→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
2 weeks ago

Costa Titch unveils debut album, Made in Africa

The South African rapper begins a new chapter in his career with this boiling project.

“My only concern with Costa is his consistency, I worry that he keeps the same energy. ‘Nkalakatha’ is nice but will he continue that with his next song?” These words serve as an introduction to Made in Africa, in the eponymous track of the project. The journalist speaking about the rapper got it right: energy is what defines Costa Titch’s art. An energy that he first put in dancing, by sharing the stage with South African heavyweight Cassper Nyovest for 5 years; and an energy that he put in rapping from 2017 and until 2019, with the release of “Nkalakatha”. The track was a national hit that quickly propelled the artist in the spotlight, winning a remix with the two bosses AKA and Riky Rick. After a frantic string of singles and mini-EPs, it is time for the Nelspruit rapper to release his debut album. “This moment only comes once in an artist’s career,” he writes to us. “We wanted to take control of the opportunities we have”. 

COSTA TITCH – NKALAKATHA (Music Video) [PART 1]

The rapper’s initial energy has remained the same: “there was no real difference in the creative process. The only difference was that we spent more time and invested more energy into it”, he tells us. Costa clearly enjoys his fruitful success in songs like “Blessings”, and knows how to deliver egotrip-soaked bangers like “Got it” or “Great”. The style has remained authentic, but we still have the impression to know the artist a little better now thanks to more introspective songs than usual, like “Holy Rain”. 

Although the sounds of the project are resolutely turned towards American trap, Made in Africa is clearly a celebration of South African hip-hop. Firstly through the artist’s lyrics, that he proudly raps in isiZulu, Sesotho, English and Afrikaans (as he reminds us in “Mpulele”). Secondly by its XXL casting, which gathers national legends (DJ Maphorisa, Sjava, Riky Rick, AKA, YoungstaCPT) but also promising newcomers (Boity, Frank Casino, Thsego, Rouge…). A casting that the rapper intends to extend to the entire continent: “the goal is to make a deluxe version in which we can extend the featurings to artists from other African countries”. This potential sequel will with no doubt be awaited while listening to the intense rhythm of Made in Africa, which clearly gives a new dimension to Costa Titch’s position in the South African game.

Listen to Costa Titch in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

Costa Titch dévoile son premier album, Made in Africa

Le rappeur sud-africain entame un nouveau chapitre de sa carrière avec cet album flamboyant.

« Ma seule inquiétude avec Costa, c’est sa consistance. J’ai peur qu’il ne garde pas la même énergie. ‘Nkalakatha’ était bien mais est-ce qu’il va maintenir le niveau avec ses prochains titres ? » C’est par ces mots que Made in Africa est introduit, dans le titre éponyme du projet. La journaliste qui évoque le rappeur voit juste : l’énergie, c’est bien ce qui définit l’art de Costa Titch. Une énergie qu’il a d’abord mis au service de la danse, en partageant la scène du poids lourd sud-africain Cassper Nyovest pendant cinq ans; et une énergie qu’il a mis au service du rap depuis 2017 et jusqu’en 2019, à la sortie de « Nkalakatha ». Le titre est un hit national qui propulse rapidement l’artiste sous les projecteurs, gagnant même un remix avec les deux patrons AKA et Riky Rick. Après une suite effrénée de singles et de mini-EP, il est temps pour le rappeur de Nelspruit de publier un premier album. « Ce moment n’arrive qu’une fois dans la carrière d’un artiste, nous écrit-il, on a voulu prendre le contrôle des opportunités qu’on a. »

COSTA TITCH – NKALAKATHA (Music Video) [PART 1]

L’énergie initiale du rappeur est restée la même: « il n’y a pas vraiment eu de différence dans le processus créatif, à part qu’on a investi plus de temps et d’énergie que d’habitude ». Costa savoure les fruits de sa nouvelle réussite dans des morceaux comme « Blessings », et sait livrer des bangers gorgés d’égotrip comme « Got it » ou « Great ».  Peut-être a-t-on quand même le sentiment de connaître mieux l’artiste grâce à des morceaux plus introspectifs que d’habitude, comme le très réussi « Holy Rain ». 

Bien que les sonorités du projet soient résolument tournées vers la trap des USA, Made in Africa est bien une célébration du hip-hop sud-africain. D’abord à travers les textes de l’artiste, qu’il rappe fièrement en isiZulu, Sesotho, Anglais et Afrikaans (comme il le rappelle dans « Mpulele » au détour d’une phrase). Ensuite par son casting XXL, qui rassemble des légendes nationales (DJ Maphorisa, Sjava, Riky Rick, AKA, YoungstaCPT) mais aussi des newcomers prometteurs (Boity, Frank Casino, Thsego, Rouge…). Un casting que le rappeur compte d’ailleurs étendre au continent entier:  « le but est de faire une version deluxe dans laquelle on peut étendre les featurings à des artistes d’autres pays africains », nous apprend-il. Une suite que l’on attend au rythme intense de Made in Africa, qui donne clairement un nouveau relief à la position de Costa Titch dans le game sud-africain.

Écoutez Costa Titch dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé