→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
1 month ago

Hallelujah Chicken Run Band reissue: The Sound of Zimbabwean Independence

Analog Africa reissues the Take One album, by the band that pioneered a popular style later known as chimurenga, from the Shona word for “struggle.”

This album was only released in 2006 on CD, but given the unstoppable success of these titans of Zimbabwean culture, Analog Africa couldn’t resist the prospect of a vinyl and CD re-release. It takes the form of a remastered version by sound engineer Nick Robbins, which sounds, it must be said, even better than the first one. This second edition was made possible thanks to an agreement from the musicians of Hallelujah Chicken Run Band, who are still alive today.

In 1972, the country of Rhodesia was in a struggle for independence from British colonial regime. In the hotels and nightclubs of the capital, bands earn their living by playing a mixture of Afro-Rock, cha-cha-cha and Congolese rumba. As the desire for independence grew stronger, a number of Zimbabwean musicians began to reconnect with their own culture. They begin by imitating the staccato sound and looping melodies of the mbira (thumb piano) on their electric guitars, and by reproducing the pressing rhythms of the shakers on the charleys (drum cymbals). For vocals, they opted for the traditional Shona language, adding a strong political message to their lyrics, while taking advantage of the fact that the predominantly white minority government would not understand them. his collision between electric instruments and indigenous traditions gave birth to a new style of Zimbabwean folk music, later known as chimurenga, from the Shona word for “struggle.”

Hallelujah Chicken Run Band is the group that popularized this genre. It was formed when a young trumpeter named Daram Karanga proposed bringing together musicians to entertain the workers of a copper mine in the town of Mhangura. At first, their music appealed only to the white owners of the mine. It was necessary to wait for the arrangements of notes to be translated from electric guitars to the traditional shona music, so that the public of workers could really get involved. Their reputation quickly spread and in 1974 they were invited to the capital to participate in a national music competition organized by the South African label Teal. Not only did they win, but they also attracted the attention of the famous producer Crispen Matema, who immediately organized their first recording sessions. On their first day at Jameson House Studios, they recorded half a dozen songs, including “Ngoma Yarira” and “Murembo,” two singles that would change the course of Zimbabwean popular music. With these electric guitar arrangements, Hallelujah Chicken Run Band revolutionized the music of its country and now has 8 gold records to its credit, obtained between 1974 and 1975.

The album Take One will be released on December 11 via Analog Africa and can be pre-ordered here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 4 semaines

Hallelujah Chicken Run Band : le son de l’indépendance zimbabwéenne

Analog Africa réédite l’album Take One du groupe précurseur d’un style populaire, connu plus tard sous le nom de chimurenga, du mot shona signifiant « lutte ».

Cet album n’était sorti en 2006 que sur CD, mais face au succès inaltérable de ces titans de la culture zimbabwéenne, Analog Africa n’a pu résister au projet d’une réédition vinyle et CD de leur musique. Il s’agit d’une version remasterisée par l’ingénieur du son Nick Robbins, qui sonne, il faut l’avouer, encore mieux que la première. Cette deuxième édition a été rendue possible grâce à l’accord des musiciens d’Hallelujah Chicken Run Band, encore bien vivants aujourd’hui. 

En 1972, le pays de Rhodésie est en lutte pour l’indépendance du régime colonial britannique. Dans les hôtels et les boîtes de nuit de la capitale, des groupes gagnent leur vie en jouant un mélange d’afro-rock, de cha-cha-cha et de rumba congolaise. Le désir d’indépendance devenant de plus en plus fort, un certain nombre de musiciens zimbabwéens entreprennent de renouer avec leur propre culture. Ils commencent par imiter le son staccato et les mélodies en boucle du mbira (piano à pouces) sur leurs guitares électriques, et à reproduire les rythmes pressants des shakers sur les charleys (cymbales de la batterie). Pour le chant, ils choisissent la langue traditionnelle shona en ajoutant des messages politiques forts à leurs paroles, tout en profitant du fait que le gouvernement minoritaire à prédominance blanche, ne les comprendrait pas. De cette collision entre les instruments électriques et les traditions indigènes est né un nouveau style de musique populaire zimbabwéenne, connu plus tard sous le nom de chimurenga, du mot shona signifiant « lutte ». 

Hallelujah Chicken Run Band est le groupe qui a popularisé ce genre. Il voit le jour lorsqu’un jeune trompettiste du nom de Daram Karanga propose de réunir des musiciens pour divertir les travailleurs d’une mine de cuivre dans la ville de Mhangura. Au début, leur musique ne plaît qu’aux propriétaires blancs de la mine. Il faut attendre les arrangements de notes de guitares électriques à la musique traditionnelle shona, pour que le public de travailleurs se déchaîne. Leur réputation s’est rapidement étendue et en 1974, ils sont invités à la capitale pour participer à un concours national de musique organisé par le label sud-africain Teal. Non seulement ils le remportent, mais ils attirent également l’attention du célèbre producteur Crispen Matema, qui organise rapidement leurs premières sessions d’enregistrement. Dès leur premier jour aux studios Jameson House, ils enregistrent une demi-douzaine de chansons, dont « Ngoma Yarira » et « Murembo », deux singles qui allaient changer le cours de la musique populaire zimbabwéenne. Avec ces arrangements de guitares électriques, Hallelujah Chicken Run Band a révolutionné la musique de son pays et compte à son actif huit disques d’or obtenus entre 1974 et 1975. 

Sortie de l’album Take One le 11 décembre via Analog Africa et en pré-commande ici

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé