→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

The Azmari group to emark on desert odyssey

The single “Azalaï” comes ahead of a debut album called Samā’ī, which marks a long desert crossing where ethiogroove, dub, psychfunk and oriental sounds merge.

“Azalaï” is a word that refers to the Tuareg commercial caravans that crossed the Sahara desert twice a year for almost 1000 kilometres to transport salt between Taoudéni and Timbuktu. To accompany this epic journey, the group uses the saz Bağlama and the kaval, two instruments they brought back with them from a tour date in Istanbul and then integrated into their universe. These instruments enter into communion taking us, thanks to a frenetic rhythm section, into an intoxicating trance …

Slowly, here she comes. Winding. She rubs her belly against the earth, slaloms between the stones, traces its destiny in the sea of gold. Azalai. The music drags, repeats, completes and flies away like the wind stained with sand and spices. She takes a breath in the desert dunes and walks forward. She walks without respite, she fills herself with images of flavours, ecstasy that intensifies with the tempo. It jerks, this music. She drowns, exhales and wakes up under the eastern sun. The bodies rock, twist, suffer the bite of the sun and get lost in drunkenness. No one sees the end of it. It’s a hypnotic venom. An endless trance. Always forward. Always towards the distant horizon. We are going forward. Azalai as the only guide.”

Azmari – Azalaï

Created in Brussels in 2015, Azmari is a true musical odyssey where ethiogroove, dub, psychfunk and oriental sounds are expertly fused, inspired by artists such as Okay Temiz, Mulatu Astatke, Cymande, Fela Kuti and The Heliocentrics. An Azmari, literally “the one who praises” in Amharic, is an Ethiopian singer-musician, comparable to the European bard or the West African griot, often accompanied by a masenqo – a one-stringed violin – or a krar, a type of lyre.

After the release of their first EP last year and a series of shows across Europe, including a ten-day concert in Istanbul, the band developed their sounds and then let themselves get seduced by the Turkish rhythms of the 60s. Eager to return to the studio to begin work on a debut album, they studied Turkish and Ethiopian scales in detail, while learning new instruments along the way, including the berimbau, ney and saz bağlama. This served to transform the album into a mesmerising journey, sending the listener back to a higher state of consciousness. Azmari effortlessly and precisely blends African and Oriental melodies, offering a new vision of the ethiojazz sound.

The album Samā’ī will be released on January 22 via SDBAN Records.

Listen to Azmari in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Tracklist

1.      ‘Zegiyitwali’

2.      ‘Cosmic Masadani’

3.      ‘Kamilari’

4.      ‘Kugler’

5.      ‘Tariq Al Sahara’

6.      ‘Azalai’

7.      ‘Fat Ari’

8.      ‘Kadiköy’

9.      ‘Doni’

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

L'odyssée du groupe Azmari

Leur single « Azalaï » annonce la sortie d’un premier album nommé « Samā’ī », une longue traversée du désert où fusionnent l’éthiogroove, le dub, le psychfunk et les sons orientaux.

« Azalaï », ce mot désigne les caravanes commerciales touareg qui traversaient le désert du Sahara deux fois par an sur près de 1000 kilomètres pour le transport du sel entre Taoudéni et Tombouctou. Pour accompagner ce voyage épique, le groupe utilise le saz Bağlama et le kaval, deux instruments qu’ils ont ramenés lors d’une tournée à Istanbul et qu’ils ont ensuite intégrés à leur univers. Ces instruments entrent en communion pour nous emmener, grâce à une section rythmique frénétique, dans une transe enivrante…

« Lentement, la voilà. Enroulement. Elle frotte son ventre contre la terre, slalome entre les pierres, trace son destin dans la mer d’or. Azalaï. La musique traîne, se répète, se complète et s’envole comme le vent taché de sable et d’épices. Elle respire dans les dunes du désert et s’avance. Elle marche sans répit, elle se remplit d’images, de saveurs, d’extase et s’intensifie au rythme. Elle saccade, cette musique. Elle se noie, expire et se réveille sous le soleil de l’Est. Les corps se balancent, se tordent, subissent la morsure du soleil et se perdent dans l’ivresse. Personne n’en voit la fin. C’est un venin hypnotique. Une transe sans fin. Toujours en avant. Toujours vers l’horizon lointain. Nous allons de l’avant. L’Azalaï comme seul guide. » 

Azmari – Azalaï

Créé à Bruxelles en 2015, Azmari est une véritable odyssée musicale où fusionnent avec expertise l’éthiogroove, le dub, le psychfunk et les sons orientaux tout en s’inspirant d’artistes tels que Okay Temiz, Mulatu Astatke, Cymande, Fela Kuti et The Heliocentrics. Un Azmari, littéralement « celui qui loue » en amharique, est un chanteur-musicien éthiopien, comparable au barde européen ou au griot ouest-africain, souvent accompagné d’un masenqo – un violon à une corde – ou d’un krar, une sorte de lyre. 

Après la sortie de leur premier EP l’année dernière et une série de spectacles à travers l’Europe dont dix jours de concert à Istanbul, le groupe a développé ses sons puis s’est laissé séduire par les rythmes turcs des années 60. Désireux de retourner en studio pour commencer à travailler sur un premier album, ils ont étudié minutieusement les gammes turques et éthiopiennes, tout en apprenant de nouveaux instruments en cours de route, notamment le berimbau, le ney et le saz bağlama, pour transformer cet album en voyage hypnotisant, renvoyant l’auditeur dans un état de conscience supérieur. Azmari mélange avec précision et sans effort les mélodies africaines et orientales, offrant une nouvelle vision du son ethiojazz.

L’album Samā’ī sortira le 22 janvier via SDBAN Records.

Écoutez Azmari dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Tracklist

1.      ‘Zegiyitwali’

2.      ‘Cosmic Masadani’

3.      ‘Kamilari’

4.      ‘Kugler’

5.      ‘Tariq Al Sahara’

6.      ‘Azalai’

7.      ‘Fat Ari’

8.      ‘Kadiköy’

9.      ‘Doni’

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé