fbpx → Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2024 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Soul Jazz collected 60s Nigeria apala music in new compilation

Haruna Ishola

Soul Jazz Records’ Apala: Apala Groups in Nigeria 1967-70 is the first ever collection of Apala music to be released outside of Nigeria.

Apala: Apala Groups in Nigeria 1967-70 focuses on a wide selection of recordings made in Nigeria in the 1960s, a time when Apala music was at the height of its popularity. Apala is a popular music that also functioned as a form of cultural resistance–Apala music involved no western instrumentation and is sung in the Yoruba language, its aesthetic an implicit cultural rejection of the British Empire’s colonial rule over Nigeria which lasted from 1901 until independence in 1960.

The most significant figure in Apala music is undoubtedly Haruna Ishola who features throughout this album. Ishola holds an almost mythological status in his role as a popularizer of Apala music in Nigeria. These recordings were originally made and released locally by Decca and EMI Records as well as a variety of independent labels in Nigeria and have never been released outside of the country before. Soul Jazz Records are releasing this album as a deluxe double gatefold vinyl, both containing full text and photography.

Apala: Apala Groups in Nigeria 1967-70 is set to release 31st of January via Soul Jazz Records. Discover the album artwork and the tracklist below. Preorder it here.



1. Haruna Ishola and His Apala Group–Ewure Ile Komoyi Ode
2. Adebukonla Ajao and Her Group – Aboyin Ile
3. Rapheal Ajide and His Apala Group–Adura Fun Osiwowo
4. Haruna Ishola and His Apala Group–Orin To Mo Gbon Wa
5. R.A. Tikalosoro and His Group–Agilinti Lomu
6. Adebukonla Ajao and Her Group–A.B.D. Alawiye
7. Haruna Ishola and His Apala Group–Asa Ko Gbodo Wole Gbeiyele
8. Adeleke Aremu & His Group–Egbe Arowolo
9. Haruna Ishola and His Apala Group–Rufai Baolgun
10. R.A. Tikalosoro and His Group–Kiniun Kuro Leran Amu Sere
11. Haruna Ishola and His Apala Group–S. Aka
12. Adebukonla Ajao and Her Group – Lekele Bale
13. Kasumu Adio and His Apala Group–Odale Ore
14. Ayisatu Alabi and Her Group–Oko Lolomo
15. Jimoh Agbejo Bo Ogun and His Group–Oriki Ibeji
16. Ayisatu Alabi and Her Group–Omo Olobi
17. Rapheal Ajide and His Apala Group–Orin Aje
18. Adebukonla Ajao and Her Group–Sunday Babayemi