→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

10 new albums you should listen to this week

Every week, we highlight significant new releases available on streaming services. This week’s selection includes albums from Kid Cudi, Tia Maria Produções, Hallelujah Chicken Run Band and more.

Man on the Moon III: The Chosen
Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi finally follows up on his pharaonic project on this third chapter of Man on the Moon: 18 tracks follow and a hand-picked guest list: Skepta, the late Pop Smoke, Trippie Red and Phoebe Bridgers. The back cover reads: “In the last 10 years, Scott Mescudi has been through hell and back”.

Listen here.

Lei Da Tia Maria
Tia Maria Produções

DJ Danifox, DJ B.Boy, DJ Lycox and Puto Márcio meet on the Lei Da Tia Maria EP from the Portuguese label Príncipe, with the aim of expelling violence from everyday life. Tia Maria, a certified dream team, has the recipe to expunge our pain and take a little musical respite in a good dose of dirty batida and hot-tempered DJs, ones who can’t resist sumberging themselves in the bad vibes.

Listen here.

Take One
Hallelujah Chicken Run Band

This album was only released in 2006 on CD, but given the unstoppable success of these titans of Zimbabwean culture, Analog Africa couldn’t resist the prospect of a vinyl and CD re-release – made possible thanks to an agreement from the musicians of Hallelujah Chicken Run Band, who are still alive today.

Listen here.

Jazz Is Dead 005 
Doug Carn, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, Adrian Younge

Black Jazz Records’ biggest hit of the 70’s … jazz-funk organist Doug Carn joins Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad. A pianist, organist and multi-instrumentalist, this new studio album on the already prestigious Jazz is Dead series marks his great comeback!

Listen here.

COLORS Live in NYC
Gaidda

The three-track EP, recorded live at COLORS Studios in New York, marks Gaidaa‘s first-ever American performance when she took to the stage alongside Kojey Radical and Dua Saleh at Brooklyn’s National Sawdust. Gaidaa is a 21-year-old Dutch-Sudanese artist at the vanguard of a new generation that accesses soul through organic R&B punctuated by acoustic instrumentation and lyrics imbued with raw vulnerability.

Listen here.

Jok’Chirac (VI Republique)
Jok’Air

The rapper returns with an album with an evocative title and an eminently political opus. Not to mention his cover featuring the militant Assa Traoré, “In my opinion, the most beautiful cover of my little career, Jok’Air wrote about it on Instagram.”

Listen here.

Old Romance
Tekno

The rapper returns with an album with an evocative title and an eminently political opus. Released in the United States on Island Records, Tekno is now exporting his declarations of love internationally on slow and catchy rhythms.

Listen here.

Danko!
Samthing Soweto

Samthing Soweto launches on an amapiano EP that follows his platinum album Isphithiphithi released last year. Pioneer of the genre, he is also known for his a capella singing alongside the Mzansi choir from South Africa, whom he invites on the last track “The Danko! Medley” – a song that may well become the anthem of the end of the year 2020, “Danko” meaning “thank you” in Esperanto.

Listen here.

Grace
DJ Spinnal

The DJ and producer sees his fifth album as a moment of reflection on his music. Through his numerous collaborations, he expresses a need to transcend borders by inviting a wide range of artists from all over the African continent: Oxlade, Tiwa Savage, Minz & Omah Lay, Niniola and many others… 

Listen here.

Bolingo
Jupiter & Okwess

After having brought Congolese rock to the four corners of the planet, Jupiter & Okwess return to their Afro-Brazilian origins in the company of guitarist Rogê in an ode to love as the only teaching of life – leaving aside travel and other material possessions.

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2021 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.

Les 10 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine : les déclarations d’amour chaloupées de Tekno, le troisième volet tant attendu de Kid Cudi et une bonne dose de batida avec les DJs de Tia Maria Produções. Du côté des vétérans on redécouvre Hallelujah Chicken Run Band, titans de la culture zimbabwéenne, ainsi que le plus grand succès de l’écurie Black Jazz Records des 70s, Doug Carn, grand invité de la prestigieuse série Jazz is Dead. Petit coup de cœur pour la voix néo-soul de Gaidaa sur son EP enregistré par les studios COLORS et grand coup de révolte sur Jok'Chirac (VI Republique) de Jok’Air. On termine tous en chœur avec Samthing Soweto, pour vivre un moment de grâce avec DJ Spinnal et s'enivrer de musique brésilienne en compagnie de Jupiter & Okwess.

Man on the Moon III: The Chosen
Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi donne enfin suite à son projet pharaonique sur ce troisième chapitre de Man on the Moon. Au total, pas moins de 18 morceaux se succèdent avec une liste d’invités triés sur le volet : Skepta, le regretté Pop Smoke, Trippie Red et Phoebe Bridgers. Au dos de la pochette on peut lire ceci : « Au cours des dix dernières années, Scott Mescudi (Kid Cudi) a vécu l’enfer et en est revenu.»

Écoutez ici.

Lei Da Tia Maria
Tia Maria Produções

DJ Danifox, DJ B.Boy, DJ Lycox et Puto Márcio se réunissent sur l’EP Lei Da Tia Maria du label portugais Príncipe pour expulser la violence du quotidien. Pour cela, la dream team de producteurs a la recette qu’il nous faut : une bonne dose de batida bien tranchée et des DJs au tempérament chaud bouillant, qui ne résistent pas à l’envie de balancer de mauvaises vibrations libératrices.

Écoutez ici.

Take One
Hallelujah Chicken Run Band

Cet album n’était sorti en 2006 que sur CD, mais face au succès inaltérable de ces titans de la culture zimbabwéenne, Analog Africa n’a pu résister au projet d’une réédition vinyle et CD de leur musique – rendue possible grâce à l’accord des musiciens d’Hallelujah Chicken Run Band, encore bien vivants aujourd’hui.

Écoutez ici.

Jazz Is Dead 005 
Doug Carn, Ali Shaheed Muhammad, Adrian Younge

Plus grand succès de l’écurie Black Jazz Records dans les années 70, l’organiste jazz-funk Doug Carn est le nouvel invité de Adrian Younge et Ali Shaheed Muhammad. Pianiste, organiste et multi-instrumentiste, ce nouvel album studio sur la série déjà prestigieuse de Jazz is Dead marque son grand retour.

Écoutez ici.

COLORS Live in NYC
Gaidda

Cet EP de trois titres enregistré en live par les studios COLORS à New-York marque la toute première performance américaine de Gaidaa lorsqu’elle est montée sur scène aux côtés de Kojey Radical et Dua Saleh pour enchanter le public du National Sawdust de Brooklyn. Artiste hollando-soudanaise de 21 ans, Gaidaa est à l’avant-garde d’une nouvelle génération qui accède à la soul dans sa forme la plus pure par le biais d’un R&B organique ponctué d’une instrumentation acoustique et de textes empreints de vulnérabilité brute.

Écoutez ici.

Jok’Chirac (VI Republique)
Jok’Air

Le rappeur revient avec un album au titre évocateur et un opus éminemment politique comme l’évoque sa pochette où figure la militante Assa Traoré, « À mes yeux, la plus belle pochette de ma ptite carrière », a d’ailleurs écrit Jok’Air à ce propos sur Instagram. 

Écoutez ici.

Old Romance
Tekno

Alors que l’artiste nigérian a connu son succès en solo il y a plus de cinq ans, cet album est le premier long-métrage du chanteur. Sorti aux États-Unis sur Island Records, Tekno exporte désormais ses déclarations d’amour chaloupées à l’international sur des rythmes lents et entraînants. 

Écoutez ici.

Danko!
Samthing Soweto

Samthing Soweto se lance sur un EP d’amapiano qui fait suite à son disque platine Isphithiphithi sorti l’année dernière. Pionnier du genre, il est aussi connu pour son chant a capella aux côtés du chœur de Mzansi d’Afrique du Sud, qu’il invite sur le dernier titre « The Danko ! Medley » – un chant qui pourrait bien devenir l’hymne de fin d’année 2020, « Danko » signifiant « merci » en espéranto.

Écoutez ici.

Grace
DJ Spinnal

Le DJ et producteur conçoit son cinquième album comme un moment de réflexion sur sa musique. Au travers de ses nombreuses collaborations, il exprime un besoin de transcender les frontières par une foule d’artistes venus de tous le continent africain : Oxlade, Tiwa Savage, Minz & Omah Lay, Niniola et bien d’autres… 

Écoutez ici.

Bolingo
Jupiter & Okwess

Après avoir fait résonner le rock congolais aux quatre coins de la planète, Jupiter & Okwess reviennent à leurs origines afro-brésiliennes en compagnie du guitariste Rogê dans une ode à l’amour comme seul enseignement de la vie – exit les voyages ou autres biens matériels.

Écoutez ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé