→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link

8 new albums you should listen to this week

Every week, we highlight significant new releases available on streaming services. This week’s selection includes albums from Olamide, Headie One, Bergsonist, Costa Titch and more.

Carpe Diem 
Olamide

The Nigerian singer exports his talent with a new album on American label Empire Records. Known for his multilingual songs that highlight his ability to rap and sing in English, Yoruba and Nigerian Pidgin, Olamide broadens his musical horizons on Carpe Diem, exploring new influences, especially through the colors of his vocal palette, which we rediscover on more afropop-oriented sounds.

Listen here.

Edna
Headie One

The “King of Drill” broadens his horizons and explores his own versatility on a release full off star-studded collabs: Drake, Future, Skepta, M Huncho, Young Adz, Kaash Paige, Mahalia and more.The introspective album addresses the importance of his faith in God, his relationship with Tottenham, discrimination, prejudice within the prison system, emotional intelligence, not forgetting love and mental health.

Listen here.

Made in Africa
Costa Titch

The South African rapper first entered music as a dancer and uses this talent in his video clips. Costa Titch became renowned with his singles “Nkalakatha” in Zulu, “Activate” with Phantom Steeze and Alfakatlaygo, and “Thembi”. On his album we can find some nice surprises with contemporary artists, although he admits that his dream collaborations would include Nasty C and Sho Madjozi. 

Listen here.

Music from Saharan WhatsApp 09
Veyrouz Mint Seymali

Veyrouz Mint Seymali is the heir to a long line of exceptional musicians. A native of Mauritania, she is the daughter of Dimi Mint Abba, nicknamed the “Diva of the desert”, whose voice still resounds in the memories. Veyrouz is also the singer Nora Mint Seymali’s half-sister. Her father, Seymali Ould Ahmed Vall, was the first Mauritanian artist to graduate from the School of Arab Fine Arts in Lebanon and her maternal grandfather wrote the national anthem of Mauritania. Recorded at home in her living room, her album brilliantly continues the family tradition, offering a glimpse of the beauty and complexity of classical Mauritanian music.

Listen here.

Son Of Africa
Kuami Eugene

The Son Of Africa album includes 14 solid tracks and features artists such as Ghanaian Sarkodie, Prince Bright, Shatta Wale, Samini, DJ Mensah, Obaapa Christy and Nigerians Falz and Zlatan alongside Ugandan Eddy Kenzo. His Ghanaian and Afrobeat highlife style crowned him Artist of the Year and Highlife Artist of the Year at the Ghana Music Awards 2020.

Listen here.

Moon Piano
Laraaji

This LP is the second in a trilogy of recordings made in a Brooklyn church and differs from its predecessor, Sun Piano, in that it reveals Laraaji’s more introspective and minimalist style. The veteran pianist provides a breathtaking example of the mastery of his instrument and his ability to elevate the listener with his improvisations. Above all, Laraaji’s music is a spiritual journey that the listener remembers from the very first notes of the album.

Listen here.

Aicha
Maalem Mahmoud Gania

The king of Gnawa music rises from the dead thanks to Hive Mind Records and the reissue his album Aicha. It feels like the perfect time to release this spiritual music, in times of pandemic. Maybe Aicha will enable you to carve out some healing space in amongst the chaos of the world.

Listen here.

#bbabc1
Bergsonist

After her musical autobiography with the album Middle West, the sound explorer returns with #bbabc1. New York–based artist and musician originally from Morocco, she’s one of the most prolific figures in New York’s techno-adjacent underground. Under the guise Bergsonist (derived from Deleuze’s Bergsonism), she uses a variety of media to investigate social resonance through divergent conceptual aesthetics (minimalism, techno, and music concrete, to name a few).

Listen here.

Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 3 semaines

Les 8 albums à découvrir cette semaine

Au programme cette semaine : trois poids lourds du rap panafricain, l’héritière de la musique mauritanienne classique, de l’afrobeats à n’en plus finir, le voyage spirituel de Laraaji et Maalem Mahmoud Gania puis l’exploration sonore de Bergsonist.

Carpe Diem 
Olamide

Le rappeur nigérian donne un cap outre-Atlantique à sa carrière en signant sur Empire Records. Reconnu pour ses morceaux multilingues qui mettent en valeur sa capacité à rapper et chanter en anglais, en yoruba ou en pidgin nigérian, Olamide élargit ses horizons musicaux en explorant de nouvelles influences, à travers les couleurs de sa palette vocale, que l’on découvre sur des sons plus orientés afropop. 

Écoutez ici.

Edna
Headie One

La liste des invités de prestige est longue : Drake, Future, Skepta, M Huncho, Young Adz, Kaash Paige, Mahalia et bien d’autres. Le « King of Drill » élargit son champ d’action et explore la polyvalence de son talent. Son album introspectif aborde l’importance de sa foi en Dieu, sa relation avec sa ville natale de Tottehnam, la discrimination, les préjugés au sein du système carcéral, l’intelligence émotionnelle, sans oublier l’amour et la santé mentale.

Écoutez ici.

Made in Africa
Costa Titch

Le rappeur sud-africain est d’abord entré dans la musique en tant que danseur et utilise cet autre talent dans ses clips. Costa Titch a connu le succès grâce à ses singles « Nkalakatha » en zulu, « Activate » avec Phantom Steeze et Alfakatlaygo, ou encore « Thembi » –  qui n’ont pas été obtenus sans effort. Sur son album on trouve de belles surprises avec des artistes plus récents, même s’il avoue que les collaborations de ses rêves incluraient Nasty C et Sho Madjozi. 

Écoutez ici.

Music from Saharan WhatsApp 09
Veyrouz Mint Seymali

Veyrouz Mint Seymali est l’héritière d’une longue lignée de musiciens exceptionnels. Native de Mauritanie, elle est la fille de Dimi Mint Abba, surnommée la « Diva du désert », dont la voix résonne encore dans les mémoires. Veyrouz est également la demi-sœur de la chanteuse Nora Mint Seymali. Son père, Seymali Ould Ahmed Vall, a été le premier artiste mauritanien à recevoir un diplôme de l’école des Beaux-Arts arabes au Liban et son grand-père maternel a écrit l’hymne national de la Mauritanie. Enregistrée chez elle dans son salon, son album poursuit brillamment la tradition familiale, offrant un aperçu de la beauté et de la complexité de la musique mauritanienne classique.

Écoutez ici.

Son Of Africa
Kuami Eugene

L’album Son Of Africa comprend 14 titres solides et met en vedette des artistes tels que le Ghanéen Sarkodie, Prince Bright, Shatta Wale, Samini, DJ Mensah, Obaapa Christy et les Nigérians Falz et Zlatan aux côtés de l’Ougandais Eddy Kenzo. Le style highlife ghanéen et afrobeats de Kuami Eugene l’a couronné « Artiste de l’année » et « Artiste Highlife de l’année » aux Ghana Music Awards 2020.

Écoutez ici.

Moon Piano
Laraaji

Ce disque est le deuxième d’une trilogie d’enregistrements réalisés dans une église de Brooklyn et se distingue de son prédécesseur, Sun Piano, en ce qu’il révèle de plus introspectif et minimal chez Laraaji. Le pianiste vétéran, donne un exemple époustouflant de la maîtrise de son instrument et de sa capacité à élever l’auditeur avec ses improvisations. Par-dessus tout, la musique de Laraaji est un voyage spirituel dont l’auditeur se souvient dès les premières notes de l’album.

Écoutez ici.

Aicha
Maalem Mahmoud Gania

Avec sa maîtrise du chant et son jeu virtuose de guembri, le roi incontesté de la musique gnawa repose ses pieds sur terre grâce au label Hive Mind qui réédite son album Aicha. Dans un monde en proie à une pandémie virale, les rythmes de la musique du mâalem auront peut-être des effets thérapeutiques à qui veut bien l’entendre.

Écoutez ici.

#bbabc1
Bergsonist

Après son autobiographie musicale avec l’album Middle Ouest, l’exploratrice sonore revient avec #bbabc1. New-yorkaise originaire du Maroc, elle est l’une des figures les plus prolifiques de l’underground techno de New York. Sous le nom de Bergsonist (dérivé du Bergsonisme de Deleuze), elle utilise divers supports pour étudier la résonance sociale à travers des esthétiques conceptuelles divergentes (minimalisme, techno et musique concrète, pour n’en citer que quelques-unes).

Écoutez ici.

Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé