→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

Bentality outstanding on "Hearing The Call" by The Invisible Session

With hypnotic percussion from cosmopolitan group The Invisible Session and poetry by the young African-American-Finnish artist Benjamin “Bentality” Paavilainen, the latest track from upcoming album Echoes of Africa induces a state of natural, hypnotic relaxation in the listener.

Written in 2018, the lyrics of ‘Hearing The Call’ seem speculative in light of recent events in the United States. They were conceived long before the Black Lives Matter movement, and prove once again that prevailing racism is nothing new. The natural flow of the MC Bentality, accompanied by the sounds of ancestral percussion, provokes a disconcerting mystical effect. This track is taken from The Invisible Session’s upcoming second album, released in 2006 after their  eponymous LP. This new chapter was born out of band members’ deep admiration for African music. The impeccable rhythmic execution of Ethiopian drummer and percussionist Abdissa “Manba” Assefa, the musical and spiritual contribution of Gambian kora player Aruna “Jalimansa” Kuyateh, and the presence of Joyce Elaine Yuille, inspired the group during recording and gave rise to a special blend of emotions and soundscapes.

The starting points for these rhythms was Afrobeat, the recordings of Africa 70 and the percussion of Tony Allen. Other influences came into play, with melodies centred on oriental pentatonic scales, as well as funk, psychedelia and ethio jazz. But it is the ancestral melodies that intersect and form the basis of this album, favouring escape and deeper emotional venturing.

The album will be released on January 29 via Space Echo.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

La performance de Bentality sur « Hearing The Call » de The Invisible Session

Les percussions du groupe cosmopolite The Invisible Session hypnotisent l’auditeur, tandis que l’interprétation du poème, écrit et interprété par le jeune artiste afro-américain-finlandais Benjamin « Bentality » Paavilainen, flotte avec une décontraction naturelle. Le titre est extrait de l’album à venir Echoes of Africa.

Écrites en 2018, les paroles de « Hearing The Call » semblent être spéculatives au vu des récents événements qui frappent les États-Unis. Elles ont été conçues bien avant le mouvement Black Lives Matter, et prouvent une fois de plus, que le racisme ambiant ne date pas d’aujourd’hui. Le flow naturel du MC Bentality, accompagné par les sons de percussions ancestraux, provoque un effet mystique déconcertant. Le titre est extrait du deuxième album à venir du groupe The Invisible Session lancé en 2006 après la sortie d’un album éponyme. Ce nouveau chapitre est né d’une profonde aspiration des musiciens du groupe pour la musique africaine. L’exécution rythmique impeccable du batteur et percussionniste éthiopien Abdissa « Manba » Assefa, la contribution musicale et spirituelle du joueur de kora gambien Aruna « Jalimansa » Kuyateh, ou encore la présence de Joyce Elaine Yuille, ont été une inspiration pendant l’enregistrement pour les autres musiciens qui y ont participé, donnant lieu à une émotion et un sens du paysage unique.

Les points de départ de ces rythmes ont été l’afrobeat, les enregistrements d’Africa 70 et les percussions de Tony Allen. D’autres influences entrent en jeu, avec des mélodies centrées sur les gammes pentatoniques orientales, ainsi que le funk, le psychédélisme et l’éthio jazz. Mais ce sont les mélodies ancestrales qui se croisent et forment la base de cet album, favorisant l’évasion et les sentiments plus profonds.

L’album de The Invisible Session sortira le 29 janvier 2021 via Space Echo.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé