→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2022 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

9 albums you should listen to this week

This week, Ballaké Sissoko returns to his roots while Common continues the struggle. Dominican singer Navy and Vegas rapper Baby Keem release their first projects, while AKA and Costa Titch team up for a new EP. Elsewhere, Nigerians Killertunes and OluwahSoft conjure dance-worthy efforts with Brazilians Deekapz and Bruna Mendez joining the party. 

A Touma

Ballaké Sissoko

Following the success of Djourou, the Malian virtuoso returns for a close tête à tête with his kora, exploring Mandingo traditions, family history and Malian legends on eight tracks. The three tales are profoundly intertwined, resulting in an intimate project where the instrument is the core speaker. “A Touma” means “the time has come”: “I’m over fifty now and when you get older, you know that one day there are certain things you won’t be able to do any more, and I’d like the younger generation to be able to listen to them,Ballaké explains. 

Listen here

BLEU, Vol. 1

Navy

It will come as no surprise that Navy’s influences are as wide ranging and as eclectic as her sound. The Dominican singer and her band, Taste of Pluto, have always looked up to the likes of diverse artists such as Stevie Wonder, Beenie Man, Shabba Ranks, Patti Labelle and Oasis. These inspirations are all present in the artist’s debut solo EP. Throughout the eight tracks, she outlines a neo-soul and jazzy atmosphere that reflects who she is as an artist, one with ever-present references to the 90s, a period she has deep affection for: “I like the colours, I like the freedom of the music back then, the dancing, and the fashion is very significant,” she told us recently.

Listen here

A Beautiful Revolution (Pt 2)

Common

This new album from the Chicago rapper deepens the message of the excellent A beautiful revolution Vol. 1, released last year. Advocating for a gentle revolution based on soul, conscious hip-hop and jazzy influences, the eight tracks of the project make for a soundtrack of revival and a hope as well as the struggle for social and racial justice. Seun Kuti’s nervous saxophone on “When We Move” and Marcus King’s flayed voice on “Poetry” embellish the Common‘s fierce flow.

Listen here

You’re Welcome

AKA, Costa Titch

Known for his American-inspired rap approach, AKA changes strategy with You’re Welcome, a collaborative EP with young rookie Costa Titch. Although full of classic egotrip, the project also draws from the South African repertoire, using the notorious amapiano log drum on “Static” and infusing trap with kwaito rhythmics on “Super Soft” and “Monate C.” Costa Titch, as usual, raps in isiZulu, Sesotho, English and Afrikaans, bringing an unmistakable Mzansi flavour to this short project. 

Listen here

The Melodic Blue

Baby Keem

Throughout his debut album, The Melodic Blue, 20-year-old Vegas native Baby Keem sounds like a combination of his biggest influences (Kanye West, Kid Cudi, Kendrick Lamar). What other MCs don’t have, however, are Keem’s dedication to airing out multiple flows over the course of a single track, his gift for spellbinding non sequitur, or the fearlessness with which he approaches song-making. Aside from his cousin Kendrick Lamar, the album’s only other guests are Travis Scott (“durag activity”) and Don Toliver (“cocoa”), leaving the emerging MC room to speak on  romances, his “scars” and even “south africa.” 

Listen here

KillaXtra

Killertunes

Taking the reins on production for the sensually cool 13-track LP, KillaXtra sees Killertunes stepping out from behind the scenes to add his own vocals to tracks like “All Night” and “The Vibe.” A prolific beatmaker project, the album also features collaborations from the cream of the crop of the Afrobeats scene across Africa and the UK including Odunsi (The Engine), Kida Kudz, Midas The Jagaban and Sha Sha as well as tropical Caribbean flavour courtesy of Walshy Fire to create a melodious, thought-provoking body of work. 

Listen here

Poly

Deekapz

Named after the assemblage possibilities of the Polly Pocket Doll, brazilian duo Deekapz’s new project cleverly showcases their multi-faceted production approach and their diverse range of musical influences. “CROMA”, that we wrote about, serves as the model for the EP, which will feature tracks that all contain more than one type of genre – moving from tropical bass and house to chill baile, trap and more.

Listen here

BOSS (Blowing Off Some Steam)

OluwahSoft

It was only last summer that Toronto-based Nigerian afrobeats artist OluwahSoft burst onto the scene with his infectious debut single “Body”. His body of work, BOSS (Blowing Off Some Steam) EP, showcases his remarkable vocal, melody and songwriting skills. Speaking about the inspiration behind the EP, OluwahSoft says, “Thematically, the songs all come from love and hate. Some of the songs speak to my idea of what a love story could be like ‘Sweet 16’, while some others, such as the title track ‘B.O.S.S’ come from a quite dark place, with the song addressing all the fake energy, faux love and envy around me at the time.”

Listen here

Corpo Possível (Deluxe)

Bruna Mendez

Following releases that reflect the current Brazilian scene, the 180g and Disk Union labels have joined forces in an effort to export Bruna Mendez’s second album, two years after its domestic release. Far from the usual Brazilian standards, the young artist here offers an organic groove coupled with ethereal melodies on a sweet and futuristic soundscape. Her elegant electronic textures, deep vocal timbres and funky accents differentiate this project from Pra Ela and O Mesmo Mar Que Nega a Terra Cede to Sua Calma

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

9 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine, Ballaké Sissoko et Bonbon Vodou reviennent aux sources, tandis que Common continue son appel à la révolution avec le volume 2 de A Beautiful Revolution. La jeune dominicaine Navy dévoile son tout premier projet, tout comme Baby Keem, accompagné sur 2 titres par son cousin Kendrick Lamar. Le Nigérian Killertunes finit par nous faire danser, et les brésiliens Deekapz et Bruna Mendez viennent épicer le tout. 

A Touma

Ballaké Sissoko

Après le succès de l’album Djourou, le virtuose malien revient pour un tête à tête intime avec sa kora, explorant sur huit titres les traditions mandingues, sa propre histoire familiale et celle du Mali, trois mémoires profondément imbriquées. « A Touma », c’est le moment qui est arrivé : « j’ai plus de cinquante ans maintenant et quand tu prends de l’âge, tu sais qu’un jour il y a certaines choses que tu ne pourras plus faire, et je voudrais que la jeune génération puisse les écouter », explique Ballaké à propos de son nouveau projet. 

Ecoutez ici

BLEU, Vol. 1

Navy

Sans surprise, les influences de Navy sont aussi variées et éclectiques que sa musique. La chanteuse dominicaine et son groupe Taste of Pluto ont toujours écouté des artistes aussi divers que Stevie Wonder, Beenie Man, Shabba Ranks, Patti Labelle ou Oasis. Ces inspirations sont toutes présentes sur ce tout premier projet BLEU, Vol.1. Sur huit titres, elle s’inscrit parfaitement dans l’ambiance néo-soul et jazzy qu’elle s’est construite, avec des références toujours présentes aux années 90, une période qu’elle affectionne particulièrement : « J’aime les couleurs, j’aime la liberté de la musique à l’époque, la danse, et la mode est très significative ».

Ecoutez ici

A Beautiful Revolution (Pt 2)

Common

Ce nouvel album du rappeur de Chicago approfondit le parti pris de l’excellent A Beautiful Revolution (Pt 1), sorti l’année dernière. Prônant une révolution douce, à base de soul, de hip-hop conscient, et d’influences jazzy, les huit titres du projet sont la nouvelle B.O. d’un renouveau, d’un espoir et d’un supplément de justice sociale et raciale. Les invités prestigieux de Common subliment son rap revendicateur, entre le saxophone nerveux de Seun Kuti sur « When We Move » ou la voix écorchée de Marcus King sur « Poetry ». 

Ecoutez ici

No Crari

OBOY

Un an après un EP nommé Mafana en référence à ses origines malgaches, OBOY dévoile l’album No Crari, porté par « TBD », un banger festif ayant tout de suite rencontré un énorme succès. Comme à son habitude, le rappeur de Villeneuve-Saint-Georges montre qu’il aime faire les choses lui-même, en livrant un opus sans aucun featuring. Du minimaliste et insolent « Louis V » au romantisme planant de « No Blata », il fait une véritable démonstration de ses talents de hitmaker, prouvant qu’il ne fait pas « crari » (semblant) quand il s’agit de musique.

Ecoutez ici

Cimetière Créole

Bonbon Vodou

Enregistré entre la France et La Réunion, battu par l’air de l’océan Indien, ce nouvel album du duotransforme la chanson française en succulence sega et maloya. Les notes d’accordéon de René Lacaille, le père d’Oriane, et la voix du légendaire Danyèl Waro subliment le souffle des orchestres en cuivres et les percussions locales, comme le kayamb. Dans ce Cimetière Créole, Bonbon Vodou « invoque les divinités occultes, danse avec elles, voyage, célèbre la vie et le moment présent, gorgé du sucre qui adoucit les moments les plus amers ».

Ecoutez ici

The Melodic Blue

Baby Keem

Sur son premier album The Melodic Blue, Baby Keem, 20 ans, originaire de Vegas, ressemble à la première écoute à une combinaison de ses plus grandes influences (Kanye West, Kid Cudi, Kendrick Lamar). Ce que les autres MCs n’ont pourtant pas, c’est le dévouement qu’a Keem à multiplier les flows au cours d’un titre, ou son don pour les changements d’instrumentaux déroutants. En dehors de son cousin Kendrick Lamar, les seuls invités de l’album sont Travis Scott (« durag activity ») et Don Toliver (« cocoa »), ce qui laisse au MC émergent la possibilité de chanter ses romances, ses cicatrices (« scars ») et même l’Afrique du Sud (« south africa »). 

Ecoutez ici

KillaXtra

Killertunes

Aux commandes de la production de cet album de 13 titres, KillaXtra voit Killertunes sortir des coulisses pour ajouter sa propre voix sur des titres comme « All Night » et « The Vibe ». Projet de beatmaker avant tout, l’album comprend également des collaborations avec la crème de l’Afrobeats nigérian et diasporique, en les personnes d’Odunsi (The Engine), Kida Kudz, Midas The Jagaban et Sha Sha, ainsi qu’une touche tropicale caribéenne de Walshy Fire, pour créer une œuvre mélodieuse qui donne à réfléchir. 

Ecoutez ici

Poly

Deekapz

Nommé en clin d’œil à la poupée Polly Pocket, que l’on peut assembler selon ses propres préférences, le nouveau projet du duo brésilien Deekapz met en valeur les multiples facettes de sa production et la diversité de ses influences musicales. A la manière du single « CROMA » dont on vous avait parlé, chaque morceau de Poly mélange plus d’un type de musique, passant de la tropical bass music à la house, au chill baile, à la trap et plus encore.

Ecoutez ici

Corpo Possível (Deluxe)

Bruna Mendez

Dans le sillon de leurs récentes sorties consacrées à la scène actuelle brésilienne, les labels 180g et Disk Union s’associent à nouveau pour exporter le second album de Bruna Mendez à l’international, deux ans après sa sortie au Brésil. Loin des standards que nous offre habituellement son pays, la jeune artiste dévoile ici un groove organique, une voix émouvante et des mélodies éthérées à travers cet album deluxe soigné au doux parfum de soul futuriste. Sous son timbre vocal déjà profond, elle pose un matelas aux textures électroniques élégantes, différenciant ce projet de ses précédents Pra Ela et O Mesmo Mar Que Nega a Terra Cede à Sua Calma.

Ecoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé