→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Moonshine sending vibes at Nyege Nyege digital festival edition

As free ambassadors to the Afro-world diaspora, the Moonshine collective was Montreal’s representative at the digital edition of Nyege Nyege 2020.

“If there’s one event in the world we’d like to play in, it’s the Nyege Nyege.” Pierre Kwenders’ wishes have just been granted: he and his collective Moonshine have joined the entirely online program of the Ugandan festival, for the 2020 edition.

Co-founded by Pierre Kwenders in 2014, the Montreal collective  operates within the fever of coupé-décale, kuduro, gqom and global bass technoid, marking an inclusive and free vision of African-style partying.

As its name suggests, the collective gathers its faithful members every Saturday after the full moon. In a nod to the principle of the famous infoline, inherited from the Rave era, the location is revealed only a few hours before the beginning of the festival, only by SMS. Through techniques like this  Moonshine has, in a handful of years, become a leading agitator in the nightlife of Montreal. Additionally: a quick trip to Bonbon Kojak’s Boiler Room should convince you of their powers.

Moonshine has joined the large African digital Nyege Nyege diaspora. Percussionist Elli Mbonda, selectas Pierre Kwenders, San Farafina, Bonbon Kojak and singer Odile Myrtil represented Montreal from a rooftop overlooking the southwest of their favourite city.

Mooshine collective, Nyege Nyege Festival 2020, worldwide.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Moonshine vient de démonter les planches digitales du Nyege Nyege Festival

Ambassadeurs libres de la diaspora afro-mondiale, le collectif Moonshine a représenté Montréal à l’occasion de l’édition digitale du Nyege Nyege 2020.

« S’il y a bien un événement au monde dans lequel nous aimerions jouer, c’est bien le Nyege Nyege. » Les vœux Pierre Kwenders viennent d’être exaucés : lui et son collectif Moonshine ont rejoint la programmation entièrement online, du festival ougandais, cuvée 2020.

Cofondé par Pierre Kwenders en 2014, le collectif montréalais Moonshine célèbre dans la fièvre du coupé-décale, du kuduro, du gqom ou de la global bass technoïde une vision inclusive et libre de la teuf à l’africaine.

Comme son nom l’indique, le collectif réunit ses fidèles tous les samedis post-pleine lune. Fidèle au principe de l’illustre infoline, héritée de l’époque rave, le lieu n’est révélé que quelques heures avant le début de la fête, uniquement par SMS. Il s’agit des fameuses SMS for Location qui ont fait de Moonshine, en une poignée d’année, un agitateur de premier plan de la nuit à Montréal. Et bien au-delà : un rapide passage sur la Boiler Room de Bonbon Kojak devrait facilement vous convaincre.

Cette année, Moonshine a donc rejoint la grande diaspora africaine digitale du Nyege Nyege. Le percussionniste Elli Mbonda, les selectas Pierre Kwenders, San Farafina, Bonbon Kojak épaulés par la chanteuse Odile Myrtil ont représenté Montréal depuis un toit surplombant le sud-ouest de leur ville fétiche.

Collectif Mooshine, Nyege Nyege Festival 2020, worldwide.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé