→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Nubiyan Twist features K.O.G. on groove‑led track

The year has started with a bang for Nubiyan Twist and the Ghanaian dynamo K.O.G (Kweku of Ghana), who added a dose of brass and dance rhythms to this latest single ahead of the release of the long-awaited album Freedom Fables.

This British collective knows no borders. After featuring Anglo-Nigerian Ego Ella May, who recently got a spot on the COLORS studios channel, and the Ghanaian highlife legend Pat Thomas, it is now K.O.G’s turn to contribute with “If I Know.” It is an addictive cut for the dancefloor with percussive afrobeat lines, jazz and a tasty mix of rap and traditional vocals by K.O.G. “‘If I Know’ is all about needing to respect everybody and to let them do their thing,” he explains. “Whatever your feelings, you should not bring people down, you should always encourage them.”

The single fits perfectly with the spirit of the forthcoming Nubiyan Twist album: a blend of modern-day fables, these songs will be parables for our ever-changing contemporary lives. A melting pot of soul, jazz and afro-groove with incomparable musicality, Freedom Fables will undoubtedly boost Nubiyan Twist and consolidate its position as one of the best British soul collectives of the current generation.

For those fortunate enough to be in London, the full big band will launch their album on Tuesday, March 30 at the Islington Assembly Hall with a unique, socially-distanced live show.

Tickets available here.

Freedom Fables will be released on March 12th via Strut Records.

Listen to Nubiyan Twist in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Nubiyan Twist invite K.O.G sur un titre intensément groovy

L’année démarre en mode survitaminé pour Nubiyan Twist et la dynamo ghanéenne K.O.G (Kweku of Ghana) qui n’ont pas lésiné sur les cuivres et les rythmes dansants sur ce dernier single avant la sortie de l’album tant attendu Freedom Fables.

Le collectif britannique ne connaît pas les frontières. Après avoir invité la très prometteuse Anglo-Nigériane Ego Ella May récemment passée par les studios COLORS, ou encore la légende ghanéenne du highlife Pat Thomas, c’est au tour de K.O.G de faire son entrée sur « If I Know ». Un titre addictif taillé pour le dancefloor avec des lignes afrobeat percutantes, du jazz et un savoureux mélange de rap et de chant traditionnel signé K.O.G. « “If I Know », c’est le respect de chacun et la possibilité de faire ce qu’il veut », explique-t-il. « Quels que soient vos sentiments, vous ne devez pas rabaisser les gens, vous devez toujours les encourager. »

Le single s’inscrit à la perfection dans l’esprit de l’album à venir de Nubiyan Twist : fables des temps modernes, leurs morceaux sont des paraboles de nos vies contemporaines en constante mutation. Un melting-pot de soul, de jazz et d’afro-groove à la musicalité incomparable. Devenant un classique moderne, Freedom Fables va sans aucun doute catapulter Nubiyan Twist encore plus loin sous les feux de la rampe et consolider sa position parmi les meilleurs collectifs britanniques de soul de la génération actuelle. 

Pour ceux qui auront la chance d’être à Londres, le big band au complet inaugurera son album le mardi 30 mars au Islington Assembly Hall avec un spectacle unique en direct et à bonne distance. 

Billets disponibles ici.

Freedom Fables sortira le 12 mars via Strut Records.

Écoutez Nubiyan Twist dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé