→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
2 weeks ago

Amapiano Selections: Teno Afrika’s debut on Awesome Tapes from Africa

On his first album, Teno Afrika traces the seedlings of the electronic music movement in South Africa, the amapiano. “Storytellers,” featuring Diego Don, is his first single.

Long considered a hybrid subgenre of house music, the amapiano first developed in the townships of Gauteng province before conquering the hearts of an entire country. Despite its commercial success today, its craftsmanship hasn’t aged a day. Starting more than five years ago on pirated versions of production software such as FL Studio, amapiano music was initially shared on file-sharing platforms such as datafilehost and then marketed through social networks. Many people, like DJ and producer Tenor Afrika, are committed to preserving the DIY ethic of amapiano. “I started following amapiano in 2016 because I wanted to explore the way it is produced. It was not taken seriously in our country” the artist admitted. Indeed, South Africa’s youngest electronic music movement initially went underground with its small number of followers.

« Storytellers » – Teno Afrika

Amapiano Selections can be thought of as a taster introduction to the musical history of South Africa. It is a style of music that borrows its bass lines from kwaito and deep-house atmospheres, one whose identity is assured by piano melodies influenced by jazz or gospel. Real name Lutendo Raduvha, at nineteen years old he has spent most of his life moving between different townships on the outskirts of Johannesburg and Pretoria to immerse himself in the genre.

It should be noted that Teno Afrika only gives priority to singing on the final track and explains himself as follows: “The reason is that I wanted people to feel my instruments and my style because this is my first album.” The young producer has a thoughtful approach to his music, which bodes well for his future releases.  

To be released on October 23 on Awesome Tapes from Africa, pre-order here

Listen to Teno Afrika in our afro + club playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Amapiano Selections – Teno Afrika

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

Teno Afrika : de la marginalité au succès national

Sur son premier album Amapiano Selections, Teno Afrika revient sur les traces du plus jeune mouvement de musique électronique d’Afrique du Sud, l’amapiano. « Storytellers » en featuring avec Diego Don est son premier extrait.

Longtemps considéré comme un sous-genre hybride de la house, l’amapiano a d’abord connu les townships de la province de Gauteng avant de conquérir les cœurs d’un pays tout entier. Malgré son succès commercial aujourd’hui, son savoir-faire artisanal n’a pas pris une ride. Entamée il y a plus de cinq ans sur des versions piratées de logiciels de production comme FL Studio, la musique amapiano s’est d’abord propagée sur des plateformes de partage de fichiers comme datafilehost, pour ensuite être commercialisée par le biais des réseaux sociaux. Nombreux sont ceux comme le DJ et producteur Tenor Afrika, à vouloir conserver cette éthique Do It Yourself de l’amapiano. « J’ai commencé à suivre l’amapiano en 2016 parce que je voulais explorer la façon dont il est produit. Il n’était pas pris au sérieux dans notre pays » avoue l’artiste. Le plus jeune mouvement de musique électronique d’Afrique du Sud a d’abord vécu dans la clandestinité avec un petit nombre de fidèles.

« Storytellers » – Teno Afrika

Amapiano Selections est en quelque sorte une initiation dégustative à l’histoire musicale d’Afrique du Sud puisque ce style de musique emprunte ses lignes de basse au kwaito et à l’atmosphère deep-house, dont l’identité est assurée par des mélodies au piano influencées par le jazz ou le gospel. Lutendo Raduvha de son vrai nom, dix-neuf ans, a passé la majeure partie de sa vie à se déplacer entre différents townships de la périphérie de Johannesburg et de Pretoria, dans la province du Gauteng pour s’imprégner du genre. 

À noter que Teno Afrika ne donne la priorité au chant que sur le dernier morceau et s’en explique ainsi : « La raison est que je voulais que les gens ressentent mes instruments et mon style car c’est mon premier album. » Le jeune producteur propose une approche réfléchie de sa musique, ce qui laisse présager de grandes choses pour ses futures sorties.  

Sortie le 23 octobre sur Awesome Tapes from Africa en précommande ici

Écoutez Teno Afrika dans notre playlist afro + club sur Spotify et Deezer.

Amapiano Selections – Teno Afrika

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé