en tant que Papa Robbie sur « Kill-A-Milli », Second Woman (Joshua Eustis de Telefon Tel Aviv et Turk Dietrich de Belong), wzrdyAV, et le regretté DJ Wundrkut, qui est passé dans l’autre monde un mois avant la sortie. La direction de Worldwide Sound s’inspire du disque original de la RaggaPreservationSociety pour créer des dubs de jungle, des rips radio et des échantillons de bandes sonores, mettant ainsi à l’honneur la riche histoire du ragga-jungle de la communauté jamaïcaine expatriée au Canada. 

Ecoutez ici

Amabutho

The Joy

Originaires d’une petite ville située proche de Durban en Afrique du Sud, les cinq membres de The Joy se sont rencontrés au lycée après avoir participé ensemble à un concours de chant. Grâce au compte Instagram du groupe, leur musique a commencé à se répandre dans le monde entier, attirant bientôt l’attention de grands noms de la communauté artistique mondiale avec leur répertoire de chansons joyeuses, d’arrangements spontanés et de danses contagieuses. Leur toute première œuvre, Amabutho, est une combinaison de musique zouloue avec une touche moderne d’a capella, résumant parfaitement l’esprit du groupe.

Ecoutez ici

Figurine

Wayne Snow

Avec Figurine, le chanteur et compositeur d’origine nigériane Wayne Snow dévoile le fruit de trois années de travail. L’album est une œuvre personnelle et profonde qui aborde l’obsession de l’humanité pour les représentations, masques et personnages fictifs. L’artiste, aujourd’hui basé à Berlin, habille sa neo soul d’inflexions pop et de soultronica pour explorer, le temps de 10 titres, les questions des identités fictives et des masques que nous portons tous, le tout largement appuyé par l’isolement social forcé de l’année écoulée. « Nous nous cachons toujours derrière des personnages, et nous les laissons nous dominer. Nous courrons en permanence après un idéal parce que nous avons peur de faire face à la réalité », estime l’artiste. 

Ecoutez ici

Saet El Hazz (The Luck Hour)

Maurice Louca

« Saet el Hazz » est une expression codée en Égypte pour désigner un bon moment, impliquant généralement une certaine débauche. L’envie de Louca de collaborer avec le groupe libanais « A » Trio a été l’étincelle de cet album de free-jazz, tandis que l’organisation artistique Mophradat en a été l’amorce. Commandant une nouvelle composition originale avec des instruments que Louca modifierait, Mophradat l’a amené à s’ouvrir aux musiques indonésienne, allemande et turque, créant un son affranchi de la tradition arabe du maqam. « L’impulsion derrière la musique de cet album et la façon dont elle est née, ainsi que l’énergie entre nous au studio pour répéter et enregistrer, a été à bien des égards pour moi un saet hazz », écrit le musicien alternatif égyptien à propos du projet. 

Ecoutez ici

Teenage Dreams

Native Soul

Native Soul a été formé en 2019 par Kgothatso Tshabalala (19 ans) et Zakhele Mhlanga (18 ans). Leur premier album de musique électronique Teenage Dreams, publié par le label américain Awesome Tapes from Africa, ne porte pourtant pas le poids de leur jeune âge. Tout au long de l’album, chaque titre se développe sur la longueur, introduisant les uns après les autres diverses pistes et instruments, rendant hommage à l’héritage musical sud-africain du duo en puisant dans le kwaito old school, le trip-hop et même la house globale. L’arrangement de chaque morceau et la façon dont les pistes du projet sont assemblées démontrent une maturité artistique qui dépasse largement ce  que l’on pouvait attendre des deux producteurs.

Ecoutez ici

Black Prayers

Obi

À 33 ans, le chanteur autodidacte Obi, né au Nigéria, publie son premier album, Black Prayers. Un voyage musical nourri d’expériences : celle d’un jeune migrant qui a connu les souffrances de la route et de la clandestinité en Europe. Les huit titres de l’album passent par l’ombre et la lumière, la douleur et la joie, la souffrance et l’espoir. « Je veux que mon son me ressemble », nous a dit le chanteur lors d’une interview avec PAM. « Même si je fais du dancehall, ou bien de l’afrobeats, je veux que ce soit du Obi. »

Ecouter ici

Late Night Tales Present Version Excursion Selected by Don Letts

Don Letts

La série de compilations britannique Late Night Tales s’associe au rebelle britannico-jamaïcain Don Letts pour Version Excursion, un ensemble hypnotique de morceaux remixés ayant tous influencé profondément sa culture musicale. À propos de la tracklist éclectique, Letts s’explique : « Disciple du sound system, élevé dans la culture reggae n’ bass, mon son de prédilection était le dub. Mais ce n’est qu’une partie de l’histoire, car la dualité de mon existence faisait que je vérifiais également ce qui se faisait du côté caucasien, sans parler de l’explosion de la musique noire en provenance des États-Unis. On pourrait penser qu’il est impossible de relier tout ça, mais pas dans mon monde ». 

Ecoutez ici

Bravo

Cheque

Le rappeur, chanteur et auteur-compositeur nigérian Cheque sort un album de 13 titres, Bravo, témoignant de sa musique hybridant chant et rap et embarquant ses auditeurs dans une exploration de sa palette musicale. L’album fait suite à une série de singles dont « Call Me Baby » et plus récemment « LOML » aux côtés du rappeur Olamide. Il a également collaboré avec le rappeur américain Jackboy, la prodige musicale nigériane Ayra Starr, qui canalise de nouvelles énergies dans le single principal « Dangerous », et son ami d’enfance Fireboy DML sur le titre « History », qui permet aux deux artistes de faire le point sur le chemin parcouru.

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé