→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
12 new albums you should listen to this week

12 new albums you should listen to this week

Every week, we highlight significant new releases available on streaming services. This week’s selection includes albums from Urban Village, Poly-Rythmo Orchestra, Estère and more.

Udondolo
Urban Village

The long-awaited album of the young quartet from Soweto is a concentrate of South African’s history music. Imbued with zulu tradition, the songs of Urban Village carry within them the experiences of the black South African people, forced to leave their provincial hometowns to work in the mines of Soweto. The result is a sprawling music composed of zulu guitars, indie folk, isicathamiya-inspired choirs and jazz, all carried by a striking spiritual energy in homage to the asphalt of their ancestors.

Listen here

Archetypes
Estère

Her third album spread a world of sound that unfolds at the intersection between R&B, folk and electronic music. It marks a style that she named Electric Blue Witch-Hop, and one that took shape on her second album back in 2018, entitled My Design, On Others’ Lives, which gave her the chance to open for her idols Grace Jones and Erykah Badu. This third album is thus an invitation to explore the Archetypes, images and models of our collective imaginations as told by the storyteller Estère. Love, death, motherhood, fear, childhood and sexual desire …

Listen here

Amazigh EP 
Prace

For the avid followers of the ever thriving Dutch music scene, Joram Kroon’s Prace project is no secret. Driven by the desire for collaboration between local producers and musicians, Prace’s sound design brings together the real and digital worlds. Gnawa music then takes on the appearance of club music and combines both past and present. Electronic music recorded live with musicians from Morocco, and Prace’s hypnotic trick is played.

Listen here

Mel Malonga

Member of the magic opera of the Vol du Boli and artistic director of the Mamans du Congo, Mel Malonga releases his first solo album around one word: (listening), which translates one of the deepest images of his motivation as an artist, entertaining and awakening consciences. Through a return to the source of Congolese rumba and his heritage across the Atlantic, the singer and musician retraces the history of music in his home country, a way for him to keep his musical heritage alive with young Congolese musicians, whom he continues to train in Brazzaville.

Listen here

ZIK ZAK
Ancient Astronauts

The duo of German DJs and producers is once again teaming up with still emerging singers, rappers and musicians from the African continent to create an organic mix of hip-hop and reggae. These artists prove once again on this album of travels and chance encounters, that the important thing is not the dropping but the landing. The sound quality is far better than a big name stuck on the cover.

Listen here

Ayra Starr 
Ayra Starr 

She represents the young Nigerian generation, as much in her lyrics as in her musical influences. The new Mavin Records recruit offers a spectacular debut through this song for lonely souls, oscillating easily between afro-pop, alternative R&B and trap. On the five tracks that comprise this first opus, Ayra’s neo-soul voice reveals a whole range of emotions, from the sadness of a break-up to the joy of a new beginning.This kaleidoscope of influences affirms Ayra’s global approach to music, and at just 18 years of age she is looking forward to a multi-faceted international career.

Listen here

Cuba: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 1
Gilles Peterson et Stuart Baker

The list of new musical genres that emerged during this period is as long as is the title of the compilation. Yet that takes nothing away from how rich and fascinating a treasure it is. Compiled by Gilles Peterson and Stuart Baker on the Soul Jazz label, the collection explores the new styles that emerged in Cuba during the 1970s, including jazz, funk, tropicalia, disco and salsa. These are genres that Cuban artists experimented with at their own pace, giving rise to new and inspiring musical forms.

Listen here

Samā’ī
Azmari

Azmari is a musical odyssey where ethiogroove, dub, psychfunk and oriental sounds are expertly fused, inspired by artists such as Okay Temiz, Mulatu Astatke, Cymande, Fela Kuti and The Heliocentrics. An Azmari, literally “the one who praises” in Amharic, is an Ethiopian singer-musician, comparable to the European bard or the West African griot, often accompanied by a masenqo – a one-stringed violin – or a krar, a type of lyre. This debut album is a long desert crossing, sending the listener back to a higher state of consciousness.

Listen here

Al Najma
Tawsen

The young Belgian musician concludes his trilogy with Al Najma (the star), bringing together earth and sky. After Al Warda (the wave) and Al Mawja (the flower), Tawsen lets himself be guided by romantic melancholy in a style that flirts easily with reggaeton, afro, dance and trap, without ever deceiving his listener. Unclassifiable and unpredictable like the “Weather,” which doesn’t prevent him from expressing his unconditional love and being present on a date, even when it rains. 

Listen here

Hikikomori Blue
Spoek Mathambo

The South African global music producer is back with Hikikomori Blue on his own label Teka Records. A journey to the heart of different musical styles from South Africa and the world, in a global atmosphere. The artist’s latest project is a meditative album on the healing properties of bass dub music during difficult times. The title, Hikikomori Blue, refers to the social phenomenon of Hikikomori, the modern day hermits (which literally means “pulling inward, being confined” in Japanese).

Listen here

Vol. 4 – Yehouessi Leopold Batteur
Orchestra Poly‑Rythmo

Gilles Peterson’s label has been exchanging treasures with the great Beninese label, Albarika, and has unveiled one reissue from 1978, when the band was at the height of its power. For many DJs and dancers, this album has long been consecrated thanks to the incendiary track “Aiha Ni Kpe We,” an Afrobeat recording that elicits dancing from all listeners. Get ready because this is only the beginning of an exclusive licence deal with the Albarika label.

Listen here

La voix de la rue
Warped

His tone of voice and his poet’s pen bring a breath of fresh air to Guadeloupean reggae. Author, composer and performer, Warped is an artist who sings about life on universal themes as well as on more serious subjects such as racism, the people who manage to get by, or the situation in Guadeloupe, his native land where he has his musical heritage. With a saxophonist father, a drummer father and DJ cousins, there is no doubt about the musicality of his melodies.  

Listen here

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les 12 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine : un voyage dans l’histoire des musiques sud-africaines (Urban Village) et congolaises (Mel Malonga) puis une traversée du désert avec Azmari. Petite pause dans les années soixante-dix pour réécouter l’Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou et les différents styles cubains dénichés par Gilles Peterson et Stuart Baker apparus à cette époque. On plonge ensuite dans l’imaginaire du récit avec la chanteuse-conteuse Estère et les mots mis en musique par le poète guadeloupéen Warped. Et puisque l’important n’est pas la chute mais l’atterrissage, on se délecte devant le kaléidoscope sonore d’artistes émergents comme la jeune nigériane Ayra Starr ou les collaborateurs d’Ancient Astronauts issus de l'ensemble du continent africain. Enfin, même si la météo n’est pas clémente, il y a Tawsen pour continuer à s’aimer lorsqu’il pleut et Spoek Mathambo pour traverser le mauvais temps grâce aux pouvoirs curatifs de sa « dub bass music ».

Udondolo
Urban Village

L’album tant attendu du jeune quatuor de Soweto est un condensé d’histoire des musiques sud-africaines. Imprégnée de tradition zoulou, les chansons d’Urban Village portent en elles les expériences du peuple noir sud-africain, forcé de quitter leurs villages natales de province pour travailler dans les mines de Soweto. En résulte une musique tentaculaire composée de guitares zouloues, d’indie folk, de chœurs inspirés de l’isicathamiya et de jazz, le tout porté par une énergie spirituelle saisissante en hommage au bitume de leurs ancêtres. 

Écoutez ici

Archetypes
Estère

Sur cet album se déploie un monde sonore, à la croisée du R&B, de la folk et des musiques électroniques. Un style nommé par Estère, Electric Blue Witch-Hop et qui a pris forme sur un second album en 2018, intitulé My Design, On Others’ Lives, lui offrant une place sur scène en première partie de ses idoles Grace Jones et Erykah Badu. Ce troisième album est donc une invitation à explorer les Archetypes, images et modèles de nos imaginaires collectifs mis en récit par la conteuse-chanteuse, autour d’histoires d’amour, de mort, de maternité, de peur, d’enfance et de désir sexuel.

Écoutez ici

Amazigh EP 
Prace

Pour les passionnés de la scène clubbing néerlandaise, le projet Prace de Joram Kroon n’est pas un secret. Porté par l’envie de collaborations entre producteurs et musiciens locaux, la conception sonore de Prace rassemble le monde réel et celui du numérique. La musique gnawa prend alors des allures de musique de club et se conjugue aussi bien au passé qu’au présent. De la musique électronique enregistrée en direct avec des musiciens du Maroc, et le tour hypnotique de Prace est joué.

Écoutez ici

Mel Malonga

Membre de l’opéra magique du Vol du Boli et directeur artistique des Mamans du Congo, Mel Malonga sort son premier album solo autour d’un mot : Wâ (l’écoute), qui traduit l’une des images les plus profondes de sa motivation d’artiste, divertir et éveiller les consciences. À travers un retour à la source de la rumba congolaise et de son héritage outre-atlantique, le chanteur et musicien retrace l’histoire de la musique de son pays d’origine, une façon pour lui de maintenir en vie son patrimoine musical auprès de jeunes musiciens congolais, qu’il continue de former à Brazzaville.  

Écoutez ici

ZIK ZAK
Ancient Astronauts

Le duo de DJs et producteurs allemands s’associe une nouvelle fois à des chanteurs, rappeurs et musiciens encore émergents du continent africain pour créer un mélange organique de hip-hop et de reggae. Ces artistes prouvent de nouveau sur cet album de voyages et de rencontres fortuites, que l’important n’est pas la chute mais l’atterrissage. La qualité sonore vaut bien mieux qu’un grand nom plaqué sur la pochette. 

Écoutez ici

Ayra Starr 
Ayra Starr 

Elle incarne la jeune génération nigériane, autant dans ses textes que par ses influences musicales. La nouvelle recrue du label africain Mavin Records nous offre un début spectaculaire, oscillant aisément entre afro-pop, R&B alternatif et trap. Sur les cinq pistes de ce premier opus, la voix néo-soul d’Ayra dévoile toute une palette d’émotions, passant de la tristesse d’une rupture à la joie d’un nouveau départ. Ce kaléidoscope d’influences affirme une approche globale de la musique d’Ayra, qui, à seulement 18 ans, entend bien se tailler une carrière internationale aux multiples facettes.

Écoutez ici

Cuba: Music and Revolution: Culture Clash in Havana: Experiments in Latin Music 1975-85 Vol. 1
Gilles Peterson et Stuart Baker

La liste des nouveaux genres musicaux apparus à cette période est longue, à l’image du titre de la compilation. Pourtant on aurait tort de se laisser décourager par la richesse musicale qui en découle. Compilée par Gilles Peterson et Stuart Baker sur le label Soul Jazz, la collection explore les nouveaux styles qui sont apparus à Cuba au cours des années 70, notamment le jazz, le funk, le tropicalia, le disco et la salsa. Des genres que les artistes cubains ont expérimenté à leur sauce, donnant ainsi de nouvelles formes musicales inspirantes.

Écoutez ici

Samā’ī
Azmari

Azmari est une odyssée musicale où fusionnent avec expertise l’éthiogroove, le dub, le psychfunk et les sons orientaux tout en s’inspirant d’artistes tels que Okay Temiz, Mulatu Astatke, Cymande, Fela Kuti et The Heliocentrics. Un Azmari, littéralement « celui qui loue » en amharique, est un chanteur-musicien éthiopien, comparable au barde européen ou au griot ouest-africain, souvent accompagné d’un masenqo – un violon à une corde – ou d’un krar, une sorte de lyre. Ce premier album est une véritable traversée du désert, renvoyant l’auditeur dans un état de conscience supérieur.

Écoutez ici

Al Najma
Tawsen

Le jeune musicien belge conclut sa trilogie avec Al Najma (l’étoile) réunissant ainsi la terre et le ciel. Après Al Warda (la vague) et Al Mawja (la fleur), Tawsen se laisse guider par la mélancolie romantique dans un style flirtant aisément du reggaeton à l’afro, en passant par la dance et la trap, sans jamais tromper son auditeur. Inclassable et imprévisible comme la « Météo », qui ne l’empêche pas pour autant d’exprimer son amour inconditionnel et d’être présent à un rencard, même lorsqu’il pleut. 

Écoutez ici

Hikikomori Blue
Spoek Mathambo

Le producteur sud-africain de global music est de retour avec Hikikomori Blue sur son propre label Teka Records. Un voyage au cœur des différents styles musicaux originaires de l’Afrique du Sud et du monde entier, dans une ambiance globale. Le dernier projet de l’artiste est un album méditatif sur les propriétés curatives de la « dub bass music », pendant les périodes difficiles. Le titre, Hikikomori Blue, fait référence au phénomène social Hikikomori, des ermites des temps modernes (qui signifie littéralement en japonais « se replier sur soi, être confiné »).

Écoutez ici

Vol. 4 – Yehouessi Leopold Batteur
Orchestre Poly‑Rythmo

Le label de Gilles Peterson continue ses échanges avec le grand label béninois Albarika, et dévoile cette réédition de 1978, époque où l’Orchestre Poly-Rythmo était au sommet de sa puissance. Pour de nombreux DJs et danseurs, cet album a longtemps été consacré grâce au morceau incendiaire  « Aiha Ni Kpe We », un enregistrement afrobeat prêt à faire danser n’importe qui sur le dancefloor ! Préparez-vous car ce ne serait que le début d’une licence exclusive avec le label Albarika.

Écoutez ici

La voix de la rue
Warped

Son timbre de voix et sa plume de poète apportent un vent de fraîcheur au reggae guadeloupéen. Auteur, compositeur et interprète, Warped est un artiste qui chante aussi bien la vie sur des thèmes universels que sur des sujets plus graves comme le racisme, les gens qui se débrouillent pour s’en sortir, ou encore la situation en Guadeloupe, sa terre d’origine d’où il détient son héritage musical. Avec un père saxophoniste, un père tambouyé et des cousins DJs, la musicalité de ses mélodies ne fait aucun doute.  

Écoutez ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé