→ Skip to main content
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design by Trafik - Site by Moonshine - All rights reserved. IDOL MEDIA, a division of IDOL Group.
Link successfully copied
Could not copy link
2 weeks ago

Octopizzo in a party mood on new single, "Swaga Za Wapi"

With the new single “Swaga Za Wapi” from his upcoming album Jungle Fever, the Nairobi-based singer brings everyone together on the dance floor. 

It is a unifying party track: for the young, the old, the rich, the broke, the lovers, the single, the hearts filled with despair or the ones still full of hope. This Kenyan hip-hop artist doesn’t discriminate when it comes to the good times.

It’s hard to imagine Octopizzo’s youth: coming from the biggest slum in Kenya, Henry Ohanga didn’t expect much from life. Forced to steal to eat, this orphan became famous at the age of 29. Today he is one of the most popular hip-hop artists in East Africa. With his fame, he is trying to ‘de-demonize’ the image of the Kibera slum in Nairobi by supporting abandoned young people who, like him as a child, feel like the odds are stacked against them. 

Its a truly admirable project from a singer who succeeds in achieving what seemed impossible up till that point: making the artistic effervescence of Kibera fashionable, as some working-class areas are today for brands in big cities. “Before, a person who came from here couldn’t find a job anywhere, insists Octopizzo. Today, the image has changed. Young middle class people wear T-Shirts with ‘Kibera’ written on them!” he explained to the French newspaper Le Monde in 2018. In 2012, he welcomed distinguished guests to the area: the American rapper 50 Cent and a few months later, Barack Obama who was visiting his father’s country.

Barack Obama & Octopizzo

A true ambassador for Kibera, Octopizzo offers a more positive image, without losing his critical eye. This new video for “Swaga Za Wapi” is the perfect illustration of this: shot in Kibera in a festive spirit, the lyrics nevertheless evoke our current money-driven society. The artist expresses the way in which marriage is also governed by the salary and social status of individuals, diving into the taboo subject. To better understand the messages that the singer is trying to convey, we will have to wait for the release of his album, which connects the songs together in a singular, meaningful narrative. 

Jungle Fever will be available on November 20.

Listen to Octopizzo in our Songs of the Week playlist on Spotify and Deezer.

Jungle Fever – Octopizzo
Loading
Confirmed
Loading
Confirmed

→ Passer directement au contenu principal
The Pan African Music Magazine
©2020 PAM Magazine - Design par Trafik - Site par Moonshine - Tous droits réservés. IDOL MEDIA, une division du groupe IDOL.
Le lien a été copié
Le lien n'a pas pu être copié.
Il y a 2 semaines

Octopizzo : le cœur en fête avec « Swaga Za Wapi »

Le chanteur de Nairobi rassemble tout le monde sur la piste de danse avec un nouveau single tiré de son prochain album, Jungle Fever.

C’est un titre de soirée fédérateur : les jeunes, les vieux, les riches, les fauchés, les amoureux, les célibataires, les cœurs remplis de désespoir ou les audacieux encore plein d’espoir. L’artiste hip-hop kenyan rassemble tout le monde sur la piste de danse avec « Swaga Za Wapi », son nouveau single en featuring avec Maga.

Difficile alors d’imaginer la jeunesse d’Octopizzo : issu du plus grand bidonville du Kenya, Henry Ohanga de son vrai nom, n’a pas eu une vie facile. Obligé de voler pour manger, cet orphelin est devenu célèbre à 29 ans. Il est aujourd’hui l’un des artistes hip-hop les plus populaires d’Afrique de l’Est. Fort de sa notoriété, il tente de dédiaboliser l’image du bidonville de Kibera, à Nairobi, en soutenant des jeunes délaissés qui, comme lui lorsqu’il était enfant, s’estiment tout juste destinés à survivre. 

Chapeau bas pour le chanteur qui parvient à réaliser ce qui semblait jusque-là impossible : rendre l’effervescence artistique de Kibera à la mode, comme le sont aujourd’hui certains quartiers populaires pour les marques. « Avant, une personne qui venait d’ici ne pouvait trouver un travail nulle part, » insiste Octopizzo. « Aujourd’hui, l’image a changé. Des jeunes classes moyennes portent des T-Shirt avec “Kibera” marqué dessus ! » avait-il confié au journal Le Monde en 2018. En 2012, il reçoit dans son quartier des invités de marque : le rappeur américain 50 Cent et quelques mois plus tard, Barack Obama en visite dans le pays de son père.

Barack Obama & Octopizzo

Véritable ambassadeur de Kibera, Octopizzo lui offre une image plus reluisante, sans perdre pour autant son regard critique. Ce nouveau clip en est l’illustration parfaite : tourné à Kibera dans un esprit festif, les paroles évoquent néanmoins notre société actuelle contrôlée par l’argent. L’artiste exprime sans tabou la manière dont le mariage est régi lui aussi par le salaire et la statut social des individus. Pour mieux comprendre les messages que cherche à faire passer le chanteur, il faudra attendre la sortie de son album.

Jungle Fever sortira le 20 novembre prochain.

Écoutez Octopizzo dans notre playlist Songs of the Week sur Spotify et Deezer.

Jungle Fever – Octopizzo
Chargement
Confirmé
Chargement
Confirmé