→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

10 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Buena Vista Social Club celebrates its 25th anniversary, while Nigerian artists Wavy The Creator, OG Emmy and Moroccan rapper Dollypran drop their very first projects. Nyege Nyege’s Duke and British-Ghanaian duo Onipa unveil futuristic sounds whereas Malawian BlackFace Family are preoccupied with our present. Finally, UK rapper Pa Salieu, Senegalese kora player Maher Cissoko and Nigerian sensation Tems all pay tribute to their West-African heritage, each in their own ways. 

Buena Vista Social Club (25th Anniversary Edition)

Buena Vista Social Club

For the legendary project’s 25th birthday, World Circuit reissues a remastered version of Buena Vista Social Club with previously unheard tracks from the original 1996 session tapes, including “Vicenta” and “La Pluma.” The album is a monument, which changed forever the lives of the musicians involved and the standing of Cuban music in the world. Arranging its singular recording in La Havana’s Egrem studios, the record’s producer Nick Gold remembers these extraordinary sessions in our interview with him: “The Egrem studio sounded beautiful. You’d walk around the studio and Eliades would be sitting and playing some amazing guajira from Santiago, with a guy next to him playing congas, you’d walk a bit further and you’d hear Ruben playing some amazing bolero on the pianoAll of these little pockets of things were happening. And then, we just started recording.”

Listen here

Sounds of Pamoja

Nyege Nyege Tapes

For their second singeli-focused project following Sounds of Sisso, Nyege Nyege Tapes highlights recordings from Duke’s Pamoja Records. With production mostly handled by Duke, the MCs push the project to the next level, capitalizing on the vitality of Dar es Salaam’s musical landscape as they trade bars, switch flows and somehow keep up with the lightning-fast beats. Some of these talented emerging local artists (20 year old Pirato MC, 19 year old Dogo Kibo, 20 year old MC Kuke…) have been interviewed in NTS’ documentary about singeli, released alongside the EP. 

Listen here

Tapes of Utopia

Onipa

Afro-futurist sensations Onipa unleashed their debut album We No Be Machine on Strut Records in March 2020, meeting an immediate critical success. Their new mixtape Tapes of Utopia is in its same vein, showcasing their crossover appeal, full of danceable grooves alongside political lyricism. “It was written over lockdown and we’d both had a really hard time with the impact of lockdown for creatives,” Tom Excell, one of the band’s frontrunners, tells us in an upcoming interview. “And the thing that got us through was listening to loads of music and dancing in our studio. We were just digging through our collections and this was the thing which really gave us the most therapy and hope to carry on with writing. It was like a mixtape but a kind of healing process for us to compile these different flavors and sounds without thinking too much. And the vision of utopia that came out is of imagining being in a freer place and time and using music to find our way.”

Listen here

Nthena

BlackFace Family

BlackFace Family (BFF) comprises Jah Face, Venom, and Twiggy, all from Mzuzu, Malawi. Their music is encrusted into a dense sound substance made from self-produced beats, but also radically remixed fragments of Congolese, Tanzanian, Nigerian and Haitian songs, with a profound dancehall flavour. Their second album Nthena’s title means “that’s the way it is”, a phrase used as an expression of acceptance of the state of affairs. The project, however, sees the MCs revolt and denounce the disintegrating state of the world, criticizing local politics on “Politition” and paying tribute to victims of the civil war in DR Congo on “DRC”. 

Listen here

Cissoko Heritage

Maher Cissoko

Maher Cissoko is half of the successful duo Sousou & Maher Cissoko. Following his solo debut Kora Fo, he experiments and brings to life the griot tradition on his second album Cissoko Heritage. Inspired by Afrobeat, dancehall, reggae, Afro-pop and mbalax, he creates his own Mande fusion, with his acoustic improvisational kora playing meeting his electronic soundscape and beats. The album culminates in the creation of a new form of griotism and popular music with meaning and roots. 

Listen here

If Orange Was A Place

Tems

Nigerian sensation Tems delivers five exclusive tracks on the quasi-surprise EP that is dedicated to her closest fans. Over five tracks, the singer opens up, singing about seduction, hope and romantic deboirs. Her mellow Afrobeats and neo-soul cocktail blends perfectly with her singular vocals, which express nostalgia and desire in a unique way compared to the Afropop standards.

Listen here

Afrikan Rebel

Pa Salieu

Following his excellent debut album Send Them To Coventry, the new UK rap prince comes back with a mini-EP celebrating his Gambian heritage. On three tracks, joined by Tay Iwar, Zlatan Ibile and Obongjayar, the rapper explores Afroswing, amapiano and hardcore rap with his typical flamboyance. “A Rebel has no goal but rewriting fuckery & standing straight!,” he says on social media about his project’s title. Pa Salieu will play at Le Guess Who? festival in November in Utrecht. 

Listen here

P.S. Thank You for Waiting

Wavy The Creator

Active in the Nigerian Alté sphere for years through singles and photography, Wavy The Creator finally unveils her debut EP P.S. Thank You For Waiting. The project is “an expression of myself and all the different types of love I have experienced over the years,” Wavy explains. “I am opening up in ways I have never done before in the past. I speak about love, lust, infatuation, heartbreak and feeling like I’ve been omitted all in one body of work.” With a sound incorporating elements of hip-hop, Afrobeats and electronic dance music, the EP features Nigerian top artists WurlD, CKay, Tay Iwar and Ghanaian singer Efya on seven super sensual songs. 

Ecoutez ici

Traitement

Dollypran

After a series of singles, the Casablanca rapper releases his first EP in the explosive vein of Moroccan trap. On thirteen tracks, Dollypran demonstrates his talents as a powerful performer, the whole wrapped up in a macabre pharmacy aesthetic. Known for his trap skills, the rapper also explores drill music on tracks like “Gaza” and “Napoli”. He is accompanied by his compatriots Small X and ElGrandeToto, as well as his diasporic counterparts 3robi, based in the Netherlands, and Dimeh, an ambassador of Swiss rap. 

Listen here

Sipping Remy – EP

OG Emmy

Born and raised in Rivers State in Nigeria, OG Emmy has been cultivating and building his music repertoire since he was the age of 14. His debut Sipping Remy EP opens with the infectious afrofusion track “Trouble”, which sees OG Emmy extolling the virtues of a trouble-free life, before flowing into the summer-ready “Remy N Chill” with its chill party vibe, and OG Emmy’s first official single and ode to black women titled “KitKat.” The rest of the EP features the posse cut “Remy Money”, which sees Emmy and a few of his artist friends enjoying themselves on the celebratory track, and the EP’s title track “Sipping Remy,” which sees OG Emmy reveals his rap-influenced alter ego.

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

10 albums à écouter cette semaine

Cette semaine, Buena Vista Social Club célèbre son 25e anniversaire, alors que les artistes nigérians Wavy The Creator, OG Emmy et le rappeur marocain Dollypran présentent leurs tout premiers projets. Duke de Nyege Nyege et le duo britanno-ghanéen Onipa nous dévoilent des sons futuristes, tandis que la BlackFace Family du Malawi se préoccupe de notre présent. Enfin, le rappeur britannique Pa Salieu, le joueur de kora sénégalais Maher Cissoko et la sensation nigériane Tems rendent hommage à leur héritage ouest-africain, chacun à leur manière. 

Buena Vista Social Club (25th Anniversary Edition)

Buena Vista Social Club

Pour le 25e anniversaire de cet album légendaire, World Circuit réédite une version remastérisée de Buena Vista Social Club avec des morceaux inédits tirés des bandes de la session originale de 1996, dont « Vicenta » et « La Pluma ». L’album est un monument, qui a changé à jamais la vie des musiciens concernés et le statut de la musique cubaine dans le monde. Ayant organisé son enregistrement singulier dans les studios Egrem de La Havane, le producteur du disque, Nick Gold, se souvient de ces sessions extraordinaires dans son entretien avec PAM : « Le studio Egrem sonnait magnifiquement. C’est une grande pièce, on pouvait y faire les cent pas et ici, vous aviez Eliades assis à jouer une incroyable guajira de Santiago, accompagné par un gars qui jouait des congas, un peu plus loin il y avait Ruben seul au piano qui jouait un magnifique bolero… Donc dans chaque coin du studio il se passait quelque chose. Donc on a commencé l’enregistrement. »

Ecoutez ici

Sounds of Pamoja

Nyege Nyege Tapes

Pour leur deuxième projet consacré au singeli après Sounds of Sisso, Nyege Nyege Tapes met cette fois-ci en avant les enregistrements du studio Pamoja, géré par l’artiste Duke. Sur une production principalement assurée par ce dernier, ce sont bel et bien les MCs qui emmènent le projet à un niveau supérieur, capitalisant sur la vitalité du paysage musical de Dar es Salaam en s’échangeant des couplets, en changeant de flow et en suivant tant bien que mal les beats ultra-rapides. Certains de ces talentueux artistes locaux (Pirato MC, 20 ans, Dogo Kibo, 19 ans, MC Kuke, 20 ans…) ont d’ailleurs été interviewés par NTS pour leur documentaire sur le singeli, dévoilé en amont du projet. 

Ecoutez ici

Tapes of Utopia

Onipa

Les sensations afro-futuristes d’Onipa ont sorti leur premier album We No Be Machine sur Strut Records en mars 2020, rencontrant un succès critique immédiat. Leur nouvelle mixtape, Tapes of Utopia, s’inscrit dans la même veine et démontre une nouvelle fois leur talent à allier les grooves dansants au lyrisme politique. « Le projet a été écrit pendant le confinement, alors que nous avions tous les deux très mal vécu son impact sur les artistes », nous raconte Tom Excell, l’un des leaders du groupe, dans une interview à venir. « Et ce qui nous a permis de nous en sortir, c’est d’écouter des tonnes de musique et de danser dans notre studio. Nous avons fouillé dans nos collections et c’est ce qui nous a donné le plus de thérapie et d’espoir pour continuer à écrire. Ca a créé une mixtape mais ça a aussi été un processus de guérison pour nous de compiler ces différentes sonorités sans trop réfléchir. Et la vision de l’utopie qui en est sortie est d’imaginer être dans un lieu et un temps plus libres et d’utiliser la musique pour trouver notre chemin. »

Ecoutez ici

Nthena

BlackFace Family

BlackFace Family (BFF) est composé de Jah Face, Venom et Twiggy, tous originaires de Mzuzu au Malawi. Leur musique, particulièrement dense, est composée de beats autoproduits mais aussi de fragments radicalement remixés de chansons congolaises, tanzaniennes, nigérianes et haïtiennes, avec une profonde saveur dancehall. Le titre de leur deuxième album, Nthena, signifie « c’est comme ça », une expression utilisée pour exprimer l’acceptation de l’état des choses. Le projet voit cependant les MCs se révolter et dénoncer les dérives destructrices du monde actuel, critiquant la politique locale sur « Politition » et rendant hommage aux victimes de la guerre civile en RD Congo sur « DRC ». 

Ecoutez ici

Cissoko Heritage

Maher Cissoko

Maher Cissoko est la moitié du duo à succès Sousou & Maher Cissoko. Après son premier album solo Kora Fo, il expérimente et fait revivre la tradition des griots dans son deuxième album Cissoko Heritage. Inspiré par l’afrobeat, le dancehall, le reggae, l’afro-pop et le mbalax, il crée ici sa propre fusion mandingue, avec un jeu de kora acoustique improvisé qui rencontre un paysage sonore et des rythmes électroniques. L’album aboutit à la création d’une nouvelle forme de griotisme et de musique populaire, fort de sens et de racines. 

Ecoutez ici

If Orange Was A Place

Tems

La sensation nigériane Tems dévoile cinq chansons exclusives dans cet EP quasi-surprise, dédié à ses fans les plus proches. En cinq titres, la chanteuse ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre sur ses sentiments, chantant la séduction, l’espoir et les déboires amoureux. Son cocktail tendre d’afrobeats et de néo-soul se marie parfaitement avec sa voix particulière, qui exprime la nostalgie et le désir différemment des standards d’afropop.

Ecoutez ici

Afrikan Rebel

Pa Salieu

Après l’excellent album Send Them To Coventry, le nouveau prince du rap UK revient avec un mini-EP célébrant ses racines gambiennes. Sur trois morceaux, en compagnie de Tay Iwar, Zlatan Ibile et Obongjayar, le rappeur explore l’afroswing, l’amapiano et le rap hardcore avec la flamboyance qu’on lui connaît. « Un Rebel n’a pas d’autre but que de s’extirper des conneries et de se tenir droit! », dit-il sur ses réseaux sociaux à propos du titre de son projet. Pa Salieu est d’ailleurs à retrouver sur la scène du Guess Who? en novembre prochain à Utrecht. 

Ecoutez ici

P.S. Thank You for Waiting

Wavy The Creator

Active dans la sphère nigériane Alté depuis des années à travers la photographie et des singles remarqués, Wavy The Creator dévoile enfin son premier EP P.S. Thank You For Waiting. Le projet est « une expression de moi-même et de tous les différents types d’amour que j’ai connus au fil des années », explique Wavy. « Je me dévoile comme jamais je ne l’ai déjà fait dans le passé. Je parle d’amour, de désir, d’engouement, de chagrin d’amour et du sentiment d’avoir été omis, le tout dans une seule œuvre. » Avec un son incorporant des éléments de hip-hop, d’afrobeats et de musique de danse électronique, l’EP met en vedette les artistes nigérians WurlD, CKay, Tay Iwar et la chanteuse ghanéenne Efya, sur sept chansons ultra-sensuelles. 

Ecoutez ici

Traitement

Dollypran

Après une série de singles, le rappeur de Casablanca sort un premier EP dans la veine explosive de la trap marocaine. Sur treize morceaux, Dollypran démontre ses talents d’interprète puissant, le tout enrobé d’une esthétique de pharmacie macabre. Baignant dans la trap, le rappeur explore également l’incontournable drill, sur des morceaux comme « Gaza » et « Napoli ». Pour ce faire, ses compatriotes Small X et ElGrandeToto l’accompagnent, ainsi que ses homologues diasporiques 3robi, basé aux Pays-Bas, et Dimeh, représentant du rap suisse. 

Ecoutez ici

Sipping Remy – EP

OG Emmy

Originaire de l’État de Rivers au Nigéria, OG Emmy construit son répertoire musical depuis l’âge de 14 ans. Son premier EP Sipping Remy s’ouvre sur l’afrofusion de « Trouble », dans lequel OG Emmy vante les vertus d’une vie sans problèmes, avant de se lancer dans le morceau d’été « Remy N Chill » et « KitKat », son premier single officiel, une ode aux femmes noires. Le reste de l’EP comprend le morceau « Remy Money », sur lequel Emmy et quelques-uns de ses amis artistes s’amusent, et le titre éponyme « Sipping Remy », qui voit OG Emmy révéler son alter ego rappeur.

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé