→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
7 days ago

Jo Raharison expands French RnB on debut EP

A songwriter, producer and singer of Malagasy origin, Jo Raharison is following in the footsteps of the legends of American RnB in a first EP with English vocals.

Carried by a new and ambitious generation, French RnB has a bright future ahead of it. Jo Raharison is the perfect incarnation of this space. Inspired by the legends of black American music that he has admired since his youth (Stevie Wonder, Kanye West, Pharrell and Michael Jackson), this young prodigy composes DIY English-language RnB  on contagious pop melodies.  

Although his reference points come from the legends of soul, hip hop and RnB, as well as his family heritage, Jo is forward-looking and draws on eclectic influences from the current musical landscape such as Burna Boy and Travis Scott. His Malagasy influence is more subtle but he remembers listening to artists like Mahaleo and Eric Manana during car trips with his parents to Madagascar. Despite this formation, the artist chose English to express himself: “I don’t listen to many French artists (…) English is musical in the way it sounds; with accents, it’s more rhythmic. Maybe one day I’ll write a song in French, but for the moment English is the language I’m most comfortable writing in.”

The young artist is based in Toulouse and can see himself following the kind of world domination achieved by  Chris through this first EP, An Introduction to Jo Raharison, which has already received a promising response. From the very first marimba notes that introduce “Saint Lucia Pt. 1,” we feel the finesse of the  instrumentation with its unique timbre, before a divinely executed 808 bass launches us into the chorus. Jo Raharison’s pop sensibility permeates all the songs of this 5-track EP, from the dreamy and ambient soul of “New Dawn” to the Jacksonian “Matter Of Time,” a delight that will make listeners eager for more.

His first EP An Introduction to Jo Raharison will be released on January 13 via Syracuse Musique.

Listen to Jo Raharison in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Jo Raharison bouge les lignes du RnB français

Songwritter, producteur et chanteur d’origine malgache, Jo Raharison se fraie un chemin sur les traces des légendes du RnB américain en dévoilant un premier EP où il chante en anglais, of course. 

Porté par une nouvelle génération ambitieuse, le RnB francophone a encore de beaux jours devant lui. Jo Raharison en est l’incarnation parfaite. Inspiré par les légendes de la musique noire américaine qu’il admire depuis son plus jeune âge, comme Stevie Wonder, Kanye West, Pharrell ou encore Michael Jackson, ce jeune prodige compose un RnB DIY dans en anglais impeccable aux mélodies pop contagieuses.  

Bien que ses références proviennent des légendes de la soul, du hip hop et du RnB ainsi que de son héritage familial, Jo est bel et bien tourné vers le futur et puise ici et là des influences dans le paysage musical actuel comme Burna Boy ou Travis Scott. L’influence malgache est plus subtile mais il se souvient avoir écouté avec intérêt des artistes comme Mahaleo et Eric Manana lors de trajets en voiture avec ses parents pour rejoindre Madagascar. Malgré son éducation, l’artiste a choisi l’anglais pour s’exprimer: « Je n’écoute pas beaucoup d’artistes français (…) l’anglais est musical dans la mesure où il sonne ; avec les accents, c’est plus rythmique. Peut-être qu’un jour j’écrirai une chanson en français mais pour l’instant l’anglais est la langue avec laquelle je suis le plus à l’aise pour écrire. » 

Le jeune artiste basé à Toulouse se verrait bien suivre les traces de Chris et conquérir le monde grâce à ce premier EP, An Introduction to Jo Raharison déjà très prometteur. Dès les premières notes de marimbas qui introduisent « Saint Lucia Pt. 1 », on savoure la finesse d’une instrumentation solaire et son timbre unique, avant qu’une basse 808 divinement exécutée ne lance le refrain. La sensibilité pop de Jo Raharison imprègne toutes les chansons de cet EP de cinq titres, du rêveur et soul ambiant « New Dawn » au très jacksonien « Matter Of Time », un délice qui nous rend impatient pour la suite.

Son premier EP An Introduction to Jo Raharison sortira le 13 janvier via Syracuse Musique.

Écoutez Jo Raharison dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé